We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
3
2
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner reception bath meals ski park onsen monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2017

We came here for the weekend to see the fall colors and relax at an onsen. A very nice hotel at a fair price. We especially enjoyed the evening meals. What an amazing spread in your own private room for a VERY reasonable price. The onsen is exactly as it should be and the open air bath is nice, if a bit cool. The reception is very helpful and most accommodating. We had a car and, although not necessary, you will be happy if you have one as well. I researched many of the accommodation in the area and this is certainly worth considering for your stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Spacious ryokan room that has a closet for storage. The public baths are wonderful, especially the outside bath. Onsite restaurant has beautiful meals. Hotel offers ride to the nearby monkey park. Very happy with our stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank mhcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2017

On the plus side of things, the onsen is spacious, so are the rooms, the futons comfortable, and there is lots of (free) parking. TV had good reception, WiFi worked well, and the rooms were nice and hot (it was snowing and -4C when we went.
Lastly, comparing prices with what the other neighboring ryokan/hotels were asking, this was hands down the best value. We paid about $60 per person/night with breakfast and dinner.
On the minus, there's a mildewy smell in the lobby and hallways, the 'rotenburo', or outdoor onsen's water was warm rather then hot and located on the 4th floor on the corner so that it was always windy and super cold. Even Japanese onsen veterans didn't like it. The bigger negative...and Japanese bloggers mentioned this many times...was that both the morning breakfast foods and dinner foods were cold, the fish seemingly cooked hours ago. Only 1 food item was hot due to the one-pot burner each diner had on their tray.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grupelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant experience staying here as a family of five, with our three young children enjoying the Japanese style room and bath.
The owner and staff are very welcoming and assistance in English is offered, with important information about how to use the room and hotel facilities provided in English in the room.
Our room was clean and provided all we needed - bathroom, toilet, fridge and space to store luggage. The tatami room is large enough for 5 futons and a table to fit well. There is also a small sitting area (enclosed) overlooking the nearby river and houses.
The public bath also includes an outdoor bath - lovely to relax in during winter.
The hotel has on site parking and is only a short drive to the snow monkey park, local onsens, and ski parks.
This is a comfortable hotel, staffed by lovely people. We will stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 1975jenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews