We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Angel Inn(Stoke by Nayland)(Great Value!)
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poplars Farmhouse B&B(Stoke by Nayland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
385
120
44
25
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
120
44
25
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwell stocked mini barsteakhaddockan extensive wine listunderfloor heatingwalk in showerby the glassfirst classboutique hotelbooked a tablecooked to perfectionexcellent foodconstable countrytwo coursesgreat mealsaturday evening
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 577 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The very first impression we had when we arrived was how friendly and helpful the receptionist was and from then on everything matched this first impression. We could not fault anything. Having had such a great weekend, inspite of the awful weather, we are now looking for something similar in another part of the country but are having trouble finding anything that matches the Crown so expect us back in the not too distant future. We must add that this is the first time a breakfast has even beaten us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EssexJohnnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We wanted a relaxing spot away from the hustle and bustle of London, and The Crown fitted the bill perfectly.

The room was well appointed, comfy and quiet. The staff made us feel very welcome and the food was great. There was a really good (and delicious) selection at breakfast.

There was a slight confusion over whether dinner, bed and breakfast included 2 or 3 courses, but it's a small point. We enjoyed our 2 courses.

Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We chose the Crown because we have eaten there before and thought it would be a great place to stay - which it was. But spoilt by an inadequate hot water supply. The hot water ran out halfway through running a bath after along country walk about 6pm on Saturday. Then when we got up on Sunday morning there was no hot water at all! We boiled the kettle to have enough to wash before going to breakfast.
Staff were unsympathetic and kept repeating that no-one else had a problem (presumably because they had used all the water!). Though we did overhear someone near us at breakfast bemoaning not being able to wash her hair. We got a small discount but only by pushing - generally were made to feel we should not have been complaining. BE WARNED if you stay here get up early if you want a shower or bath. Lovely bathrooms but system is not big enough to cope with demand.
Food and wine excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2011

I am very sorry to have read your review on tripadvisor, especially as I understood that my team had gone out of there way to rectify the problem which undoubtedly there was - hence why you were given significant compensation towards your night at the Crown for which your husband seemed more than happy with at the time. Obviuosly it is clear you were not happy with this which is a great shame as we never want our customers to feel they have not been listened too.
We are always striving for excellence, but alas if one's equipment does not function as it should, we are sometimes left a bit helpless. Once the problem had been identified, which was pretty immediate, you will be pleased to learn that hot water was restored.
Once again I am very sorry that you felt you were not listened too and that you did not receive the desired compensation. I am delighted that you thought the rooms were very special, and the food and wine was excellent. Once again many apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I spend 1 to 2 nights each week in hotels around the country. The Crown is the best I have come across in the last 10 years and I will be back.
The accomodation is roomy and very comfortable. Food is excellent, as is the beer (ales). Staff are attentive and helpful without being over the top.
All in all - highly recomended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Many thanks for your comments we are always striving for consistency therefore always welcome to see that this is paying off. Hoefully we will see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I have nothing but good things to say about our two days at The Crown. The hotel was brilliant with everything we needed for a comfy stay. From the outset the staff were welcoming and helpful and this continued throughout. Our meals were excellent both nights and the atmosphere was relaxing and laid back. Breakfasts were wonderful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiffordB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

How lovely to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews