We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
25
49
16
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
49
16
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews set meal establishment foxes sunset mt cooler facilities guests drive onsen dinner view
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this quiet ryokan for 2 nights from 10 to 12 July 2018. The room was very clean. Although there wasn't any Aircon but it was cool in the night when the windows were opened. The temperature was cooler in higher altitude.
We had Teppanyaki for dinner on our first night & shabu shabu the next night. We enjoyed the dinner very much. There wasn't a very wide range for breakfast but good enough to get you started for the day.
The resort has an onsen that has a stunning view especially during sunset. The onsen is segregated by gender.
The drive up to the resort was relatively easy as there weren't many cars. During the drive up to the resort we saw a fox along the way. We will stay at this resort again if we visit Kamifurano.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

After reading the good reviews I decided to stay there. The remote location deep in the mountain was beautiful. So was the hot spring. However every thing else was average at best. Food was uninspiringly boring, the facility old and depressing like an institution, service was business-like, the big septic tank in the middle of the back yard outside of window that offered a beautiful view of mountains and valleys. With the price I paid, almost 19000 yen for a person, I expected a better facility. And, I don't trust any hotel with the toilet paper holder covered with a gramma's lacy needlework and the hallway with icy white fluorescent lights.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank tyonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2016

The hot spring here was very nice with a hillside view. There were not many quests when we stayed so we had a nice quiet, relaxing time in hot spring. The food was generally good, with locally grown products. But I wish they served a little bit more meat for what we were paying for. The hotel is a bit out of the way and we saw foxes on the way.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view cost more but you get the same view from the bath so it is probably not worth paying more.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2016

The hotel is situation at way up the mountain near Furano. The staff are nice and friendly. Dinner is average as compared to other Onsen hotel. Onsen is quite small. The room and facilities are all clean an tidy - usual Japanese standard.

Most guests were from Japan, with few foreigners.

There were many hikers staying in the hotel during our Sept stay.

There was an observation area ( 5-10 min drive ) closed-by offering an excellent view of the sunset. The hotel is quite remote, we also bumped into a deer on our way down the hill the next morning.

The hotel is far away from the city, and made it an excellent location for some night photos. The attached pics were took just outside the hotel at night.

If you want to enjoy a quiet evening glazing at the night sky in Hokiaddo, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2016

Kamihorosou sits on a hill a short distance away from Furano and a bit further from Biei. Staff is fantastic, very warm hospitality right from the moment i wrote to enquire about reserving a room. The staff don't speak fluent English but it didn't deter them from going out of their way to understand our needs and help us find our way around.

They have a very nice onsen. there is one that faces the mountains which makes the soak all the more relaxing.

Each room comes with an attached toilet but not shower. the only shower facilities is in the onsen area.

Food is awesome and we were treated to some really nice chawanmushi and rock melon.

loved every moment of it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raiyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews