We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,347)
Filter reviews
1,347 results
Traveller rating
445
467
262
110
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
467
262
110
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tempo bar golf course oldest marriott main building spa treatments steam room leisure facilities leisure club junior suite relaxing weekend evening meal two double beds grounds are stunning steak peak district food was lovely great golf
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,347 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent 5 nights in this hotel as part of a coach holiday. Could not fault this hotel in any way. Staff were most helpful, and great selection of food both breakfast and dinner. Chef on hand in dining room at breakfast to freshly fry your eggs or make omelette to order. Rooms were kept clean and coffee tray refreshed daily. A bit of a walk to the dining room, but a buggy was on hand if you required it, by ringing reception.Garden and grounds a pleasure to walk through. Would highly recommend this hotel. Pool, sauna and steam room excellent.

Room Tip: Had room 339 overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Guest Relations Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club.
We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels as a valued guest and I'm so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback and I have passed this onto the General Manager to circulate.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Ruth.
Ruth Pick | Guest Relations Executive
MARRIOTT HOTELS | TRAVEL BRILLIANTLY
Breadsall Priory, Marriott Hotel and Country Club | Moor Road, Morley, Derby, DE7 6DL
T: 01332 832235 | Ruth.Pick@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

The hotel is quite rambling with many steps and corridors which adds to it’s charm. Very friendly and helpful staff. Well appointed rooms. Good breakfast buffet. Pre-ordered our evening meals which were mostly good with a few exceptions. Gorgeous grounds with two golf courses. Easy access to Derby town centre.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Guest Relations Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review in regards to your recent stay at the Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club.
We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels as a valued guest and I'm so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback and I have passed this onto the Hotel Manager to circulate.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Ruth Pick | Guest Relations Executive
MARRIOTT HOTELS | TRAVEL BRILLIANTLY
Breadsall Priory, Marriott Hotel and Country Club | Moor Road, Morley, Derby, DE7 6DL
T: 01332 832235 | Ruth.Pick@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

On entering the drive a sign makes this statement. Having walked from the car park (400 metres), checking in was easy and staff very cheerful. However, we then had to walk back to the car park to drive to another nearer our room. I knew that the hotel was old (before I read the sign) as it says so on the website, and expected the many changes in elevation, but still a nuisance with cases and if slightly infirm. The room was clean, tidy, functional and we had a good view over the gardens. The Iron Grill restaurant was OK but the menu somewhat limited and a couple of dishes disappointing. We had a bread and olive oil sharing plate to start, dry thin bread and a small ramekin of oil, very poor. The main courses were OK. Breakfast in a different restaurant somewhat made up for the dinner, but it was very busy with several parties of golfers. Our tea and coffee was served in the wrong pots. The championship golf course is not for beginners and it is a good, and in places stiff walk. All in all, an enjoyable experience although, for a Marriott which I favour, not the most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Make sure that you understand the walking difficulties.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Guest Relations Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review in regards to your recent stay at the Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club.
We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels as a valued guest and I'm so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I can see that there is still room for improvement based on your feedback and we are always striving to improve our guest’s experience, so we will take the feedback on board.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Ruth Pick | Guest Relations Executive
MARRIOTT HOTELS | TRAVEL BRILLIANTLY
Breadsall Priory, Marriott Hotel and Country Club | Moor Road, Morley, Derby, DE7 6DL
T: 01332 832235 | Ruth.Pick@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

The rooms are very good and the restaurant ok but the hotel is built up and down the moorland. Consequently visitors have to up six steps down two up four down all over the hotel. If they built a corridor along the outside
it would be possible to avoid this.

When we arrived we were told that we could not check in for ages, the restaurant and bar was closed until six and the golf course closed . I said I felt like driving home and the receptionist said is that what you want to do. What a welcome. We ended up sitting in a cold noisy sports bar where people were holding meetings. This is a personal hate of mine because they talk more loudly than in a social setting. The only food available was a pie some packet mashed potatoes and processed peas. I was expecting a cosy lunch by a roaring far.
.This hotel is far from hospitable.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Regreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthP2147, Guest Relations Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Review. I would like to offer my sincere apology for you having to take the time to write this and also for the less than perfect experience you have received. Clearly there are lessons to be learned and I appreciate you drawing your points to our attention.

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. As we strive to deliver a flawless guest experience, your feedback is welcomed so that we can continue to improve our hotel operations.

Kind Regards,
Ruth.

Ruth Pick | Guest Relations Executive
MARRIOTT HOTELS | TRAVEL BRILLIANTLY
Breadsall Priory, Marriott Hotel and Country Club | Moor Road, Morley, Derby, DE7 6DL
T: 01332 832235 | Ruth.Pick@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Likes:
+ Situated in quiet and calming countryside (but a little remote)
+ Very helpful staff
+ Nice breakfast buffet but can get very busy
+ Plenty of free car parking spaces
+ Gold course and associated amenities (like spa, pool etc)
+ Good internet speeds - I was getting around 10-11 Mb/s upload and download
+ High quality TVs in suites

Dislikes:
- No air-con; but a fan was available
- Rooms can be some distance from Reception but the golf buggy can help the less mobile guests
- Suites had desks to work at but were missing desk chairs; the armchairs were not very suitable (too close to the floor)
- Recent changes to Marriott Platinum Elite benefits, in particular the removal of many
- Not much in the way of vegetarian or vegan meal options

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llyryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthP2147, Guest Relations Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review in regards to your recent stay at the Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club.
We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels as a valued guest and I'm so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I can see that there is still room for improvement based on your feedback and we are always striving to improve our guest’s experience, so we will take the feedback on board.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Ruth.
Ruth Pick | Guest Relations Executive
MARRIOTT HOTELS | TRAVEL BRILLIANTLY
Breadsall Priory, Marriott Hotel and Country Club | Moor Road, Morley, Derby, DE7 6DL
T: 01332 832235 | Ruth.Pick@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews