We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good from the outside, terrible on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belum Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerik
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We decided to try this resort when i was in Gerik. I was disappointed with the choice to stay there. The resort looks quite impressive from the outside but looks can be very deceiving.
We arrived at 2pm and my room was still not ready but the hotel staff didn't offer us a welcome drink while waiting for the room. During our stay, none of the staff even greet us to make we feel welcome.
We like the room design but they lack in the detailing. The pillows & bed are terrible. It's like they bought it from TESCO. We can't sleep well that night due to wooden-like bed and uncomfortable pillows. Even the toiletries are of low quality. The soap are smelly and low quality. They don't even have body wash. They need to have these nice details if they want to called themselves a 'resort'. Even though the shower and bathroom looks nice but the towels are from a low quality & thin material. This is very unacceptable for a 'resort'
The food are really terrible. The taste and selection are unacceptable for a 'resort'. It's more suitable for a 2 star hotels
If you're not going to Royal Belum Forest, there are nothing much to do at the resort. It lacks creativity in term of their hotel management and it's very expansive even to do a simple activity. RM50 per person for a kayak in the lake is way too ridiculous price especially with a bad service form hotel management staff.
Until the 'resort' improves her management, I don't recommend anyone to stay there. If you must, it's just for one night for a transit to Royal Belum Forest. If not, you won't miss a single thing by not staying at the so called 'resort'
For the price that we paid, it was not worth it at all. If they want to charge a 4 or 5 start resort price, they should be prepared to have a 4 or 5 start resort services & amenities

Room Tip: If you must stay there, please choose to stay at Executive Deluxe Room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank acidnburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Belum Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Travelled from Penang with two other families and kids. We didn't expect much. But our stay turned out to be satisfactory.
Great natural rainforest and clean air. Room condition is good and clean.
Buffet dinner is better than expected.
Breakfast needs improvement.
Service is ok.
Will consider to come again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KP117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This resort is situated on Pulau Banding, an island in the middle of Temenggor Dam which is surrounded by virgin forest. Driving to this resort from either way(Jeli in Kelantan dan Gerik in Perak) was quite challenging for me for the first time.It was a worthwhile trip and it was enjoyable for my family as it was a new experience... instead of concrete jungle, here one can really enjoy the true jungle.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the lake.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Took a special 3 day / 2 night package from Groupon for a quick weekend getaway with a friend. The resort is located in a pretty magical place and has a really good location. What you see on the website is really what its like in real life. Alot of wood and bamboo which gives a very calming and natural effect. The rooms are great - really nice and modern. Beds a bit hard but oh well. There's even a rain shower in the toilet! They've also really catered well for the fact that your clothes will get muddy and dirty and there are lots of places to hang your clothes to dry around the room.

Food-wise, not great. The buffet in the morning is quite limited and the quality ain't great. I don't take eggs so I guess my choices are already limited but the bread and jams weren't that fresh. Also in the evenings, you can only eat at the Hornbill restaurant because the other cafe SiDai (near the bar) is only open in the day and closes by 6pm. The food in that cafe is actually pretty good and is really good value for money and I suggest if you can take an early dinner to have it there at 5.30pm (or get takeaway! or maybe even just order room service as its cheaper than the buffet) rather than wasting your money on the buffet at the Hornbill restaurant. The buffet is really low-quality and therefore not worth the money at all.

Activities-wise, we didn't actually set foot in the belum rainforest because we didn't intend on paying extra for the activities as our package came with some activities included like the night walk and cruise around the island and kayaking. I think the way the activities are run could be better as there's so much you could do around the resort itself. Definitely needs more kid-friendly activities too and could definitely introduce some educational activities about the unique environment. There should also be more options for trekking and more paths with the difficulty levels made well aware of rather than the very basic activities they provide. I feel it is such a waste of the location that they have.

The night walk that we did was a total downer. It was raining and we plodged on anyway, which was fine for me because I'm quite used to moving around outdoors, but for a beginner or for those who are not used to hiking/trekking it is a bit challenging and some of the other people who had paid to actually go on the night walk were really not happy that the guide just kept walking and didn't help to make sure that everyone had crossed difficult areas safely. He just walked in front of everyone and did not even stop to talk about anything along the way (maybe because it was raining, but still, I feel he should have at least tried to make it worth the while and interesting for everyone rather than have us walk in silence and dreading the rain).There really were some steep areas to descend and it was very slippery since it was raining and it was really dark as well (eventhough we did have headlamps) so safety-wise I felt it wasn't good at all.

The activities desk itself is not run that well because the person who is meant to be there never seemed to be there and we always had to wait or ask the receptionist to track the person down so that we could ask about our activity.

There's free WiFi all around the resort though so that's a plus point =) I'm only rating this as an average because although the rooms and property are great, everything else lets it down. Unfortunately I don't think there's anywhere else you can stay that will give you access to the belum rainforest as this resort does.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank reggiemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The premier place to discover rainforest resort, jungle trekking, wildlife observation... Yes a real elephant crossing the street etc :) with 5 stars accomodation perfect place for honeymoon and also to educate children how to appreciate forest.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My extended family had a 3D2N holiday at Belum during the period between Christmas & New Year's. There were 11 of us and we booked 4 rooms - 3 under a Groupon deal and 1 under the resorts own Discovery Package.

At first the location seemed daunting but it actually turned out to be an easy & pleasant drive from Penang. It was as straightforward as getting onto the Butterworth-Kulim Highway at Seberang Jaya and heading east all the way past Baling & Gerik towards Jeli & Kota Baru. There were no turns off this road, just 40kms straight past the Gerik Exit 4-way traffic light junction all the way right up to the resort which is just after the bridge taking you onto Pulau Banding which is essentially the hilltop that stands above the man-made Temenggor Lake which submerged the valleys around it after a river was dammed up, and which surrounds the island.

The setting is idylic and a unique blend of being close to nature yet with easy access via the east-west road system. There's logging on the outskirts of the gazetted Belum nature reserve boundaries but this was still pretty much virgin jungle. The animal crossing signs along the roadtrip promises as much... it starts with signs for cow crossings, then deer, then elephants. The area is also home to hornbills and 3 types of rafflesia (largest flowers on the planet).

The resort has a back to nature feel with lots of wood in its construction and sits on top of the slope from the jetty on the lake. Accomodation is varied with standard & deluxe rooms, suites and houseboats. We stayed in 2 standard & 2 deluxe rooms which were had either a 1 king or 2 single bed configuration, came with a safe, strong air-conditioning, a fridge, wardrobe and am ample bathroom. The only standard equipment absent was a TV... but hey, who drives into the middle of a jungle to watch TV? They have waterways between the building cluster and a spice garden running next to the buildings. The resort had a notice up that they were adding chalets, a spa and swimming pool.

Activities included jungle trekking (in the wooded area next to the lake & resort) - both day & night-time editions available, kayaking, bamboo-rafting, boat rides round the island & lake, fishing trips, full-day tours to see a waterfall, rafflesia, and/or aboriginal village & handicraft.

There is an on-campus restaurant. The buffets are average and I found the ala carte fare better. However unless you stocked up or are willing to make repeated 30-40 minute (per way) drives out to Gerik, this is your only choice for meals.

All in all, we found this a great place for some peace & quiet and perfect for a family get-together.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulksyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I had spent 3 days 2 nights in this hotel with my family (2 A + 2 C) for countdown 2012.The breakfast and the dinner is great ! (I am quite surprise because some review said the food is no good, i bring a lot of instant noodle and snack but i didn't eat any because my stomach was always full because of the nice buffet).The room is nice and spacious (we took the room with a twin bed and a daybed,upper floor,nice view).We also took the Temenggor Walk package on the next day-we managed to see the Dry Salt Lick (Sira Gajah),Orang Asli Village,the Rafflesia and we enjoy so much at the waterfall. It is from 9:30am-5:30pm with a lunch provided.Before we check out, we took the round-island boat trip (9:30am-10:30am).I feel very satisfied with the whole journey (the hotel room, the food, the activities, the driving journey to the hotel).Everything is just nice and a perfect getaway trip.

Room Tip: First floor(can see the lake and hill), Block name "Eugenia" and "Aquilaria". Av...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icarolyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerik
39.0 km away
Mandarin Betong
Mandarin Betong
#2 of 4 in Betong
42 reviews
39.3 km away
Betong Merlin Hotel
Betong Merlin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Betong
14 reviews
113.1 km away
Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices

Been to Belum Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belum Rainforest Resort

Address: Pulau Banding, Gerik 33200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Hulu Perak District > Gerik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerik
Price Range: $104 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belum Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belum Rainforest Resort is one of Malaysia's premier ecotourism holiday destinations. Set in the midst of a tropical paradise, Pulau Banding, the Belum Rainforest Resort, is everything nature-lovers and holiday-goers expect in a getaway destination: complete relaxation and serenity, stunning views and surroundings, adventure, and the chance to get close to nature.With the Belum-Temengor Rainforest literally at their doorstep, guests at the resort will have a rare opportunity to experience the soothing beauty and mystery of the vast jungle, which has remained untouched for centuries. Nature lovers will revel at the chance to observe the beauty of plants and scenery that can be found only rarely elsewhere. Meanwhile, thrilling outdoor activities await adventure seekers who crave for adrenaline-pumping experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belum Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belum Rainforest Hotel Gerik
Belum Rainforest Resort Malaysia/Gerik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing