We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent service”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Nettleham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Description: Our Chefs deliver for you an amazing selection of Authentic Greek Foods, from recipes from their grandmothers. Also serving traditional English Pub food. All dishes freshly cooked on the premises
Restaurant details
Description: Our Chefs deliver for you an amazing selection of Authentic Greek Foods, from recipes from their grandmothers. Also serving traditional English Pub food. All dishes freshly cooked on the premises
Reviewed April 5, 2018

We booked to eat here on a Wednesday evening to celebrate a family member's birthday. This wasn't mentioned at the time of booking but they asked if we were celebrating when we came in with flowers and a gift bag.

We had dips and pittas to eat whilst we looked at the menu, then had a starter and a main each. The main courses took a while to get out to us, but given how busy the place was we didn't mind. The staff were extremely attentive and asked if we needed any other drinks etc.

We were stuffed after the mains therefore declined desserts, but to our surprise, they came out with a cake and sang happy birthday to our family member. This was completely unexpected but highly appreciated.

Overall we thought the food was excellent, so tasty, well presented and hot when it came out. The staff were also brilliant, lovely people.

We are keen to try their other restaurant on Burton Waters now!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BexSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 227 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Totally awesome! Staff lovely and friendly and polite! Food was delicious! We had veg mousaka chicken souvlaki, gyros, steak and an other! Beautifully presented! Plenty to eat! One of the very best Greek meals I’ve tasted and used to rep in Corfu! Simply the best ❤️spot on and full marks x thank you

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

We dropped in for the weekday OAP special; this offers a starter and main or main plus dessert for £8. We opted for a vegetarian moussaka and fish and chips with treacle sponge and custard to follow. We asked for a side order of chips to go with the moussaka, and pots of tea. The mains were very tasty, the fish not coming from a factory like some establishments serve, but the desserts were not as advertised..ginger and not treacle without explanation or apology.. The sponge portions were like small tasters and appeared to have been cut from one of the sponges that you can buy from supermarkets for about £1. The custard was short of lukewarm, but edible. Overall the meal seemed good value for money but the tables were cramped and, with our's being by the entrance door, we felt the draughts. The service was swift and polite, but I was not expecting the bill to be as high as it was...the charge for a small bowl of chips was £3.95p. As we only went in because of the pensioners deal, had we seen the normal prices, we may have walked out again if a bowl of chips costing so much more than chips in a chip shop, sets the bench mark. Yes,this was table service, but The Plough is a pub that serves meals, not a restaurant that serves drinks. The pots of tea were relatively inexpensive at just £1.50p. On a previous visit with a wheelchair, we found the doorway extremely difficult to get through because of the flooring and door, so would not recommend The Plough to wheelchair users.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

2nd wedding anniversary meal out. Was originally looking to book at Burton Water but it’s closed on a Monday. Actually glad it was as we’ve had the most delicious meal with cosy surroundings, soooooo reasonably priced and spot on service.

Shared pitta with dips (houmous and tzatziki) for starters.... wow!! Stifado and Gyros for mains.... so darn delicious. It was one of those meals when you can’t ram enough food in your mouth as it tastes soooooooo ruddy good. The gyros was as good if not better than those we’ve eaten in Greece. Portions are HUGE so my advise would be starve yourself before going as it’ll be well worth it.

However the staf are trained it’s spot on. They clearly enjoy what they do and it shows in the service they give. Promptly seated with drinks order being taken shortly followed by food order. The toffee vodka at the end .... could have drunk a pint of it!!!

Bill for starters, 2 mains, a glass of wine and a couple of soft drinks under £40 an absolute steal for the quality of food and service.

All in all I can’t fault it and will be back to eat myself through the entire menu!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank sharonw287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Whether you just pop in for a quick drink, a bar meal or a full blown restaurant meal they always seem to get it just right. The atmosphere downstairs is of a traditional village pub by the green, which it is, but the Greek food, served downstairs in the bar or upstairs in the restaurant sets it apart. We just had a brilliant birthday party there for 30 people and everyone said how good the food and service and atmosphere was. Thank you Christos and Joanne. Perfect

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff3040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 
Norton Disney, Lincoln
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing