We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
42
41
11
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
41
11
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews socks pools countryside furano english adults japan onsen
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 100 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Could not find a good hotel in Biei. So we went to this onsen hotel outside the town of Higashikagura. The hotel rooms in main building were fully booked. So we checked into a cottage for 4 person. If you are used to staying at a quieter place, then the cottage would be right for you. See my photos on the surroundings.

The interior is surprising nice and cosy. It comes with a kitchenette with utensils. Two beds on level 1 and another 2 beds up the loft. Preference is for those who drives. There is a parking lot right at the doorsteps.

Friendly and helpful hotel staff.

Room tip: Some cottages can stayed up to 8 people.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 484PasirRis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2015

You can only book this hotel through Japanese web site. However, I met some foreign guest during my staying and am wondering it would be nice to introduce this hotel to non-Japanese people in English.

First of all, I felt this hotel is very unique even though I am Japanese. I believe this hotel was originally built as a community center in Higashi kagura town where only this hotel stands. The community center has banquet room, big and spacious onsen, restaurants and surrounded by deep forest . You can find many people in the afternoon and evening, who brings towels and are taking bath and back to their home. You may hear Karaoke song from the banquet room. But after 23 o’clock, only a few people stay there except the hotel guests.

Only one rule in this hotel is that you will be advised to stay without shoes or slipper, only bear foots. It was very comfortable and of course it is very clean so I felt. Onsen is very specious and you can find mild and hot temperature onsen. Outside bath is superb. I highly recommend you to take bath in the morning since only hotel guest can enjoy taking bath in the morning. Unlike taking bath in the evening, you can find fantastic land scape with only you sometime.

The room is specious compared to the other hotel. We stayed in Japanese style room where Futon is amazing and let you sleep very well. According to the hotel web site, there is cotage and BBQ option in summer season(June to August I guess)

It takes 40 min to get Asahiyama-zoo from this hotel, which you must go if you have small kids like you. This zoo is very famous in japan for its unique style of exhibition and I am pretty sure that adults only can enjoy. You can also go Furano town.

At last, I need to highlight Kaiseki style dinner with plenty local material. Higasi-kagura is famous for rich food, vegetable, meat, fish in river. We visited this hotel in April, so we enjoyed very very thick asparagus, which I felt best in my 1 week stay in Hokkaido, much better than lovely seafood and meat.

I found a group of Asian guest in restaurant. Server tried explaining to them about each of the dish though his English is not so good. Maybe people including guest will glance you and your family with curiosity but it would be good idea of not staying in the 5 star hotel in Tokyo, but truly good hotel in very local side in Japan. For sure you need to rent a car to get this hotel and you need a car to travel Hokkaido anyway.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Daisuke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night during our self drive of Hokkaido and was pleasantly surprised by the facilities and service. When we reached the hotel and saw the local crowd, we were a bit skeptical as it seems to be open to public with children running around. On checking in, the deputy manager kindly showed us to our room and explained every detail from the lift landings to how the door was to be locked since it was not the auto type by card access. Upon entering the room and finding it to be a smoking room, we immediately told him that booking was for a non-smoking room. The manager went off immediately to check and returned with options of 2 non-smoking rooms-a western room or a japanese style one. After which , dinner was a kaseki type instead of buffet which was very nice. The onsen facility was wonderful which include 2 outdoor ones and an indoor special mineral pool which I could not recall the exact benefits. Overall, I would rate the hotel a five star service though facility and size is not the top end. We would definitely commend the manager of his excellent service, a truly japanese service we expected and finally experienced towards the end of our self dive in Hokkaido .

Date of stay: May 2015
4  Thank eureka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We travelled last Oct 2012 to view the Autumn tint in Daisetsuzan and en-route we reserved rooms at Hanakagura (Mori-No-You Hotel). Although we had some difficulties in reserving our rooms online, we managed to call the hotel (no English spoken), and fax across our details to the hotel.

The rooms were spacious and very comfortable, it provided us well, a good night of rest.

Both indoor and outdoor onsens were relaxing and gave a good view of nature all around.
We had reserved rooms with meal plans and certainly, it was value for money. Dinner was splendid and dishes served were varied.

Our stay at Hanakagura was quite different to most hotels we had stayed in Hokkaido.
Firstly we found that the onsen was opened to public and it was more of a "medicated health onsen". Largely visited by local patrons.
Secondly, as we were provided socks by the hotel, we had to wear them everywhere, even when we dined in the restaurant.
Thirdly, we were amazed by the indoor wall hung decorations; representing the wild life and nature which Hokkaido has (in my humble opinion).

There is also a park near the hotel where one could go for a morning run - a quiet and peaceful environment.

Overall, we are pleased with our "find" although it was quite pricey for a night stay in October. Neverthelss, we will definitely make Hanakagura our rest stop should we visit Daisetsuzan in the near future.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RakunSoshiteRisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews