We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Tapas”

Chato Tapas Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 68 Restaurants in Thornbury
Price range: US$18 - US$36
Description: Chato is a family run Spanish inspired cafe and Tapas Bar located in Thornbury. Chato is the latest incarnation of Maria Echevarria - Lang who has set up many well respected Melbourne restaurants and cafes. The food is gloriously Spanish, whilst offering cafe favourites. At night Chato transforms into a true Spanish Tapas Bar, with the small glasses of wine that give Chato its name. The menu is generous, the prices reasonable and the ambience truly Spanish. When you walk in you enter a true Madrilena experience, with bar and bench seating, a vintage industrial look, welcoming floor staff, and, of course, great Spanish drinks!
Restaurant details
Description: Chato is a family run Spanish inspired cafe and Tapas Bar located in Thornbury. Chato is the latest incarnation of Maria Echevarria - Lang who has set up many well respected Melbourne restaurants and cafes. The food is gloriously Spanish, whilst offering cafe favourites. At night Chato transforms into a true Spanish Tapas Bar, with the small glasses of wine that give Chato its name. The menu is generous, the prices reasonable and the ambience truly Spanish. When you walk in you enter a true Madrilena experience, with bar and bench seating, a vintage industrial look, welcoming floor staff, and, of course, great Spanish drinks!
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Have visited a few times now and feel I have to share the secret , although I think the secret is out. The food here is amazing and a great variety on offer. A great feel with Spanish waitstaff and chefs for the full experience of Espanyol . The food is complemented by a comprehensive selection wines , beers and quality cocktails, would highly recommend

1  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded January 17, 2017

Hola Geoff,

Thank you very much for your review, we are really pleased you liked us and you felt like sharing it with the tripadvisor community.

We are looking forward to seeing you back again soon. New cocktail and wine menu coming up soon, ssssshhhhhh!!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 83 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Visited Chato on a Thursday evening with a girlfriend.

The table we were seated at was tiny making it difficult to juggle different tapas plates as well as drinks.

The food is decent for a local but not amazing. The cured meats plate is a very good sharing dish - plentiful for two.

The staff were friendly and attentive without being in your face.

The place has a friendly casual vibe but was very noisy the night we were there.

All up, decent place but no wow.

Thank JGiuliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded December 20, 2016

Hi JGiuliani,

Thanks for your review. We were glad you came to try us and we encourage you to do so again in the short future, as we are changing our menu, including some dishes with a ¨wow¨factor, like our ¨monk¨dessert or our tuna coated in coffee with apricot leather.
Wishing you all the best for Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Regards,
Chato team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2016

A lovely little place. 5 of us had a range of tapas. Very tasty, great service.
It was quite nice, will go back to try the paella.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank goodfoodlover2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 30, 2016

Hola @goodfoodlover2016,

Thanks for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you back again. We are also now offering all you can eat tapas on Wednesday nights.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Fabulous tapas. Paella yummy. Desserts all delicious especially Death by chocolate. Service friendly and efficient.

1  Thank Jenny1111b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 2, 2016

Thank you very much Jenny for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you back again at Chato.

Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

This is our second visit to Chato Tapas. Love this place. The staff are so wonderful and patient going out of their way to help us select from their menu - even on event day, when it can be very busy, the smile never leaves their faces! The food is tasty, varied and gluten free is no problem. The Ox cheeks and their poached pears are magnificent! We will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelsand2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded November 30, 2016

Hola @travelsand2016,

Thanks for your review. We definitely love our job and are quite proud of the product that we offer, hence the never ending smiles! We have got new dishes on the menu worth checking out. Working on a fruit summer dessert that I reckon you will love!

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chato Tapas Melbourne also viewed

Northcote, Greater Melbourne
 
Preston, Darebin
 
Thornbury, Darebin
Thornbury, Darebin
 

Been to Chato Tapas Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing