We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation and romance heaven.”
other travellers have booked this property
Dolydd Cottage lounge with woodburner, full kitchen with induction hob & dishwasher
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dolydd Cottage lounge with woodburner, full kitchen with induction hob & dishwasher
Dolydd Cottage frontage south facing with seating Log Burner for Winter Months :)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Dolydd Cottage lounge with woodburner, full kitchen with induction hob & dishwasher
Dolydd Cottage frontage south facing with seating
Log Burner for Winter Months :)
Jacuzzi Air-Bath 1.8m long
Wetroom shower with ceiling and handheld head, U/F heating :) Egyptian Cotton Towels provided
Bedroom with king size bed. Egyptian cotton bedding with down duvet
Bedroom
Bedroom
Dining Table for 2 :)
Romantic Candle-lit Dinner....
Log Burner for Winter Months :) cosy nights in !
Fully equipped beautiful Oak Kitchen inc. dishwasher, oven, hob, microwave...
Welcome Welsh Cakes :)
Maentwrog and the Vale of Ffestiniog from Plas Tan y Bwlch (Dolydd in blue box)
Maentwrog and the Vale of Ffestiniog from above Plas Tan y Bwlch
Visit our friendly animals at our Farm - 5 mins drive
Portmeirion Italianate Village - 10 mins drive West from Dolydd Cottage
Samson Bay Sunrise, Porthmadog - 10 mins drive West of Dolydd Cottage
Morfa Bychan, Porthmadog - 10 mins drive West from Dolydd Cottage
Black Rocks Sunset, Porthmadog - 10 mins drive West from Dolydd Cottage
Coed y Brenin - 20 mins drive from Dolydd Cottage
Waterfall at Ganllwyd - 20 mins drive from Dolydd Cottage
Harlech Beach Sunset - 20mins drive South from Dolydd Cottage
Caernarfon Castle - 50 mins drive West from Dolydd Cottage
Ynys Llanddwyn - just over 1 hour drive North from Dolydd Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maentwrog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul N
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxation and romance heaven.”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This has been the best weeks holiday myself and the wife have had. Staying here simply made the week even better.
From the second we walked in it felt special, relaxing and romantic. The complimentary wine and Welsh cakes were a lovely welcoming touch.
After settling in finding out that everything was catered for with the amenities, pots pans, oven, microwave and all the necessary utensils we needed for our own kitchen nightmares, we couldn’t wait for the week ahead.
There is a fantastic guide waiting to tempt you to the local delights from local restaurants, walks and of course the stunning views. You’ll find yourselves busy for your entire stay. We would personally recommend Harlech castle and beach.
Come the end of your fun filled day there is the log fire for the colder days and the wonderful relaxing showers and jacuzzi. Kick back with a glass or 2 and watch some tv or jump on your Netflix and chill

Thanks for such a wonderful stay! Can’t wait for our return visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage was as amazing as the photos it is truly a romantic, perfect get away. Everything was clean and lovely and it came equipped with everything we needed. Absolutely loved our week stay. Perfect location with stunning views and lots of places to travel to. Our favourite pub was The Oakley Arms just 10 minutes up the road, lovely food and friendly bar staff. Will definitely be returning in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaB9...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Beautiful cottage in good location. Tastefully furnished, the owners really have thought of everything.
Cosy and comfortable, fantastic bathroom with amazing jacuzzi and underfloor heating. Welcome treats on arrival.
Would highly recommend for a romantic break for 2.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCharlott...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a romantic, relaxing break”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were really impressed with this cottage throughout our 4 night stay. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has some welcome treats when you arrive. Super comfortable bed, great jacuzzi bath, and big comfy sofas. The kitchen was really well equipped and it was great to have some milk and tea to use when we arrived! It's located in a lovely quiet village and is really close to beaches, castles, good walks and supermarkets. We would highly recommend this place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage - exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My partner and I stayed at Dolydd cottage for three nights at the end of January 2017. This was a combined Christmas and birthday gift for my partner, and it is only fair to say that the cottage (and it's location) exceeded our expectations.

The owners were incredibly helpful. On arrival we were greeted with complimentary wine, chocolates, Welsh cakes and fresh milk. The cottage was exceptionally clean and lovely and warm despite the winter weather. Everything in the cottage was to a very high standard: from the quality of the bedding/towels, to the modern oven/microwave, to the fabulous wet room (inc Jacuzzi bath), and even the quality of the cooking utensils in the kitchen.

The cottage is in a fabulous location. We drove to Porthmadog for fish and chips one day (& did part of the coastal walk beyond Borth-y-Gest). On the second day we drove to Portmeirion, and spent a couple of hours walking around the tourist village. On a less sunny day (we had been exceptionally lucky with the weather) we walked from the cottage to Llyn Mair (leaflets including map are provided by the cottage).

We cooked for two nights, and on the final night had a lovely meal at The Grapes which is a 2 minute walk from the cottage. The food was delicious (I ordered a 10oz sirloin steak served on a sizzling platter) and then service was great!

If the wonderful Welsh countryside is your cup of tea, and you deserve some well earned rest and relaxation by the crackling fire, I would highly recommend staying at this cottage. I have already started recommending it to my friends and family!

Thank you to the owners for an uncomplicated, cosy, and utterly wonderful weekend escape.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at Dolydd Cottage :) Glad you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmablomf...
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Country cottage escape”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Dolydd Cottage this past week. The cottage was immaculate when we arrived, with the addition of milk, wine and welsh cakes to welcome us. It is so cosy with the wood burning fire and under floor heating. The area is beautiful and offers a real escape, local shops are a car drive away so this is the only thing to be aware of (I would suggest a car is essential). We would definitely recommend the cottage and hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove and Jacuzzi bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisamb38
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We've just spent 6 days at Dolydd cottage in Maentwrog. It was absolutely beautiful & we've had a wonderful break.
It's small but perfect. Sleeps 2 in a beautiful Cosy bedroom with plenty of storage & has a tv/free view/DVD player.
The living room with kitchen is gorgeous, with a wood burner and Tv/free view/DVD player. Lots of information on places to visit provided.
And the bathroom is nothing short of luxury. It has underfloor heating, a rain fall shower & a huge jacuzzi bath.
Great location for exploring that area of Wales. A 10/15 min drive from Porthmadog/bleaneu Ffestiniog/Harlech. Approx 45mins from Caernarfon and 1hr from Llanberis.
Can't recommend it enough, we will definitely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing