We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
386
136
109
77
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
386
136
109
77
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewfood was amazingswimming poolsuperior roomsteam roomwedding venueexclusive userestaurant managerwedding breakfasta la carte menudaughters weddingroof terracebar menuamazing viewslounge areastaff were really friendlystunning location
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 752 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Stunning view, Excellent receptionist and staff But building works happening, bad! Narrow long corridors,Unable to pass others with luggage. Steep stairs. Very hot room with minimal ventilation. Cold breakfast, Dinner bed and breakfast limited, £27.00 allowance,this means your lucky to get two courses without paying extra . Weird ground layout,You have to walk through restaurant to get to bar and pool table. Beautiful decor.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ted576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

This was our second visit & we went to a friend’s wedding here & stayed for 2 nights. This was probably the best wedding we have ever been to & it was so lovely that lots of the wedding party were able to stay in the hotel. Food was exceptional & the wedding was very professionally run, staff couldn’t do enough to help & the tables looked beautiful. The setting here is superb for a wedding, really amazing photos with the backdrop of the sea. We will be going back again in the autumn.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank kevinmatthews8678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

On arrival my wife and I were initially very impressed with the hotels location and prominent position over-looking Combe Martin bay. At the time of our stay construction works were taking place which we understand is to be a new wedding venue, but this did not really spoil our view and was not an inconvenience.

We stayed in the Superior sea view room with balcony, which had a great position, however was a bit of a trek to get to from the reception. The room was comfortable and clean, however not spotless. We thought the balcony basket, which included a pair of binoculars and two blankets, were a great idea.

We used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room, which were both clean and great to use. However, there were no lockers available.

Our evening meal was booked for 7pm, however we were not greeted upon our entry to the restaurant, which was unprofessional. We were seen shortly after standing at the bar area and seated next to the window looking out to the bay. This is when we noticed how filthy the windows were. I can understand the construction works, the off peak time of year and the winter weather all being factors, but they should not be this dirty. After all, you are paying to have a sea view.

The food was good but not exceptional. We both ordered the fillet steak which was great, however the chips were awful. Over-cooked and far too greasy which really let the meal down. We also noticed some of the glassware appeared to be dirty.

Only one member of staff was serving, and although there were only a handful of tables to deal with, this was clearly too much as they were running about the restaurant. We could also hear comments being made towards the kitchen staff. This is clearly unacceptable and unprofessional.

The following morning at breakfast, again only one member of staff. Overall, breakfast was very average. There were no pastries and limited fruit.

The staff were pleasant, but did not appear to be happy to help. Not once were we asked how our food, room or our stay was.

Overall, this hotel has massive potential. There is certainly room for many improvements. The management are obviously spending good time and money here so hopefully this will improve the quality of future stays.

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Have stayed at this hotel several times but it was 5 years since our last stay & they have made some amazing improvements. Food was even better than we remembered & staff all very friendly. A good value stay & we will be going back again in the summer.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank carolkeating2543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

When we arrived at the hotel we were concerned as we saw scaffolding & building work lower down in the grounds. We did ask at reception & they explained that they are building a wedding venue but this actually didn't affect our stay in the end as they finished work by 4.00. Our bedroom was superb & we couldn't believe the views from the window. The staff were very friendly especially Shaun the restaurant manager who made us feel very welcome & couldn't do enough to help us. The food was amazing, it was one of the best we have ever had in a hotel. We enjoyed using the swimming pool & there were only 4 of us using it which was lovely, the relaxation loungers were a lovely touch. We would highly recommend this hotel, excellent value & a wonderful relaxing stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kw1966251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews