We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holiday with a difference, a cave house in a...”
other traveller has booked this property
Alfresco living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfresco living
Dining Area Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Alfresco living
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen/Diner
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Plunge pool
View of the caves from the campo
Sunset from the caves
Beautiful Views
Beautiful views
Huescar market
Huescar
Local swimming pool
Castril Gorge walk
Freila beach, Lake Negratin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castillejar, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard E
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday with a difference, a cave house in a superb location in the Granada Alto Plano.”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Located in the viilage of Los Carriones in the Granada Alto Plano. A beautiful and peaceful location. Many interesting places to visit including Lake Negratin, Castril, Galera, Huescar and Baza. Only one and half hours to Granada and the fabulous Alhambra. We spend six nights here in cave house Lince, a well appointed cave, cool and comfortable with super views. So relaxing. Our hosts Viv and Ian made us very welcome and provided good advice on where to visit in the area. It was a memerable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed it here in the Altiplano de Granada, you were great guests. We do hope you come and visit us again one day.
Thanks again
Viv, Ian and Olivia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnEpsom...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Short stay at Cuevas Lince”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Spent a few days at this wonderful cave house. Had a brilliant time. Our hosts were exceptional and made this short break seem much longer. We ordered breakfast on our first morning and we could not have wished for more food. It was delicious and well worth the money. Sad we had to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here in the Altiplano de Granada and hope you come back to visit us again the future, it was lovely meeting you.
Viv, Ian and Olivia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So good - we came back for more...”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Having visited Viv , Ian and Liv’s wonderful Cueva Geco last year, we tried out Cueva Lince this year and had a great time.

The concept is the same – cave house living in traditional cave dwellings dug into the hill side which offered very clean and cool accommodation - ~18deg C. in the bedrooms despite the temperatures hitting the 40s outside.

As with Cueva Geco, Lince was wonderfully presented with lovely clean rooms and comfy beds. The difference between Lince and Geco is that Lince has bunks in the second bedroom (not a problem for us as we were just a couple this time) compensated by having a separate lounge (Geco’s was part of the kitchen). There was a most welcome “welcome pack” left for us – a great thought since we arrived so late and didn’t have time to by the essential groceries. And with wireless and a TV available, what more could you want.

Both caves open up onto a terraced area and pool – the pool getting good use during the heat of the day and the terrace getting good use at the start of the morning before the sun swung around or late evenings when it was cool enough to venture out again.

Lots to see in the area – Castril, Galera, Huescar, Lake Negratin, etc. However as it was so hot (it was July after all) that we restricted our trips this year to early morning or just to the local pools, of which there are several nice ones nearby, particularly the one up the road at Los Olivos.

And of course, this review couldn’t be finished without saying a massive thanks to our wonderful hosts, Viv, Ian and liv, who entertained us and showed us the sites.

Looking forward to our next visit but perhaps in a cooler time of year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your great review, hope to see you again soon to savour more of what our great area has to offer, hopefully when we are not having a heat wave!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Family Break”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thank you Viv, Ian and Liv we had an amazing holiday. The accommodation is comfortable , spacious and well equipped. The location is quiet and peaceful but lots to do in local area, Granada and Vera were only a short drive away and fantastic places to take teenage children. The hosts are amazing and gave us directions and answered any queries we had about the local area. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for a lovely review, we are so glad you had a great time and experienced what the area had to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge1920
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay under Andalucian sun and stars”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a most wonderful stay in one of two cave houses (Lince) run by Viv, Ian and their daughter. The other one is called Geko (our friends stayed there for 3 nights). The house was well equipped with everything you needed for cooking if you wished so. We opted to eating out at the local restaurant (a short walk away) for few nights and for couple of evenings just had light bites outside the house under beautiful night sky. The children (and the adults) liked a well stocked honesty bar with soft drinks and chocolate bars and with selection of beer and wine.
There's also a local shop and bakery in the next village for all your essentials.
The property has a little outdoor swimming pool that the children enjoyed, there's also a lovely public pool in next village.
We slept very well, being a cave house, it was quiet and the temperature inside was just right.
The property has a very good Wi-Fi connection, it was great to be able to sit outside and check emails etc
The owners were truly very kind people, nothing we asked for was too much of trouble for them, they helped us brilliantly with planning our days out and finding local attractions. We visited stunning lakes (we all had great fun swimming in them) and beautiful villages and local towns and nice places for lunch. Altiplano de Granada area is beautiful and so peaceful.
I personally enjoyed most the quiet warm evenings/nights sitting outside under the most beautiful night sky, having a drink and chatting with my friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are really glad you enjoyed yourselves and made the most of our beautiful surroundings and hope to see you again here in The Altiplano de Granada in the future.
Thanks again Viv, Ian and Liv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, cool cave house in dramatic Andalucian scenery”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed in Cuevas Lince for the first time this week.. wonderful holiday with my family! The caves are cool and peaceful, and set into a rugged Andalucian hillside near Castillejar. The property is one of a small group of cave houses, and has a small pool, fruit trees and a great view of surrounding hills. Incredibly peaceful and relaxing.. a two minute stroll takes you away from all human habitation into the dramatic "badlands" scenery. Stunning starscapes at night; Near wonderful unspoiled villages, and breath taking vistas giving us a taste for real Spain. Book now. We have loved every second.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$75
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing