We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose and Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nympsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose and Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nympsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
gloucestershire uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We hadn't been to the Rose and Crown for years, and thought we would stop and see if they could fit all five plus dog, for a meal. Busy, so a very good sign! As there weren't any roast meals left, we had homemade burgers, and gammon. It was fantastic! Cooked to perfection. After visiting jamies in Cheltenham at New Year, and having one of the worst experiences we've had in a long time, the Rose and Crown lifted my spirits, and gave me confidence that there are restaurants that take a pride in the fare they produce. Will definately go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    40
    13
    10
    11
See reviews for
34
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Good food, excellent service, brilliant entertainment, fantastic night...well done and thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Went in pre Christmas just as snow was falling for dinner. We were one of only two tables in the restaurant that was taken. Pre dinner champagne was provided free of charge which was a nice touch... However the measures were small and one of our guests did not get any as the bottle ran out... With no sign of any replacement.

On the plus side food was good, although we were asked to go to our table from the bar as our starters were nearly ready, then sat for 20 mins before they arrived.

Service was poor at best

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthernMonkeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Where to start?...

On arrival at the Rose and Crown we were immediately taken back by it's quaint and charming character. The building is beautiful and it gets only more impressive as you enter through the door. We were greeted by Rebecca and Craig with open arms and shown to our room which we had booked for the night.

The room had all the usual refinements and the bed turned out to be one of the most comfortable beds I have ever (over!)slept in.

The bar area is great. So much warm country character. Beautiful oak everywhere and the roaring open fire is just the icing on the cake.

The restaurant at the back of the building is simply stunning. The restaurant is cosy and very intimate with the most amazing open roof, exposing all the original beams.

The food, cooked by Craig and his team, was beautiful. The service from the rest of the staff was also fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they even came armed with a smile.

All in all the setting, the food and most of all the hospitality was 1st class. Good hospitality is increasingly hard to come by but these guys take it to a new level. Old school service with a smile and nothing but 100% customer satisfaction!

Well done guys, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We decided to join Rebecca for New years Eve with our friends. As always welcome was warm and we had a beer at the bar before going for dinner. The highlight of the evening was the Ultimate Buble tribute act. We did not know what to expect but Mark Daniels was brilliant and put on a great show. We enjoyed the evening immensly and ended the night dancing to Rebeccas Ipod music!!! Brilliant evening thanks to the team at the Rose and Crown for a great fun evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We visited for dinner and it was so cold we could not keep warm. The food was good as it always is but the atmosphere was as frosty as the weather . We have visited before and it was good but this was very bad and made my guests uncomfortable

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubedoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had a really warm welcome from Rebecca - she was lovely. Our family room was cozy, warm and clean. We had an evening meal and cooked breakfast which was hot, fresh, filling and great value for money. If you are looking for accommodation that is an old fashioned building but has a modern twist then this is the place for you. It was absolutely lovely and when back in the area will definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nympsfield
4.5 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
8.6 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.8 km away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 km away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
6.9 km away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown Inn

Property: Rose and Crown Inn
Address: 3 The Cross, Nympsfield GL10 3TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Nympsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nympsfield
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing