We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pub stay in Suffolk (and possibly England!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Having stayed in a number of pubs over the years recommended by Trip Advisor reviewers and been disappointed with the experience, it was with trepidation that we booked and headed towards the Crown in Stoke By Nayland.
But there was absolutely nothing to worry about. This is a first class pub with very high standards of accommodation
The accommodation is in a separate building to the pub. In fact it's like a small hotel in it's own right. We did choose the best room - the executive room - but if you can afford to, I would strongly recommend it as it is the biggest pub room my wife and I have ever experienced. A massive bathroom - bath and walk-in shower. Then there's the very well stocked mini-bar, the very comfortable sofa and chair, the small patio outside with a table, and 2 chairs with lovely views over the Suffolk countryside - it really is hard to believe that your staying in a pub!
And then there is the pub itself. Very good selection of good beers (I'm very fussy with beer selections so hats off to the landlord for stocking local beers - too many pubs don't seem to support their local breweries these days). The wine list is extensive - moderately priced wine from various countries through to very expensive wines for that special occassion. And there's good descriptions of each wine as well. Then there's the food - a very good selection for all courses + a specials board. We stayed 2 nights and had 2 lovely evening meals. As for breakfast - I've stayed in hotels where trip advisors have raved about the breakfast and yet what we've experienced has been average. I can honestly say you are spoilt for choice at this pub. Obviously there's the full english which you'd expect (and is very nice too). But there's also a 3 egg omelette with a choice of 2 fillings (also strongly recommended), eggs florentine, eggs benedict, scrambled egg with salmon, bubble & squeak (!) - I could go on! And freshly squeezed orange juice.
And the service is top rate as well - plenty of people serving and all very pleasant with it.
So any negatives? I feel I have to mention something otherwise readers of this review will think I own shares in the place - so I'd say the temperature in the pub was very hot in the evening (yes I know it was August and yes you could eat outside as well) but some air conditioning inside would have been nice (or is it just a man thing?) and the pillows on the bed were slightly too small for the size of the bed (I did say I had to think of something negative!).
So in summary, we had a fabulous time at this pub, and I haven't even mentioned the evening turn down service, the quietness and beauty of the location, the fresh milk for your morning cup of tea in your room, the complimentary water, the TV + DVD player, the many magazines left for you to read - I'll stop there. Top Pub.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the Executive rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJMcQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Many thanks for your comments always welcome and has given all my colleagues a great lift during the busy Summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

We had a long weekend at the Crown last week and it was perfect. Absolutely every member of staff we had any dealings with were friendly, professional and helpful. Nothing seemed to much trouble-whilst at the same time being informal. Lots of local information on hand for sightseeing etc too.
The rooms are new, large, very tastefully decorated and have everything that you could need. THe restaurant menu is vaired and imaginative-and executed very well too. A great selection of wine.Alhtough close to the restaraunt/pub it was also very quiet-just a few bleating sheep in a nearby pasture.
Location-ideal for walking and cycling with easy access to beautiful villages and not too far for a day on the coast.
We shall certainly return.Thankyou to the team at teh Crown.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Really lovely comments, I can't thank you enough as it gives all the team a great boost that their hard work is truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is in a great spot and the reception staff couldn't be more helpful, even allowing us to park my car directly outside the reception area so it could be seen at all times. The rooms are a great size with all you could need and the breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice.
The food at the restaurant was very nice but the service is 'relaxed' to say the least. That's not to say the staff are not friendly because they are, they could possibly do with more training to get them up to the standard of the food.
Overall though, I would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Pre-arrival, welcome, service and food all excellent. Very warm and welcoming and would definitely stay again. Room 210 was spotlessly clean with a lovely outlook. The hotel is in a lovely, serene spot, perfect for sipping pimms and enjoying the delicious food on offer. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadgetgirlno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel is in a fantastic location in the Suffolk country side ideal for exploring the area. On arriving I asked if there was anywhere I could park my car other than the car park as it is quite wide and attracts a fair bit of attention. I was immediately allowed to leave it outside reception where it could be observed at all times which was massively appreciated. We ate at the hotel restaurant the first night and although the food was excellent the service was somewhat 'relaxed' to say the least. Everyone was friendly and polite but the service does not match the rest of the hotel, so much so that we couldn't even get someone's attention to leave a tip!
On the flip side the accommodation staff were some of the best I have come across and nothing was any trouble, even finding me a bar which was showing the football! The breakfast was outstanding with a mass of choices. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrellLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at The Crown for a one night escape and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are in a separate building with a dedicated concierge service so this is definitely more than a 'pub with rooms'. The room - on the first floor - was light and airy and perfectly adequate. More chintzy than the ground floor rooms but thankfully without a surfeit of overstuffed cushions! Bathrooms are splendid and modern though with a tendency to form over function. The bath is a bit of a clamber. Hooray for big fluffy towels!

Dinner was excellent and prices extremely reasonable (there's probably nothing in it between taking DBB and BB - and paying for dinner separately). The dining areas were buzzing despite it being midweek. We liked the atmosphere. There's a sense of space and you can hear yourselves speak! The only downside was being seated right by the kitchens. Apparently (they said) some diners like to watch the bustle beneath the strip lights! We asked to be moved and had a lovely view over the pretty terrace and the countryside. Much more relaxing! Dishes are based on good quality ingredients, unfussy and very well presented. Lots of great fish.

Breakfast was superb and clearly not a culinary afterthought. The choice was excellent and once again everything was beautifully presented. Interestingly although we were the only guests from the hotel at that time the place was far from empty with groups of what appeared to be 'ladies who breakfast'.

If the 'country house' hotel isn't your thing and you want something fresher and more informal then The Crown might just be the place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at The Crown for a weekend when visiting Suffolk and where delighted with our choice, it was a wonderful base from which to tour the area. The room was bright and welcoming as were the staff on reception,they made sure that we had everything that we required. We ate in the restaurant twice and were impressed by the quality of the food, and the choice of wines on offer.We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcestershireNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
2.2 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.8 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
19.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
13.0 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,150 reviews
13.5 km away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Address: Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range: $195 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown, Stoke By Nayland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown, Stoke By Nayland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Stoke By Nayland Hotel Stoke By Nayland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing