We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
17
11
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
11
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green tea rice yudanaka station snow monkey park pillows onsen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

About 7 minute walking distance from Yudanaka station.
We (2 people) spent two nights in a lovely traditional Japanese room - tatami floors, futons, green tea, sliding paper doors and what-not. The room was wide, comfortable and beautiful that when we first entered our jaws dropped.
Inside the building are two onsens, one for men and one for women (two people can fit in at a single time), that are available 24/7 and are perfect for relaxation. All there is to do is grab the yukatas and towels waiting in the room.
There's free Wi-Fi in a small lounge at the ground floor, next to the old couple's room (the guys who run the place).
Yes, there are cobwebs here and there, yes there's some dust, and you have to go down the hallway to get to the toilet seat (there's only 1 Western style toilet around), but it's all part of a great experience (try squatting to do your no. 2's!).
I believe you may also pay extra to receive traditional Japanese meals but we ate our breakfast at the nearby amazing Tea Salon Miyako.
You're in for a great time at this lovable homely ryokan :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2017

Charming traditional ryokan. Close to the station, restaurants and shops. We had a very comfortable large room with a beautiful view of the garden. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the son even took us to the snow monkey park by car. There is an onsen as well and since there were no other guests we had a chance to use the onsen privately which was an amazing experience! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

A fantastic traditional family-run Ryokan with superb service. It was snowing heavily during our stay. The snowy view from our room balcony was awesome. We booked the room with 2 outstanding meals per day. Great value for money. Hosts were extremely attentive and kind. Noticing that we came without proper footwear for our track to see the snow monkey, they insisted that we wear their snow boots (on loan free) which we found out later that it keeps us dry and warm. They provide complimentary shuttle services between the local train station and snow monkey site. A wonderful parents and son team. We will definitely be back again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sherrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2016

We visited here as a family of four - mum, dad, 12 year old and 17 year old. Previous reviews were what made us choose this ryokan and we were not disappointed. This is not modern or luxurious, but it's location, authenticity and the family who run it are definitely the draw-cards.
The age of the building is part of it's charm - traditional style rooms with wood and paper screens, tatami mats and futon bedding. You are provided with the traditional robes to wear to their steaming hot onsen bath which you can also choose to use in private.
The family were so sweet, very friendly and extremely helpful. Linen and towels changed regularly and our tea and snack were something to look forward to on our return every afternoon. The train station is only a 5 minute walk but if you would like collection or drop-off they are more than happy to do so as well as taking you to the monkey park.
I highly recommend the meals if you wish to eat real Japanese food.I cannot eat gluten or dairy foods, but with a card in Japanese explaining my dietary needs, they managed to cater beautiful breakfasts every day. My children enjoyed the Japanese food very much.
We ate out each evening as there were good, reasonably priced meal options to explore in the town, but I believe they can do dinners as well.
Location is perfect for proximity to the train, the snow monkeys, a village atmosphere, and skiing/snow-boarding in Winter. There is a free shuttle bus up to Ryuoo ski slopes, which even with little snow was great.

Room Tip: Top floor room, end of the corridor - great view of garden, temple next door and mountains in distance.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Petra280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2016

The ryokan was an older building, but kept up well with a traditional feel. The owners were really nice and gave us a delicious Japanese breakfast. They don't know English, but we communicated quite well with hand gesturing and a translating app in the phone.They offered a free ride to the monkey park or to/from the train station if we needed. The location is tucked in a corner on a local street and the area, despite being a tourist destination had a very local feel. There are hot-spring fed onsen baths on the first floor that face the garden in the back (his and hers or mixed if no one else is around). We found out that there was a once-in-seven year festival held in town with a parade. The locals let us participate in it and the owners let us leave our rental car in their parking lot well past checkout time so we could enjoy the festival.

Room Tip: The owners are very accommodating so let them know what you need and they will provide the best room.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews