We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Kamihoroso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamihoroso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

After reading the good reviews I decided to stay there. The remote location deep in the mountain was beautiful. So was the hot spring. However every thing else was average at best. Food was uninspiringly boring, the facility old and depressing like an institution, service was business-like, the big septic tank in the middle of the back yard outside of window that offered a beautiful view of mountains and valleys. With the price I paid, almost 19000 yen for a person, I expected a better facility. And, I don't trust any hotel with the toilet paper holder covered with a gramma's lacy needlework and the hallway with icy white fluorescent lights.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank tyonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2016

The hot spring here was very nice with a hillside view. There were not many quests when we stayed so we had a nice quiet, relaxing time in hot spring. The food was generally good, with locally grown products. But I wish they served a little bit more meat for what we were paying for. The hotel is a bit out of the way and we saw foxes on the way.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view cost more but you get the same view from the bath so it is probably not worth payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The hotel is situation at way up the mountain near Furano. The staff are nice and friendly. Dinner is average as compared to other Onsen hotel. Onsen is quite small. The room and facilities are all clean an tidy - usual Japanese standard.

Most guests were from Japan, with few foreigners.

There were many hikers staying in the hotel during our Sept stay.

There was an observation area ( 5-10 min drive ) closed-by offering an excellent view of the sunset. The hotel is quite remote, we also bumped into a deer on our way down the hill the next morning.

The hotel is far away from the city, and made it an excellent location for some night photos. The attached pics were took just outside the hotel at night.

If you want to enjoy a quiet evening glazing at the night sky in Hokiaddo, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Kamihorosou sits on a hill a short distance away from Furano and a bit further from Biei. Staff is fantastic, very warm hospitality right from the moment i wrote to enquire about reserving a room. The staff don't speak fluent English but it didn't deter them from going out of their way to understand our needs and help us find our way around.

They have a very nice onsen. there is one that faces the mountains which makes the soak all the more relaxing.

Each room comes with an attached toilet but not shower. the only shower facilities is in the onsen area.

Food is awesome and we were treated to some really nice chawanmushi and rock melon.

loved every moment of it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raiyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

I pay a visit to furano and biei in July. Kamihoroso seems a good choice for me, due to the fact that it is near to both furano and biei, and most importantly, because of its affordable price.

The hotel is full on the day I stayed, the services and the environment of the hotel is fair. For the meal, it is not excellent but acceptable. It seems like a set meal, rather than the traditional japanese style Cuisine. Considering the money I have paid, I think it is acceptable.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank ymmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Kamihoroso is located around 1000+ m above sea level. It can be reached via a pleasant mountain road, 30-40mins from the flower farms in Furano/Biei surrounds.
Given its elevation, it is considerable cooler here. It is in the midst of a pleasant forest. And you get a GREAT view of the valley below especially from the onsen, dining room and main lobby. On a good day, the sunset is spectacular from here.

This is an old establishment. But don't let its age fool you. It is immaculately maintained. In fact, the aged feel of this place adds to its charms and sense of history. I find this place exudes understated elegance horned from years of proud service.
Everything is spick and span. The onsen is large and completely built and lined with old cedars wood. This is not common any more in Japan. You only get to experience this in the more traditional establishments in the countryside. This was a pleasant treat for us.

The rooms were all Japanese style. But large enough with plentiful of room for futons and a sitting area. Dining was great. Excellent seasonal food for both dinner and breakfast. In terms of service level, it was professional, efficient yet discrete; the type we come to expect in top establishments in Japan.

One other thing. While it is located close enough to all the flowers and patchwork attractions (30-40min drive), it held another attractions. Just 10 min drive further into the hillside is an open area for unimpeded view of a great sunset; some nice hiking trails and a forested clearing, where for the wildlife shutterbugs; a great place to photoshoot some cute northern pikas and chipmunks. We also saw a few golden foxes and deer while driving along the mountain road to and fro our hotel. That was another pleasant unexpected treat.

The only catch about this place is that you need your own transport. But if you have, this is a great place to stay while visiting the Furano/Kamifurano/Biei area.

Room Tip: request for a room with a view over the valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Backcountry skiing from this place and you have got a good location in the tokachi mountains.
We arrived in mid morning and rooms were naturally unavailable but we were able to store our gear in the drying room in the basement and go out for the rest of the day.
During our stay the drying room was at 35c, great for drying boots and kit. Coin op washing machines are also available.
Rooms are large enough for two persons and have wc and wash basin.
The indoor Onsen is large with a smaller outdoor one attached.
As mentioned most clients are Japanese who come to use the spa facilities.
The dining area is large and the food is varied and plentiful. We got a free glass of beer each evening and a free ice cream on our return from a days skiing. Staff were always very friendly and helpful.
When leaving we wwre able to store our kit and go skiing half a day and then use the Onsen area before departing mid afternoon.
The backcountry skiing is extensive with open mountain slopes, tree and glade skiing available. No lifts you do it all by your own leg muscles. While present there were restrictions on some areas due to fresh seismic activity on Mt Tokachidake.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EnglandKeen_skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamifurano-cho
Furano Hops Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kamifurano-cho
88 reviews
Furano Natulux Hotel
#1 of 14 in Furano
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Naturwald Furano
#3 of 14 in Furano
252 reviews
Ryounkaku
#4 of 10 in Kamifurano-cho
68 reviews
Shirogane Onsen
Yumoto Shirogane Onsen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamihoroso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamihoroso

Address: Tokachidake Onsen, Kamifurano-cho, Sorachi-gun 071-0579, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sorachi-gun > Kamifurano-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamifurano-cho
Price Range: C$245 - C$391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamihoroso 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kamihoroso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamihoroso Kamifurano-Cho, Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing