We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base from which to tour the region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at The Crown for a weekend when visiting Suffolk and where delighted with our choice, it was a wonderful base from which to tour the area. The room was bright and welcoming as were the staff on reception,they made sure that we had everything that we required. We ate in the restaurant twice and were impressed by the quality of the food, and the choice of wines on offer.We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcestershireNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

The very first impression we had when we arrived was how friendly and helpful the receptionist was and from then on everything matched this first impression. We could not fault anything. Having had such a great weekend, inspite of the awful weather, we are now looking for something similar in another part of the country but are having trouble finding anything that matches the Crown so expect us back in the not too distant future. We must add that this is the first time a breakfast has even beaten us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EssexJohnnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We wanted a relaxing spot away from the hustle and bustle of London, and The Crown fitted the bill perfectly.

The room was well appointed, comfy and quiet. The staff made us feel very welcome and the food was great. There was a really good (and delicious) selection at breakfast.

There was a slight confusion over whether dinner, bed and breakfast included 2 or 3 courses, but it's a small point. We enjoyed our 2 courses.

Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We chose the Crown because we have eaten there before and thought it would be a great place to stay - which it was. But spoilt by an inadequate hot water supply. The hot water ran out halfway through running a bath after along country walk about 6pm on Saturday. Then when we got up on Sunday morning there was no hot water at all! We boiled the kettle to have enough to wash before going to breakfast.
Staff were unsympathetic and kept repeating that no-one else had a problem (presumably because they had used all the water!). Though we did overhear someone near us at breakfast bemoaning not being able to wash her hair. We got a small discount but only by pushing - generally were made to feel we should not have been complaining. BE WARNED if you stay here get up early if you want a shower or bath. Lovely bathrooms but system is not big enough to cope with demand.
Food and wine excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

I am very sorry to have read your review on tripadvisor, especially as I understood that my team had gone out of there way to rectify the problem which undoubtedly there was - hence why you were given significant compensation towards your night at the Crown for which your husband seemed more than happy with at the time. Obviuosly it is clear you were not happy with this which is a great shame as we never want our customers to feel they have not been listened too.
We are always striving for excellence, but alas if one's equipment does not function as it should, we are sometimes left a bit helpless. Once the problem had been identified, which was pretty immediate, you will be pleased to learn that hot water was restored.
Once again I am very sorry that you felt you were not listened too and that you did not receive the desired compensation. I am delighted that you thought the rooms were very special, and the food and wine was excellent. Once again many apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I spend 1 to 2 nights each week in hotels around the country. The Crown is the best I have come across in the last 10 years and I will be back.
The accomodation is roomy and very comfortable. Food is excellent, as is the beer (ales). Staff are attentive and helpful without being over the top.
All in all - highly recomended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Many thanks for your comments we are always striving for consistency therefore always welcome to see that this is paying off. Hoefully we will see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I have nothing but good things to say about our two days at The Crown. The hotel was brilliant with everything we needed for a comfy stay. From the outset the staff were welcoming and helpful and this continued throughout. Our meals were excellent both nights and the atmosphere was relaxing and laid back. Breakfasts were wonderful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiffordB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

How lovely to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed here on a sunday night DBB rate which was a really good price. A very good receptionist who made us feel welcome. Superior room which was tasteful had great furnishings and all the techno gadgets plus a beautiful modern bathroom. Room overlooked fields and you could open doors and sit outside. A very good dinner for the price with a great choice of menu - good portions. Wine priced from reasonable to very dear. Breakfasts huge and freshly cooked and varied. Pancakes, fruit, fresh pastries and of course full english. Woman next door played music a bit loud so the hotel might want to look at further sound proofing as there is always someone who has forgotten they are other guests in a hotel!! Will be back

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Many thanks for your feedback and glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Naturally I was concerned to hear about the noise element but having done my research and of no consolation to you we had other issues with this couple. On the sound proofing front there is not a lot else we can or could have done as all the walls have actually been sound proofed more than they should have been before breaking fire regulations, and we have never had an issue since being open which probably highlights how loud they must have been playing their music! Hopefully next time you come and stay you will experience the normal rather than abnormal. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
14.8 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
19.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.2 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
221 reviews
12.1 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,058 reviews
6.9 km away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Address: Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range: $179 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown, Stoke By Nayland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown, Stoke By Nayland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Stoke By Nayland Hotel Stoke By Nayland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing