We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday and nothing is too much trouble.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berry Mill Cottages

Berry Mill Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berrynarbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berry Mill Cottages
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday and nothing is too much trouble.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in Daisy Cottage, a self contained cottage next to Berry Mill House. It was very comfortable and homely, with all the appliances you need with a young family. Jill and Gerry are very freindly and are there for every eventuality, they will help and advise you when ever you need or want it.

Room Tip: Rooms were exceptionally clean and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuddlybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Made to feel very welcome. Room clean and tidy, only one negative thing, the plumbing was a bit noisy particularly if the room next to you was also occupied but having said that it's nothing that a pair of those sponge earrplugs you can buy in Boots won't rectify!
Breakfasts very good.
Jill provides a bottle of Exmoor water and bisciuts on the courtesy tray which are replenished every day/as necessary.
Lovely soft fluffy towels provided and good quality toiletries.
Location excellent and we disagree strongly with the reviewer who said it was not that great. It's easy to get to Lynton/Lynmouth, explore Exmoor, or go other ways to Ilfracombe & Barnstaple-good panier market in Barnstaple.
We did not find the campsite an issue although admit it was a bit off putting at first sight. We did not hear any noise coming from it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 503829Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

From the minute myself and my son arrived we were made very welcome, the room was bright, clean and very peaceful. The breakfasts were fab with us having different selections each morning that we picked out. After seeing the AA dinner award displayed we tried out the evening meals and the food was to a very high standard and we can see why this award was well deserved. We will cetainly return to this perfect place asap and felt the owners really did everything they could possibly could have for us ,even offering good places for us to visit which gave us such a brillant time, we loved our time many thanks to Mr and Mrs James.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJPritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We were made to very welcome here. We had a clean and comfortable ensuite room and the breakfasts were usually very good.
The location was the thing that we were disappointed about, being adjacent to a large campsite and a 10-15 minute walk along a dark country road (no paths) to get to a pub or a shop. Privacy was also a bit of an issue as our window was very close to the road and it could be noisy at night time with people coming back to the campsite, or walking past and looking into the room.
Otherwise, as long as you are aware about the campsite, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffileld south yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

A warm welcome and stay. a peaceful and tranquil holiday spot, with loads to do in the surounding coastal areas.
Gerry and Jill will help you with almost any requests ( apart from the weather !) A very pleasant stay. We will deffinately be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehousesheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berrynarbor hotels
0.8 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.0 km away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#4 of 8 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 km away
The Lodge Country House
The Lodge Country House
#2 of 4 in Berrynarbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 4 in Berrynarbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 km away
Watermouth Cove Holiday Park
Watermouth Cove Holiday Park
#2 of 8 in Berrynarbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Mill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Mill Cottages

Property: Berry Mill Cottages
Address: Berry Mill Mill Lane, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SH, England (Formerly Berry Mill House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Berrynarbor
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jill and Gerry James take great pride in offering the highest quality accommodation where our guests can unwind and welcome you to Berry Mill, where all of our magnificent cottages are set around a 17th century mill, Cobwebs and Daisy holiday cottages are both beautifully situated in this picturesque location, within the famous and award winning village of Berrynarbor, North Devon. This location is the perfect setting for a holiday to rememberAlthough seemingly situated in a wooded area of its own, Berry Mill is very well located for access to all the adjacent attractions of the North Devon coastline, such as Lynton, Lynmouth and major surfing locations like Croyde Bay and Woolacombe.If you are looking for a luxury self catering in the adjacent holiday cottages, Berry Mill fills these requirements admirably.The Cottages are set on 2 acres of beautiful streams and picturesque woodlands. Many guests enjoy these magnificent views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing