We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
194
75
33
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
75
33
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning ceremony unique experience koya san private residence vegetarian dinner private room japanese garden own bathroom chanting monks green tea walls are paper thin garden view prayer service shojin ryori morning service stayed one night evening walk
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 312 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place. The people are very kind and the food is delicous!! Our room was beautiful and had a great view. We were never cold, because they have heaters in every room (diningroom too). It was all very clean and the bathing facilities were a real treat after several days of walking. The morning ritual was also very special. It was really worth it and we were so impressed. Tip: even though they have heaters in the building were the morning ceremony is held do bring a jacket. It can still be quite cold. Getting to KoyaSan was very easy. We took the train from Namba station to Hashimoto. From there was a direct bus straight to KoyaSan. We left around 9.30am and arrived 12.30pm. There are some good lunch options in town. It takes a full afternoon to see most sights.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charis42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

what i liked about this place was the experience of living at a temple premise in a ryokan.
the prayer service in the morning was also something new for us and although it was difficult waking up early , it was well worth the trouble.
the third and most important part that made this temple stay good was the location. it is like a minutes walk from the graveyard. My husband and i walked in the dark through this graveyard for about 20 minutes and then i got really scared and decided to walk back. we then found a group of people and their company allowed us to walk thru the rest pathway to the temple at the other end. This is must do after sunset. do not pay for this tour .if you can go by yourself the experience is special(or scary ;-) ) alternatively join someone to make it thru

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017

The accommodation and the food were excellent. The facilities, including the onsens are really well designed and comfortable. Nothing like the puritan existence that I had imagined would be part of a monk's living quarters! The vegan/vegetarian meals were filling and really yummy. They only provide 2 meals - breakfast and an early dinner. This temple is the last on the main road, making it about a 10 minute walk to the "centre" of the town and a much longer walk to the other edge of the town where the big red gates are. But you will be right next to the huge cemetery and mausoleum that most people come to Koya-san to visit. Enjoy!

Stayed: October 2017
3  Thank GeorgeParam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

The room was spacious, very clean and had many facilities like safe box, TV and private washing basin. We also had a nice view of the garden. In the building there is traditional Japanese bathtube with very hot water which was great.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017

We stayed for a night at Hanare (private residence). We were "lucky" because of the coming typhoon ....as there were no activities on the construction site, it was perfectly quiet. We took a bath in a cedar bathtub (quite a unique experience) and enjoyed the garden view while seeping Japanese tea. The rooms were warm (there are kerosene heaters in every room, you won't be cold, but they are a bit smelly though). The beds were comfortable. Everything was perfectly clean. Shojoshin-in is the closest temple to the Okunoin, you can visit it as many times as you want :)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lara-0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews