We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flame of the Forest Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mridu kishore Hotel & Resort(Kanha National Park)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pug Mark Resort(Kanha National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mogli Resort(Kanha National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Soulacia Hotel & Resort(Kanha National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jungle King Resort(Kanha National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tuli Tiger Resort(Kanha National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kanha Resort(Kanha National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Banjaar Tola(Kanha National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
77
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaran and isaday bedother gueststhe cottagesshare his knowledgelarge tablefruit batsperfect place to relaxpre dinner drinksspecial experienceshort drivehis wifeflora and faunaour night stayhis enthusiasmnature loversopen air
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 83 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2010

I visited the flame of the forest lodge along with my cousins and nephews. The welcome that Karan and Isa, the owners along with their staff gave us was beautiful. The bridge that links to the dining area and coffee bar makes for a rustic start to your ethnic journey into the awesome lodge.
What I liked and appreciated most was that the photos on the website are a true glimpse into the resort and its facilities. The location is fabulous with the cottages and dining area overlooking the river.
The cottages are truly spacious and clean. The ethnic touch that they have been able to bring to the entire place makes it a truly memorable experience. Having coffee on the deck, using the open to sky shower, a swim in the river, a "bharatiya baithak" lunch on the river banks, candlelit dinner near the river are just some of the amazing experiences that added a panache to the whole jungle safari experience. The jungle safari with Karan, Isa and Dhansingh was educational beyond my imagination and I learnt so much more than just about flora and fauna from them.
The food served was Indian and delicious, not too spicy and the deserts were the cherry on the cake. The helpings were generous and the entire staff served it with a smile on their faces. "Atithi devo bhava - the guest is God" seemed to be the central thought and whether it was in the lodge or out of it in the jungle the entire staff made sure that we had a great time. The entire staff is passionate about saving the forest and the ecosystem.
My nephews ages 3yrs and 13yrs both enjoyed the swim in the river, ample space to play safely and the lovely food that was prepared specially for them by the staff there.
This lodge has a lot to offer people of all ages, they have experiences that make five star places seem mediocre.
So if you want a comfortable and fun stay in the jungle, experience luxury as well as the rustic beauty, then this is the place to go......

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sonalbavadekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Flame of the Forest Safari Lodge 16 to 19 October 2010 and we had a superb time there. As we pulled up outside the lodge Karan, Isa and some of the guys where there to welcome us with refreshing mint drinks. All the time we were there we were treated like friends, not in a false way either. We were very fortunate as Kanha National Park had just re-opened after the monsoons the day before we arrived so as we were the only guests at Flame of the Forest for the whole three days we had Karan, Isa and the guys all to ourselves. Nothing was too much for them, we were asked what types of food we liked and there was always something wonderful and new to try at meal times. Karan and Isa ate with us, talked about how they designed and built the lodge using local labour and local building methods. They spoke about how they wanted to give people a personalised service, all in an eco-friendly way. They certainly achieved this with us. The drinks around the camp fire on an evening were very special as we sat talking about what we had or had not seen that day on our trips into the Park. They even took the trouble to organise (without our knowledge which was quite difficult) an evening meal just for my husband and me on the balcony outside our cottage. We were extremely surprised when we walked out of the front door to see the table set up, lights on the balcony and the waiters there with drinks. That was such a nice touch.

The cottage itself was great. We were aware that the lodge was 'medium' grade but the finish to the cottage inside and out made it rated much higher in my view. The bathroom was spacious with a very good shower and double washbasins. The bedroom was fantastic, nice wooden floors, large double bed, lovely furnishings and a perfect view overlooking the river. There was even a hidden outside shower!! On an evening the walkway from our cottage to the dining area was lit with hurricane lamps which gave a lovely glow.

The outings into Kanha National Park were fun. We were very fortunate to have Isa with us on every drive and Karan ventured out one afternoon as well. We were also extremely lucky to have Dhansingh as our driver and naturalist on each drive. His knowledge of the animals and plants in Kanha was excellent as was Isa's. We also gained from having Isa to translate for us so we were kept informed all the time where we were heading off to, why we were going in a certain direction, what animals were making the warning calls and where the elusive tigers might be hiding out. It was also the little things that made our trips into the Park enjoyable, a packed breakfast with Isa's homemade muffins, fresh bottles of filtered water for the two of us each trip and the warm welcome when we turned into the drive after the end of the game drives.

I have to say staying at Flame of the Forest made our trip to India special. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobtailuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle vier Bungalows sind gleichwertig und haben die gleich schöne Aussicht.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews