We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The Crack trail

Did this trail on a clear, sunny day. Do not attempt if it's wet or raining. Very challenging, lots... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
59EKY
,
Mississauga, Canada
Beautiful Hikes

On this occasion I decided to stick to hiking (no canoeing). I did three of the hikes - The Crack... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JGWWWW
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 368 reviews
  
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
288
63
10
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
288
63
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george lake provincial park hiking trails long weekend bug spray peace and quiet day hike rent a canoe comfort station beautiful scenery camping experience main beach crack lakes campsite silver peak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 368 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Especially in the fall.
We went for a 9 day back country hiking trip... everything self serve, but the views and experiences come on a silver platter.
If you can't to a long duration trek, go to the park to see the fall colours, the pristine lakes and aroma of earth.
If you are up for a 2-4 our hike get a tour to Silver Peak or walk to "The Crack" from the secondary parking lot, again a spectacular view once you get through the 90 minutes of hike.

Be sure to pack out your garbage, don't leave any trash behind for someone else to clean up or animals to eat.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first time here and we absolutely loved it! Our campsite was very nice and private. The washrooms were clean. We hiked the Granite Ridge Trail, beautiful, breathtaking views! Later in the day we did the Cranberry Bog Trail, this is a longer and more trying trail! Still some beautiful scenery and nature at is finest! Didnt see any bears, deer or moose, had chipmunks visiting our site as well as a racoon! Definately a place I would go again!

Date of experience: October 2013
2  Thank lauralie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

One of the most incredible places in eastern Canada. Just Great! Bring your kayak and explore the crystal clear lakes. The campground is well kept, sites are very ok and it is quiet. Enjoy!

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank serje77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Killarney is truly a unique area. Pristine sapphire lakes that are surrounded by one of the oldest mountain ranges on earth. The hills of the park are made of white quartzite which is a brilliant white rock almost gem like in appearance and smooth to the touch. You can paddle through the interior of the park with a canoe or kayak and the shoreline on Georgian Bay offers excellent sea kayaking through a world of pink granite outcroppings and crystal clear water. Killarney is one of the most beautiful areas in Ontario and probably Canada.

Date of experience: June 2013
3  Thank SMilly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Killarney Provincial Park - is great for canoeists. One could could spend many weeks visiting all the lakes and islands, in and around the confines of the park. Or just do leisurely day excursions. Best to obtain a park map if you are planning to go into the interior of the park to locate the portages and hiking trails.
As for hiking, try the Granite Ridge Trail or the Cranberry Bog Trail - each trail can be done in well under 3 hours, taking you time.
There are 2 beaches at the George Lake Campground. And motor boats are not allowed in the park.
If you like to have close access to showers (7 private stalls) and flush toilets, campground B & C is the choice. If the group that you are with, is insistent upon having flush toilets, than choose a campsite close to any of the washrooms that have a "Barrier Free" logo (wheelchair accessibility). Otherwise it is back to nature and the Out House.

Book at least 5 months in advance if you want to have a specific campsite. This park is extremely popular.
If you like sunsets, campground D probably would be your best option, as it is slightly more isolated, with fewer campers and some of the sites sit right on the lake.
In our case we opted for the non-reserved sites (no other option as all the other sites were booked), first come, first serve and good luck. We arrived at the park at 09:00 (park office opens at 08:00) - the park gate sign read "Campground Full", and we were fortunate to get one of two sites still available at George Lake.
Campsite 141 was what we got stuck with - if you can, avoid this site, as the tent pad and the area around is quite angled - not level whatsoever, can be interesting in a tent when the person next to you literally slips and slides over. Had to place a 4 inch branch under the picnic table to level it, so that the frying pan would not slowly but surely make its escape off the stove onto the table. This site is extremely small and can only accommodate 1 large tent (8' x 8'), camp shelter (8' x 8'), with the picnic tables, fire pit and car, that is all that you can place here. The one nice aspect of this site is that it is somewhat isolated with Campsite 142 directly across - a better site than 141.
There appears to be at least 2 picnic tables at all campsites, including a fire pit. Wood bundles can be purchased for $7.00/bundle from the park office.
Set aside at least 4 nights for this park. Best time of year if you do not like the bugs, try late August or Autumn.
If you require a canoe rental, shop around, the prices vary substantially between outfitters for comparable canoes. And bring your own paddle and life jacket. The outfitters do supply 2 life jackets, 2 paddles and bailer with their rentals. An additional fee will be charged if you need another paddle or jacket.
Park's Campsite Fee - approximately $43/night for a maximum group size of six, with parking for one vehicle. This includes day use of the park facilities, trails, etc, for six individuals. i.e. the same fee is charged for 1 person or a group of six.

Would we return: Yes
Would we recommend this attraction: Definitely Yes

One nice aspect of this park is that they do not charge for usage of the showers.
At the Quebec Provincial Parks we visited, they charged for use of the showers, and in many cases, they gobbled up our coinage, and did not provide the shower - the park admin were not responsive to our issue, nor would Québec Provincial Parks - Parcs Québec - Sépaq respond to our e-mails regarding the issue.

Date of experience: August 2013
9  Thank Divevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews