We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose and Crown Inn
Nearby Hotels
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
US$128
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Stonehouse(Stonehouse)(Great Value!)
US$45
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Burleigh Court Hotel(Minchinhampton)
US$227
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel(Stroud)(Great Value!)
US$106
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Wotton-under-Edge)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
72
46
18
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
46
18
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakthe pubsister pubsunday lunchcooked to perfectionquick drinkempty platesdrink ordervillage shopciabattaan evening meallemon tartbowl of soupbite to eatlovely atmospherelarge choicelast sunday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Good food, excellent service, brilliant entertainment, fantastic night...well done and thank you

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Went in pre Christmas just as snow was falling for dinner. We were one of only two tables in the restaurant that was taken. Pre dinner champagne was provided free of charge which was a nice touch... However the measures were small and one of our guests did not get any as the bottle ran out... With no sign of any replacement.

On the plus side food was good, although we were asked to go to our table from the bar as our starters were nearly ready, then sat for 20 mins before they arrived.

Service was poor at best

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthernMonkeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Where to start?...

On arrival at the Rose and Crown we were immediately taken back by it's quaint and charming character. The building is beautiful and it gets only more impressive as you enter through the door. We were greeted by Rebecca and Craig with open arms and shown to our room which we had booked for the night.

The room had all the usual refinements and the bed turned out to be one of the most comfortable beds I have ever (over!)slept in.

The bar area is great. So much warm country character. Beautiful oak everywhere and the roaring open fire is just the icing on the cake.

The restaurant at the back of the building is simply stunning. The restaurant is cosy and very intimate with the most amazing open roof, exposing all the original beams.

The food, cooked by Craig and his team, was beautiful. The service from the rest of the staff was also fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they even came armed with a smile.

All in all the setting, the food and most of all the hospitality was 1st class. Good hospitality is increasingly hard to come by but these guys take it to a new level. Old school service with a smile and nothing but 100% customer satisfaction!

Well done guys, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We decided to join Rebecca for New years Eve with our friends. As always welcome was warm and we had a beer at the bar before going for dinner. The highlight of the evening was the Ultimate Buble tribute act. We did not know what to expect but Mark Daniels was brilliant and put on a great show. We enjoyed the evening immensly and ended the night dancing to Rebeccas Ipod music!!! Brilliant evening thanks to the team at the Rose and Crown for a great fun evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We visited for dinner and it was so cold we could not keep warm. The food was good as it always is but the atmosphere was as frosty as the weather . We have visited before and it was good but this was very bad and made my guests uncomfortable

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubedoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews