We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tyger Tyger”
Review of Royal Tiger Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Tiger Resort
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had an overnight train journey and 4 hours in cars to get here- but it was worth it. The resort has comfortable, spacious rooms, simply furnished but with everything you need for a good night's sleep. Rupert and Claire welcomed us like old friends and that set the tone for our stay wihich felt more like being in a family than a hotel. The staff were lovely- and served up real home cooking- definitely the best samosas Ive ever had.
The resort has a birdwatching tower and a nature trail right on the river which was an added attraction.

The resort is very close to the park gate- so we were first in the queue at dawn- and the resort's naturalist/driver Telek was simply brilliant. He had a knack of getting us in the right place at the right time- we saw tigers in 3 out of 5 trips- and all of the deer species and gaur.

To top it all some of the local people gave a dance and drumming show one evening which we all joined in- luckily there are no photos!

Room Tip: All good! The rooms are in bungalows so each has the same view/share of the sun
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Royal Tiger Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is definitely the best resort in Kanha. There are many reasons for the same:
1. The resort is sprawled over acres of land and is really peaceful and well maintained. The location is perfect and is ideal for morning/evening walks.
2. Rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. The Amenities are up to the mark.This is one of the few resorts where all the rooms are worth the money.
3. Food is really delicious and there is a lot of variety.
4. The swimming pool is clean and well maintained. The pool overlooks the river running through Kanha and the view is astounding.
5. The resort takes care of the Game Drives. Their driver showed us around well and was extremely courteous.

Overall its worth the money and they do go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raghav s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

nice architecture and well maintained premises, courteous staff. Would like to thanks to staff for wonderful hospitality and for making it memorable experience for both of us.
It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying, This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good
This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms221081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Enjoyed my stay, Words are not enough to describe my experience.
"Royal Tiger Resort" we find the people of royalty, with the spirit of tiger and the very caring staff. the place and people of RTR makes our trip worth.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ns131184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Have been going to RTR(royal tiger resort) for 4 consecutive years and i find the place amazing ...special mention to the staff who i think are fantastic and i have traveled the world but not seen such hospitality anywhere else.Kudos to the resort will be back again next year , would highly recommend this place to one and all who love nature.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaurya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

If spotting a tiger is on your to do list this summer, The Royal Tiger Resort is a good place to start from. Located at a stone throws distance away from the Muki gate, the resort has a lot to offer. From the seasoned wildlife enthusiast to the footloose bunch of people looking for some fun, the resort instantly strikes a chord with everyone. The guest cottages are well maintained and offer all the basic comforts. The dining area is housed in a separate block which also has a seating area where the guests can unwind. All the walls are adorned with innumerable pictures and paintings of the local wildlife. The food though nothing fancy, was very homely and scrumptious.
The highlight of our visit to this resort was the trip to the sanctuary. The resident naturalist/guide was very experienced and highly enthusiastic. Sighting the tiger four times over a period of two days was beyond what we could have asked for.
In case you are bored with the trips to the sanctuary(which is highly unlikely) there are other activities that you can indulge in. The laid back and rustic setting of the resort makes it ideal for reading a book. The resort does have a small collection of books and board games. There is also a trek from the resort that goes through a small woodland before terminating at a picturesque riverbed.
A dip in the pool, especially during the night was a highly alleviating experience.
Special mention to the friendly staff who made our stay at The Royal Tiger Resort very memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dhiraj_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I went to royal tiger resort in kanha with a small group of friends and trust me it is the perfect place to enjoy peace, quiet, nature and wildlife; be it with friends family or alone! Royal tiger Resort has an earthy feel to it and blends in well with the forest.
The staff was very warm and helpful. The food was pretty good. The rooms were very clean , comfortable and spacious.
Royal Tiger Resort definitely knows how to make you feel at home at Kanha. Nothing over the top, just the right kind of hospitality to enjoy a good getaway . Royal Tiger Resort in Kanha is definitely one of the places you MUST visit while you are there!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugama101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
18.1 km away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 17 in Kanha National Park
472 reviews
0.0 km away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 17 in Kanha National Park
162 reviews
0.0 km away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#5 of 17 in Kanha National Park
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Pug Mark Resort
Pug Mark Resort
#3 of 17 in Kanha National Park
144 reviews
11.1 km away
Mogli Resort
Mogli Resort
#11 of 17 in Kanha National Park
42 reviews
0.0 km away
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
#14 of 17 in Kanha National Park
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tiger Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tiger Resort

Address: P.O. Mukki Via Baihar, Kanha National Park 481111, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kanha National Park
Price Range: $154 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Tiger Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Tiger Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing