We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Angel Inn(Stoke by Nayland)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$181
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$57
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poplars Farmhouse B&B(Stoke by Nayland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
380
119
44
25
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
119
44
25
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteakwell stocked mini barhaddockan extensive wine listwalk in showerby the glassunderfloor heatingboutique hotelbooked a tablegreat mealcooked to perfectionexcellent foodtwo coursesconstable countrypoached eggssaturday evening
Filter
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 571 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at The Crown for a one night escape and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are in a separate building with a dedicated concierge service so this is definitely more than a 'pub with rooms'. The room - on the first floor - was light and airy and perfectly adequate. More chintzy than the ground floor rooms but thankfully without a surfeit of overstuffed cushions! Bathrooms are splendid and modern though with a tendency to form over function. The bath is a bit of a clamber. Hooray for big fluffy towels!

Dinner was excellent and prices extremely reasonable (there's probably nothing in it between taking DBB and BB - and paying for dinner separately). The dining areas were buzzing despite it being midweek. We liked the atmosphere. There's a sense of space and you can hear yourselves speak! The only downside was being seated right by the kitchens. Apparently (they said) some diners like to watch the bustle beneath the strip lights! We asked to be moved and had a lovely view over the pretty terrace and the countryside. Much more relaxing! Dishes are based on good quality ingredients, unfussy and very well presented. Lots of great fish.

Breakfast was superb and clearly not a culinary afterthought. The choice was excellent and once again everything was beautifully presented. Interestingly although we were the only guests from the hotel at that time the place was far from empty with groups of what appeared to be 'ladies who breakfast'.

If the 'country house' hotel isn't your thing and you want something fresher and more informal then The Crown might just be the place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed at The Crown for a weekend when visiting Suffolk and where delighted with our choice, it was a wonderful base from which to tour the area. The room was bright and welcoming as were the staff on reception,they made sure that we had everything that we required. We ate in the restaurant twice and were impressed by the quality of the food, and the choice of wines on offer.We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcestershireNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The very first impression we had when we arrived was how friendly and helpful the receptionist was and from then on everything matched this first impression. We could not fault anything. Having had such a great weekend, inspite of the awful weather, we are now looking for something similar in another part of the country but are having trouble finding anything that matches the Crown so expect us back in the not too distant future. We must add that this is the first time a breakfast has even beaten us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EssexJohnnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We wanted a relaxing spot away from the hustle and bustle of London, and The Crown fitted the bill perfectly.

The room was well appointed, comfy and quiet. The staff made us feel very welcome and the food was great. There was a really good (and delicious) selection at breakfast.

There was a slight confusion over whether dinner, bed and breakfast included 2 or 3 courses, but it's a small point. We enjoyed our 2 courses.

Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We chose the Crown because we have eaten there before and thought it would be a great place to stay - which it was. But spoilt by an inadequate hot water supply. The hot water ran out halfway through running a bath after along country walk about 6pm on Saturday. Then when we got up on Sunday morning there was no hot water at all! We boiled the kettle to have enough to wash before going to breakfast.
Staff were unsympathetic and kept repeating that no-one else had a problem (presumably because they had used all the water!). Though we did overhear someone near us at breakfast bemoaning not being able to wash her hair. We got a small discount but only by pushing - generally were made to feel we should not have been complaining. BE WARNED if you stay here get up early if you want a shower or bath. Lovely bathrooms but system is not big enough to cope with demand.
Food and wine excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2011

I am very sorry to have read your review on tripadvisor, especially as I understood that my team had gone out of there way to rectify the problem which undoubtedly there was - hence why you were given significant compensation towards your night at the Crown for which your husband seemed more than happy with at the time. Obviuosly it is clear you were not happy with this which is a great shame as we never want our customers to feel they have not been listened too.
We are always striving for excellence, but alas if one's equipment does not function as it should, we are sometimes left a bit helpless. Once the problem had been identified, which was pretty immediate, you will be pleased to learn that hot water was restored.
Once again I am very sorry that you felt you were not listened too and that you did not receive the desired compensation. I am delighted that you thought the rooms were very special, and the food and wine was excellent. Once again many apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews