We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
16
29
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
29
14
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 62 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Even if you come just for the food it's worth it! We had Kaiseki for both nights and had really good lobster sashimi, abalone sashimi and shabu shabu beef. Everything was amazing and we were so full after each meal.

The public bath had 4 onsens! The onsen water has a little ammonia smell due to the minerals in the water. The onsen water is smooth and silky.

Service was great and most staff has been there for ages. Little English spoken but they try.

Note that this is an old hotel so don't expect things to be sparkly, but what they offer is honest service and food

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sahsahseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Shirahamakan is one of the original inns on the beautiful Shirahama beach, built long before all the large hotels. As such, it is in a very central location, separated only by a road and a grove of pine trees from the beach. From the front facing rooms glimpses of the sea are visible; I imagine when those pine trees were smaller the view was excellent.
This is a traditional inn with tatami rooms and full breakfast and dinner served in the room. I stayed in a very large room with two relatives, and we had plenty of space to accommodate our two friends for meals.
The meals are the highlight of the stay, being elaborate multi-course affairs that would cost a fortune in Tokyo. Various dishes are brought turn-by-turn for dinner, and some cooked in a large pot placed in the middle of the table. While there is no choice, meals change every day, and are delicious.
Our room had a cypress tub on the balcony, filled with hot water from the town's hot springs. A strategically located bench made it extremely pleasant to soak one's legs in the tub in the evening. The room also had its own private bathroom, not a given in this type of accommodations.
Noise from the road was moderate, as traffic was extremely light at night, and moderate during the day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews