We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
54
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lift tickets evergreen ski school shuttle bus each morning family room location is great stayed here for nights ski trip atm supermarket gondola onsen basin happo gender hakuba echoland
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 59 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2015

We stayed at Asuka Lodge from for the first half of our Hakuba Honeymoon trip from 28 Dec 2014 - 2 Jan 2015. From the moment we arrived at the station, the staff at Asuka did all they could to make our stay enjoyable, including picking us up from the train at 8.30pm the night we arrived to dropping us off at our B&B at the end of our stay with them. The Lodge itself is cozy, spacious and social without being too 'in your face'. The staff are amazing - kind, knowledgable and very friendly. While not the flashiest accommodation on the block, it has everything you need for a comfortable stay.

The lodge is less than a 1 minute walk from the Kokusai 1 lift and a couple minutes walk from Gondola Adam. The drying room was secure and our gear was dry every morning. The kitchen was great and the lounge room was very spacious, with a large TV, DVD player (and DVD's), playstation and games, books, magazines etc. Coffee, tea and milo were available all day and fruit was usually available too (which was very generous considering the cost of fruit in Japan!). Breakfasts were awesome - toast, english muffins, bagels, cereals, juices, yoghurt, a great assortment of spreads, fruit and a different hot item each day.

There was a range of different guests staying including groups of friends, families with young children, families with teenagers, young couples, older couples....basically, Asuka Lodge easily caters for a broad variety of people. During our stay they got the bar up and running which was really neat and a great place to have a beer in the evening while watching DVDs of snowboarders doing awesome tricks and making you feel totally inadequate...but I digress.

The Lodge is within easy walking distance of a good range of restaurants, bars and cafes, and as there are no ATMs, supermarkets or 'corner stores' in the area, the Lodge provide a nightly service run for guests to these places. Its an easy place to feel relaxed and we were honestly really sad to leave. We highly recommend Asuka Lodge to anyone looking for a great, very affordable place to stay.

Thank guys, we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dfleurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2015

Everything about this place is great, great staff, location, rooms and food. Highly recommend staying here. They pick you up from the bus station and offer free shuttle services. Right next to the slopes of Happo-One resort.

My only advice is don't do a partial booking through AirBnB. Either book directly with their site or make your full payment through AirBnB to avoid overpaying.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank andredesroches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2015

Before coming to the lodge we had our doubts as it was ridiculously cheap but that quickly changed. From being picked up at the station until being dropped off it was an experience my brother and I will never forget. We stayed in a Japanese-style twin room which was so awesome and the free wifi topped it off. The hot breakfast every morning was so good with continental breakfast on the side. All staff were friendly and comforting, they would always offer us rides to the slopes, restaurants and convenience store. It is literally a 5-minute walk to the Happo-One Adam Gondola which has some good runs. We only stayed here for 4 nights and that was obviously not enough, we'll definitely be coming back for longer.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2014 via mobile

Awesome!!! From the start! The people that attend to your needs are awesome people!! Very home feel! Relaxing!! Literally board all the way to the door!! Walk 5 minutes and your on the lift! they even had someone watch our son for us so we could go on the slopes!! Breakfast was really good!! They had peanut butter!! A must for breakfast! If your looking for a home feel, relaxed area, nice hot onsen to relax in before and after the slopes!

Stayed: December 2014
3  Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2014 via mobile

This lodge completely exceeded our expectations. We came for a weekend snowboarding trip and were thrilled with the atmosphere and service. The employees are friendly and willing to help in any possible way to enhance your visit to Hakuba. The location is ideal, and close to the lifts. We will be returning to stay at Asuka lodge again in the future.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mariah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews