We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shojoshin-in Temple
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Tamagawa Ryokan(Koya-cho)
Ryokan 
Koyakan(Koya-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Kameya Ryokan(Katsuragi-cho)
Ryokan 
Ryokan 
Ryokan 
Ichiei Ryokan(Katsuragi-cho)
Ryokan 
Ryokan 
Nakanishi Ryokan(Aridagawa-cho)
Ryokan 
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
189
74
32
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
74
32
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning ceremonycable carunique experiencekoya sanmeal timesprivate residenceprivate roomvegetarian dinnerafter darkinner courtyardown bathroomjapanese gardensolo travellergreen teaspent one nightricewalls are paper thin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Over all the temple is lovely, rooms are very comfortable and the food is ok. However the entire temple including the accommodation rooms are absolutely freezing, there is no way to heat any of the rooms and the entire temple is totally open so gets very cold.
I would advise going in the warmer months to make it a more comfortable experience.
The temple itself is really beautiful definite worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sophiemoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The temple is what we expected--austere, peaceful, good veggie meals, pleasant enough monks, and an interesting opportunity to watch morning prayers / chanting. The first night, we stayed in a room in the temple, and it was great: overlooked a quiet courtyard, just down the hall from shared toilets, comfortable enough futon bedding, and the availability of green tea.

The second night, however, was supposed to be an upgrade in their Hanare space (private quarters outside the temple, with our own bathroom and bath). I wish we had stayed in the original room...we ended up paying more for much less. I don't say this lightly--there was serious construction going on *right* outside of our room. It started at 8AM and went until 7PM: buzzing drills, heavy machinery, incessant hammering, etc. Not to mention our view was the eyesore of mesh covering the structure's scaffolding. It was far from the peaceful experience we had travelled to Koyasan for, and I hesitate to write something negative about an otherwise great experience, but it should be known: there is on-going major construction happening within feet of the private quarters.

Japanese Guest Houses were not very helpful about this matter, so before booking, I'd say consider staying in the temple lodging with shared toilets / showers.



Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Once we came up to Koyasan, I must admit we were a bit disappointed as it is quite a busy place and this is not what we were dreaming of. We were lucky though to make a reservation in Shojoshin-in as it is at the very end of the street and it is far not that busy there. Moreover, when you pass through the big temple gate, it is a whole new world. It is so peaceful there and the temple with its surroundings is beautiful! And it is huge!
We loved everything about it: our room, the bath, the food and the kimonos you can put on for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank laylalae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

The Shojoshin-in is nestled deep within the Koyasan town limits but it feels far from anywhere. Within walking distance of most of the major attractions it is far enough away to get out of the hustle and bustle of the main shopping areas. We enjoyed our stay and the food was delicious and the beds were super comfortable! The small onsen tub was so relaxing. Be brave and try it out!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Stunning temple with beautiful accommodation. The food was delicious and the morning service was very moving. We stayed in the separate accommodation with it's own private bath which was amazing. Not as friendly as Eko-in but still a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lizi7696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews