We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rarely is perfection ever exceeded”
Review of Bryn Tanat Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Tanat Hall
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rarely is perfection ever exceeded”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Firstly, in any way that we can endorse Bryn Tanat Hall as an intimate wedding venue, or a weekend retreat for friends and family, we will gladly oblige without hesitation.

We held an intimate wedding weekend celebration, which included a large evening reception on the weekend of 21 April 2012.
The Hall and the grounds were immaculately designed for comfort; formal, without feeling stuffy. Every guest that joined us for the weekend commented on the beauty of both the Hall and the grounds. The photographs on the main website do not do the Hall justice, with each room having its own character and personality.

Despite being demanding clients, every detail we requested was executed meticulously to our specifications. Even at the last hour, the team at Bryn Tanat Hall managed alterations and used their skill and expertise as true hoteliers without compliant. We still are not quite certain how they accomplished this feat, but it made it seem effortless to our eyes.

Susan and Peter: in addition to this review, please ensure the family and the staff receive the appropriate recognition for their commitment in delivering a truly personable service. Your team provided nothing short of a seamless service which left us, our house and reception guests feeling that they attended the "wedding of the century".

Thank you, Susan and Peter, for making everything so very special; rarely is perfection ever exceeded.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    4
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Every year we, as a large group of adults, rent a country house for the weekend. We have just spent a marvellous weekend at Bryn Tanat. The Hall is spotlessly clean, equipped to the highest standards and is in a wonderful location. Susan and Peter were on hand if required but allowed us uninterrupted use of the house to enjoy at our leisure.
We have been to many properties over the years and this is definitely one of the very best.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have just returned from a long weekend to celebrate a number of significant family birthdays and anniversary, Bryn Tanat had something for everyone from Ben aged 9 to Grandma aged 85! The property is an enigma, cottage like from one side and grand country house from another, decorated absolutely stunningly- with beds that have left us searching for the make to buy one for ourselves they were so comfy! A personal favourite the victorian cast iron bath-pure luxury and a real treat.
Dont be put off by a list of dos and donts, all instructions are perfectly reasonable and understandable given the value and high standard of the property.Plenty of room for play both in side and out, snooker room great for the men! Thankyou to Sue and family for sharing their amazing home- our tip-if you are celebrating a family event or just want a relax with friends, Bryn Tanat is the place to go:)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Having just returned from holding a celebration weekend with family and friends at Bryn Tanat Hall I am still walking on air. There were 18 of us including children and from the moment we arrived Susan and her family made us all feel very special and couldn't do enough for us, right down to unpacking the groceries and baking scrumptious cakes.

The Hall itself is delightful. It is big enough to accommodate everyone, providing opportunities for communal living and private moments. It is grand enough to feel regal and homely enough to feel comfortable. No time or expense has been spared in the layout or design of the rooms and it is all beautifully maintained. The house is extensively equipped with all you could possibly need and all equipment is of a very high standard - none of those nasty featherweight knives and forks often provided in self catering establishments or bread knives that won't cut butter.

The grounds are breathtaking and provide opportunities for relaxation and activity. There are even goalposts for the children (or adults!) to work off the inevitable extra calories consumed during the stay..... Susan also arranged a falconry display, archery and target shooting on the lawns which was great fun.

We took advantage of the catering services for our main meals. The food was of the standard and presentation you would expect in a top class restaurant and the home made bread was to die for! The catering and service staff were wonderful, from serving drinks from the moment you appear to clearing away all the mess you leave afterwards. All done with genuine smiles too.

If I am ever lucky enough to hold or attend another celebration here I would feel truly blessed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HampshireBarbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We had a perfect wedding weekend here with close family. Susan provided a professional service and nothing was too much trouble. She has established contacts with the best the area has to offer. Sabastians in Oswestry provided our wonderful wedding lunch. Bryn Tanat Hall was just the right setting- a relaxed characterful country house with beautiful grounds and wonderful bedrooms. We hope to be back to celebrate another occasion.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JOA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Our weekend at Bryn Tanat Hall for my sisters 50th surpassed all expectations. The quality of the décor and furnishings and attention to detail is inspirational. There were twenty of us in our party with huge personalities and never did we feel on top of each other in fact it was easy to loose one another. The ambience and character of the hall meant it wasn’t long before you felt completely relaxed and meandering through the rooms really enjoyable. The gardens are breathtaking as is the scenery would love to have stayed longer than the weekend but we will be back. I can highly recommend Bryn Tanat Hall for any occasion.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sendit2steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you felt so relaxed and at home at Bryn Tanat. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We are still smiling after our wonderful wedding at Bryn Tanat Hall 3 weeks ago.
From the day we met Susan, the owner, she strived to ensure that everything down to the smallest detail was organised promptly and to such high standards. I confess we didn't do much organising ourselves! Both days ran perfectly with Susan and her family supervising the arrival of furniture, arranging the champagne toast, chosing flowers and organising all the food - and that isn't even the half of it!
Bryn Tanat itself is sublime! Beautifully decorated down to the smallest touches and wonderful gardens that made for stunning photographs.
We spent the best week of our lives with our family around us in pure luxury, and we can't thank you enough Susan, for making it all possible - to heights we never even imagined. We're already planning the next visit!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolalucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are delighted that your wedding at Bryn Tanat was so special and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bryn Tanat Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tanat Hall

Property: Bryn Tanat Hall
Address: Bryn Tanat Hall Llansantffraid, Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain SY22 6BA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Tanat Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5* Visit Wales Gold Award 9 years running and a long established reputation as one of the best country houses providing luxury group accommodation in Mid Wales for 28 people. With 14 bedrooms, 2 of which are on the ground floor, Bryn Tanat Hall accommodates 28 people. Personally run by the family, the Hall dates back to the late 17th Century and is set in 14 acres of landscaped gardens, parkland and woodland, with a sense of history, a warm welcome and a relaxing atmosphere. Our accommodation is luxurious without formality. You will appreciate our attention to detail; log fires, baby grand piano and a well stocked library. Satellite TV, WIFI, Egyptian cotton bed linen, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries in all bedrooms, fluffy towels and bathrobes! Enjoy our games room with table tennis, pool table and air hockey; our tennis and 5 aside football court and 10 person hot tub in a Douglas Fir clad spa. New for 2017 - book an appointment in The Treatment Room, offering Aromatherapy Associates body and massage treatments, beauty essential treatments including CND Shellac manicure and pedicures. By arrangement you can fish the river Tanat from our grounds and enjoy falconry, archery, well being and pampering and much more! We offer comprehensive dining options from buffet to fine dining! The perfect country getaway for family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tanat Hall Hotel Llansantffraid-Ym-Mechain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing