We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
38
17
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
17
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station living room thoroughly enjoyed our stay stayed longer great spot great hospitality korean skiing reputation slopes winter mountains snow meals japan dinner season
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 60 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2018

Tenjin Lodge is a backpackers in the mountains, with all that this entails. Things can be a little loose - as they are in most backpackers. However the food was hearty skiing fare, the location is superb, and the staff are friendly. Kieren runs an excellent ski-touring operation, which I highly recommend. His focus on safety is reassuring, and necessary given the environment. We rented two rooms (412+413) for four of us. Probably overkill but the extra space was helpful for us 40-somethings. It would be great of the lodge was able to nail down transport options (to onsen, supermarket, trains). This mostly worked for us, but there was the odd misunderstanding between us and staff about what transport was available, and when. Overall, a great introduction to an amazing piece of Japan.

Room Tip: Consider adjoining rooms if you would like extra space.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018

My husband knows Kieren through a mutual friend, we stayed here for 2 nights(my husband has stayed before) and wished we stayed longer! kierens wife even picked us up and dropped us off the train station which was a lovely gesture and highly appreciated.

the place is nice, the atmosphere is great, the staff were all friendly and helpful and treat you like family, our room was a traditional tatami room which we loved! you sleep on the floor and they provide heaters in the room which was awesome as it was winter! the view from the balcony was great! we had ski lessons with chase and we had an amazing time!

we love that you eat together as a family be it breakfast or dinner (very nice food), cozy up by the big heater in the living room, the separate showers and bath were great! we would love to come back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ROXYLADY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

We went for one night and stayed for two, some people understandably aren't keen on shared bathrooms but it really wasn't difficult here . The owners are really friendly and unbelievably helpful in every way. We had some lovely wine and when they realised we didn't eat meat they changed everything and provided us with a superbly cooked Japanese style mackerel. Breakfast was lovely with freshly made crepes, oatmeal (porridge in our language) , eggs cooked anyway. We can't recommend it highly enough . Go and see for yourselves . You won't be disappointed

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank A1sportingspeakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

I went with 3 friends. The host helped us a lot in our visit around Minakami and made us feel like home. The place feels spacious, comfortable and familiar, and the room we had was big enough for all of us. Recommended!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Eduard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

I found Kieren s contact from the Snow Japan website, and he has been very helpful with answering my many queries for nearly 2 months while I was planning my 1st trip to Japan.

Tenjin Lodge is a lovely place to stay for families and adventure seeking groups. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with the great hospitality. The only regret was that we didn't cater more days to stay in Tenjin.

There s 2 train stops nearby - with Doai being the nearest but it s a remote station and we missed it as it didn't look like a train station. It also has the reputation as the deepest underground station in central Japan, and there are more than 100 steps.

Hence it is better to be picked up from Minakami station instead. With Japan s clockwork efficiency, if you missed the Doai station, the Minakami station is 2 to 3 stations later.

My little boy and me, travelling with another friend, learnt skiing at Tenjin Lodge. Nanna was our coach and we had a great time. Though it was late in the season (last week of April), the snow was still good and we still managed to fit in an afternoon of skiing.

All meals are chargeable and We requested for a Korean dinner. It was a fantastic family style dinner. To sum up - highly recommended - please cater at least 3 days stay to fully enjoy the Gunma prefecture !

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank mereytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews