We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Get a room with an Onsen (japanese hot tub)!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Funny Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hakuba-mura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Funny Inn
Sydney
1 review
“Get a room with an Onsen (japanese hot tub)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Came with two small kids (4 & 6) and just worked really well. V. helpful couple (help book any restaurant, taxi, trips, info on mountain to choose, facilties etc).

Close to free ski bus to any slope.

Breakfast at 7:30 - no excuses!

We had fabulous snow (4 days with fresh powder)! and no too cold!

No queues at lifts! (we went 7 Jan)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

If you're looking for a real Japanese experience staying at a traditional type pension, the Pension Funny Inn will not disappoint you. Wife Mayumi speaks excellent English and her French chef trained husband is a wonderful chef cooking amazing breakfasts (part of the cost) that is a fusion of Japanese and French. Each day is different. Best French toast we've ever had and wonderful eggs benedict. Make sure you book a dinner in and go for the full 5 courses .. worth it when you see what you get for the costs. Fine dining at a fraction of the cost you'd pay back home.

It's a boutique pension with only 6 rooms. Each room is different - go for the ones with your own private onsen (Japanese bath fab after a hard day on the powder).

There's also an indoor and outdoor onsen you can use... great to be surrounded by views of the mountain when you're soaking the aches away.

Their service is wonderful, going the extra mile like picking you up when you arrive at the train station or helping you out with your hire gear. They sell lift passes to Hakuba 47 and Happo-one cheaper than you can buy directly. Here's a tip... buy your tickets daily as it's not worth buying an all mountain pass for a longer period of time. This way you get to choose which of the nearby 8 mountains you want to ski and it's cheaper.

Funny Inn is also centrally located with an easy walk to the shuttle bus stops to every mountain.

Totally recommend this pension for the wonderful service and a real Japanese experience.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the private onsen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is our first review on trip advisor, as our stay at the funny inn has been excellent and we would like more people to know about this great inn. The pension owners, who has been running the place for 25 years, were great hosts. They arranged our pickup and drop off from the bus station, organized our ski rentals and lift tickets, and were generally very pleasant and attentive, always available to help with information and local knowledge. When we first arrived we thought the location was a little secluded, but we managed to stroll to the shops and restaurants in echoland and along Olympic rd every evening we were here - really only about a 5 min walk along some very pleasant roads and paths. And the ski shuttle bus stop is less than a minutes walk. We stayed in the deluxe room with the private hottub, its really worth the extra bucks to be able to soak in your private tub after skiing all day. The beds were a little bit unsupportive for the back, but that's a personal, common issue we have with all japanese inns. About the food - The owner is a trained French chef originally from Kobe and we had a lovely dinner and breakfasts at the pension, the cuisine is western with a japanese twist, using a lot of local ingredients and seasoning. The meals are delicious and you can tell he takes great pride in his cooking.
Overall we loved the place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingchickenshred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

This is a nice little pension run by a Japanese couple.
The wife can speak english pretty well, so it shouldn't be a problem if you can't speak japanese at all, although a couple of handy japanese words will be useful.

Although it is just a pension, they provide really good services comparable to 5 star hotels. Free pick up from hakuba station, ski rentals delivered to your door, arrange activities, cheaper ski lift tickets and they drive you to the ski place as well!!

We really love our room with tatami mat and kotatsu. It makes us feel really homey just like in a japanese home.
The small common space is for those who are staying in separate rooms to gather and have a chit chat after dinner with a little hint of jazz music. There is a massage chair (where you have to put in some coins) for those who need to refresh after skiing. The wooden rocking chair facing the fire-place-like heater makes you feel that you can sit there for the whole night.

Last but not least, is the food!! breakfast and dinner is included in our package, so we don't have to worry about going out to eat in the middle of the snow (although echoland hakuba has quite a lot of restaurants and bar nearby which you can go and hang around, after dinner)

dinner at funny inn is not to be missed! the hotel owner aka ski instructor aka chef is very skilled at preparing western food (if you want japanese food, stay at ryokan, japanese inn). We stayed there for 2 nights, and our 5 course dinner for each day was just amazing!! including the desserts!!

Even though it is a little bit expensive for students, but it is worth every cents to splurge for your Christmas holiday!! I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mintkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Pension Funny Inn and would highly recommend it to others. The couple who own and run the pension went out of their way to make our stay memorable, they even put on a special dinner for us for our anniversary.

We had a fantastic room which was really cosy clean and comfortable. We also had our very own hot tub over looking the mountains which was fantastic to relax in after a tiring day on the ski hill. Its location was good with only a 2min walk to the ski bus stop and 10min walk to the main street of echoland where most of the restaurants are.

The couple who own Funny Inn were so lovely. They really went out of their way to help us and make our stay hassle free. We got the feeling that they didn't have many english speaking guests stay with them and that they mainly had Japanese guests but we had no trouble communicating with them and in fact it made our stay that much more special as we had a more traditional Japanese holiday experience.

The wife answered our many questions (she says she can't speak english very well but we thought she spoke very good engluish) . She helped us with phone travel arrangments & made many good recommendations. The husband was a fantastic cook. We had dinner at the pension a couple of times, both occasions were memorable experiences. To our surprise the husband is a trained french chef; he even made us a special cake for our anniversary. They also drove us a couple of times to the bus or train stations even when they were really busy and fully booked.

We would highly recommend Funny Inn to others and will definately stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funlovintravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#3 of 99 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#10 of 99 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#7 of 99 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#4 of 99 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Funny Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Funny Inn

Property: Pension Funny Inn
Address: 2455-1 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard western style room (with toilet shared bathroom)includes breakfast \6500yen 2 person use(per person)Private onsen style bath in this room with view of Happo,1 Queen bed Japanese western style Deluxe room (with full bathroom) includes breakfast \9,975yen 2 person use(per person) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing