We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
204
39
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
39
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor onsen the owner snow monkey park men and women family run ryokan a couple minutes walk walking distance to train station vegan food private room the bus ryokan experience friendly hosts elderly couple parting gift loved our stay highly recommended to anyone high tech
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 254 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We travelled to Japan for a month and this was one of the best parts of our trip. This is not a modern, fancy hotel but extremely traditional. The staff are fantastic, helpful, kind, and gracious. We enjoyed the food and the public and private onsen in the ryokan. We did some short hikes in surrounding areas and the hotel staff even drove us to the monkey park. The second they found out we were on our honeymoon, they showered us with gifts and praise. Well worth it.

Room tip: Get one as traditional as possible. Enjoy the experience.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JimyP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2016

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

matane!

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

We had a nice stay in this traditional ryokan. Our room was ok, although a bit old and maybe not as luxurious as we expected (but it wasn't very expensive either). The food was great, though, and the staff friendly (the older people only speaking Japanese).
There are three onsen, to be used by separate sexes in the morning. In the afternoon and the eveving we could use two of them privately. As the room, the onsens could use a bit of maintainance.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank mmonalisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2016

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

matane!

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

It's VERY authentic so if you are not ready to embrace it and love Marriotts that might freak you out but I absolutely loved it. My boyfriend got thrown from the first sight and started worrying that he can't do it but after one night admitted that he enjoys this unique experience. Everyone there is very nice, food is delicious and onsens are amazing !!!!
The only thing I would change is not allow smoking inside but it might be cultural thing and ok here.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chataranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

matane!

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at this beautiful traditional inn. When we arrived we were given directions by someone from the station but we still managed to get lost (it's only a few minutes walk from the station but we had took a wrong turn in the dark). As we were walking, a car pulls up near us and we later realised it was the owner of the ryokan! Not sure how he knew we had arrived but he grabbed our luggage and drove us to the inn. We were greeted with a warm welcome, and was directed to wear slippers around the inn. It really felt homely. Even though the owner doesn't speak much English we were still able to understand each other. Everyone we came across that worked there made an effort to talk to us. You really get a sense here that each and every customer matters to them and they care. The room was lovely and reasonably spacious (considering a lot of Japanese places are small). Don't be fooled by the traditional looking room- the toilet was very high tech! The next day we visited the monkey park and as there was a bit of a gap in the bus times to the park, the owners offered to take us there and were adamant on not receiving any money. The onsen facilities were beautiful - I mainly used the private facilities with hubby as the times for women to use the outside onsen was 7-10pm which was when we would usually be out having dinner. Not an issue if you really want to use it, can just pop in before or after dinner- I was quite happy with just using the private facilities. But hubby got to use it and he said it was lovely. As it was his first experience of onsen, he initially was taken aback, but got used to being in the onsen around other naked men! If you want to stay in a beautifully traditional ryokan run by a caring and warm family, then choose Seifuso. You won't be disappointed! Thank you very much for a lovely stay.

Sital and Bhavesh (UK)

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2016

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

matane!

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2016

This will be long write up, but the place really deserves it.

What a wonderful place. It's a very traditional Japanese Onsen with traditional guest rooms (i.e. you sleep on the floor on a futon). It's a family run place and it's clear that the owners really care about their hotel and their guests. We felt very welcome from the time we walked in.

Check in was friendly and easy. Room was spacious (in terms of Japanese hotel) and very nice. Two futons on the floor, a low tea table, an alcove with the unavoidable technology and a balcony with sink, fridge and a small chair and table for the rest of us with old knees, Great location, just 2 minutes walk from Yudanaka station.

The hotel has three Onsens (hot bath). One outdoor, one indoor and a small private one where you can go as a couple. Indoor and outdoor are separated male female and switch a few times per day. They are quite beautiful and very Japanese.
Yudanaka isn't exactly a party town so we had a very restful night with the paper doors to the balcony mostly open.

Breakfast was another experience: they had already laid out a table just for us in a large traditional Japanese tatami room. It was delicious with Salmon, Miso soup, Japanese style eggs, pickled vegetables, local apples, melon, spiced tofu, rice and more. Excellent service and wonderful food.

Check out was quick and easy and they held our luggage while we were off to see the snow monkeys. It started to rain that morning and all of a sudden a van pulls up: the owner comes out gives us two freshly picked apples and shoos us into the van. He had arranged for a free ride to the snow monkey park!

We travel a lot (10+ countries this year so far) for both leisure and business but this was clearly in the top 10 hotel experiences for us. The attitude of the family who run the place is just outstanding. Just another sign that the owners really care.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonBassPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, マネージャー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

matane!

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews