We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“splendid isolation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
The Boathouse from the garden, with bonfire area. The sitting area with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
The Boathouse from the garden, with bonfire area.
The sitting area with wood burning stove
The kitchen and dining area viewed from the sitting area
The dining area with Welsh Dresser
Sitting area with kitchen/dining area behind
Master bedroom, door to landing and stairs on left, door to ensuite is to the right, out of picture.
Master bedroom, door to landing and stairs on right, door to ensuite to left (out of picture)
One of the two twin bedrooms downstairs, with window to terrace, garden, woods and steam trains
The other twin bedroom downstairs, door with window leading to woods and garden via side of house
The shower room downstairs, with sink to left, shower and heated towel-rail
The side of the house
The ffestiniog historic steam railway passes about 100 metres away, down a wooded slope
Plas Halt request stop on the ffestiniog railway, 15 minutes enchanting walk through the woods
The lake near the house
The lake, with the house just visible in mid-picture
Flowers at the side of the house
The house is deep in the Snowdonia National Park, you can walk out directly onto this woodland path
One of the ancient oaks in the woods around the house
Map of local walks
One of many walks direct from the house 10mins uphill to this view: Portmeirion, Harlech, Porthmadog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maentwrog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
anameofso...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“splendid isolation”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Its a great place to get away from things. The nearest house is 20 minutes walk through the woods. Though the station on the steam railway is a little closer about 15 minutes.
Plenty to do for a week in the locality. W ould be hard getting food without a car, so althought you can in theory get to the place by train (including the stream train), you'd want someone in your party to have brought a car I think.
Facilities in the house are very modern. We had no problems with the heating/electic/gas and water despite all being 'off-grid'. Fine selection of kitchen utensils.
Best thing about it is that it realy is out in the woods.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: isolation
Liked least: the tv
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samwillpi...
2 reviews
“Lovely spot in the woods”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a wonderful place, but of paradise in the wilderness! I had a meet up with some old school friends and we couldn't have chosen a better place, ideal for an explore of snowdonia or a relaxing break away from civilisation!
Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D
1 review
“Beautiful, relaxing spot, well kitted out, warm and perfect for walkers!”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a wonderful place to stay, truly lovely. It's nice and quiet,next to a gorgeous lake surrounded by woodland, secluded, but not ridiculously far away from shops and tourist attractions, walks etc. The boathouse has been kitted out with good quality furniture, carpets, duvets, pots and pans etc I love that whoever kitted it out went for quality items as to me it makes a big difference makes it feel more luxurious, especially if you cant afford these items yourself! My only small issues if I'm being nit-picky was that the paperwork was a bit all over the shop we were expecting a welcome pack of some variety to introduce us to the area and explain how and what to recycle etc but the paperwork was all just bundled in a drawer and took us a while to organize it! Also I thought the linen charge was quite expensive (£21 to wash a duvet cover and a couple of towels) and would've been nice to have the bed made as I would do that for my guests just out of politeness but all of this we were made aware of from the beginning, so cant really complain. I wouldnt let any of this put you off though it is a gem, we will be stopping there again only next time we'll be staying much longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is stunning, the seclusion and surrounding walks were perfect
Liked least: We love to recycle and this information on what to recycle wasnt made all that clear when we got there and we ended up just putting stuff in the normal bin. Arriving after a 3.5 hour journey and then having to make the bed ontop wasnt much fun!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drew168
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Secluded, warm and comfy house in a lovely setting”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Good location, central for hills and coast with superb walks right from the door and the Ffestiniog railway just a stroll away. There are lots of visitor attractions as well as good beaches within a ten mile radius/ The boathouse has everything you need, is comfy, well equipped and very warm, if anything too warm, even with the heating turned off. It represents very good value for money and I would happily return. My security deposit was returned by cheque within 2 weeks of my stay. With the exception of the oven the property was nice and clean when we arrived, and even cleaner when we left, but remember to take your own cleaning stuff. For anyone who likes a secluded house in an easy to get to location the boathouse is hard to beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and privacy
Liked least: It was too hot, even with the heating off
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Even more wonderful than expected”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had high hopes for this holiday after reading all of the glowing reviews. This house exceeded every expectation. The beautiful, secluded setting, well equipped and clean quarters, and wealth of local attractions all made for a superb holiday.

This house really is a fantastic deal, and I was so impressed with the kindness and patience of the owner and manager.

On a practical level, I would advise arriving in the daytime, as the entrance is hard to spot off a narrow rural road. There is patchy phone service and the nearest pub is not within walking distance unless you're jolly fit. However none of this diminishes the quality of the stay one bit. There's so much to do in the local area and so much beauty all around, you will never be bored.

Thank you for having us at the boathouse. We hope to come back time and time again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alduxbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favourite places on earth”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had visited the Boathouse twice with friends, both visits have been in crisp, dry Novembers & have been nothing short of idyllic. The house and location are stunning - allowing for long, lingering walks, evenings sat on longs round an open fire and afternoons playing cards or reading books. A true source of calm - and limited phone signal. A lovely pub not too far away as well as a lovely town with various shops, cafés and a large Tesco about a twenty minute drive. The only thing - is be prepared to take some items to ensure you can leave the house clean upon departure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
258ledbur...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House is totally unsuitable for wheelchair access”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I agree with other reviews about the location and tranquility of the Boathouse but rented it on the basis that it had wheel chair access and it does not. I travelled with and elderly terminally ill gentleman who want some peace and quite and to make a final visit to friends in north Wales. The path from the parking area to the house is slate chipings and rough rock and was virtually impossible to push a chair over. Luckily I had brought an electric chair that worked on rough ground.The main door has a high step so I had to use the portable ramps I brought to get the chair in and once inside I had to move heavy furniture around to allow access from the kitchen to the rest of the house. While you can push a wheelchair into the bathroom this is all you can do so the gentleman I look after had to use his zimmer frame to get to the toilet and basin. He had a minor fall in the bathroom on our 2nd night and a more serious fall the next night so we left on the Wednesday as it was not safe to stay. The lack of bedside tables in the downstairs bedrooms meant I had to use dinning chairs to let him have his glasses and a glass of water in reach. There were no instructions for the microwave or cooker and the local contacts did not know how these worked so cooking was problematic. The television had no remote for the digibox so the only way to change channels was to get down on my hands and knees and do it manually on the box itself, inconvenient for me but impossible for my companion. There is also an area of damp in one of the downstairs bedrooms which means there is a musty smell. On the plus side the owner did not quibble over my request for a refund.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
We were very sorry to hear of the problems encountered and immediately issued a refund in line with the guest's request. We would always encourage guests with special needs to contact us in advance to discuss, we will do our best to explain what is available and what is not, and to accommodate requests if we can. Instruction books for appliances have all been left in the drawers of the dresser; bedside tables are available in two of the three bedrooms, though not in the third; the TV digibox is fully working but is of a type that is not supplied with a remote. The small damp spot mentioned was not visible previously, it will be investigated at the end of the season, the house although having an ancient core, was completely rebuilt to modern building standards just 4 years ago and is fundamentally dry, solid and a pleasure to be in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing