We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
391
121
44
25
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
121
44
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwell stocked mini barsteakhaddockan extensive wine listunderfloor heatingby the glasswalk in showerboutique hotelfirst classbooked a tableexcellent foodcooked to perfectiongreat mealtwo coursesconstable countrypoached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 586 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a long weekend at the Crown last week and it was perfect. Absolutely every member of staff we had any dealings with were friendly, professional and helpful. Nothing seemed to much trouble-whilst at the same time being informal. Lots of local information on hand for sightseeing etc too.
The rooms are new, large, very tastefully decorated and have everything that you could need. THe restaurant menu is vaired and imaginative-and executed very well too. A great selection of wine.Alhtough close to the restaraunt/pub it was also very quiet-just a few bleating sheep in a nearby pasture.
Location-ideal for walking and cycling with easy access to beautiful villages and not too far for a day on the coast.
We shall certainly return.Thankyou to the team at teh Crown.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Really lovely comments, I can't thank you enough as it gives all the team a great boost that their hard work is truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is in a great spot and the reception staff couldn't be more helpful, even allowing us to park my car directly outside the reception area so it could be seen at all times. The rooms are a great size with all you could need and the breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice.
The food at the restaurant was very nice but the service is 'relaxed' to say the least. That's not to say the staff are not friendly because they are, they could possibly do with more training to get them up to the standard of the food.
Overall though, I would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Pre-arrival, welcome, service and food all excellent. Very warm and welcoming and would definitely stay again. Room 210 was spotlessly clean with a lovely outlook. The hotel is in a lovely, serene spot, perfect for sipping pimms and enjoying the delicious food on offer. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadgetgirlno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel is in a fantastic location in the Suffolk country side ideal for exploring the area. On arriving I asked if there was anywhere I could park my car other than the car park as it is quite wide and attracts a fair bit of attention. I was immediately allowed to leave it outside reception where it could be observed at all times which was massively appreciated. We ate at the hotel restaurant the first night and although the food was excellent the service was somewhat 'relaxed' to say the least. Everyone was friendly and polite but the service does not match the rest of the hotel, so much so that we couldn't even get someone's attention to leave a tip!
On the flip side the accommodation staff were some of the best I have come across and nothing was any trouble, even finding me a bar which was showing the football! The breakfast was outstanding with a mass of choices. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrellLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at The Crown for a one night escape and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are in a separate building with a dedicated concierge service so this is definitely more than a 'pub with rooms'. The room - on the first floor - was light and airy and perfectly adequate. More chintzy than the ground floor rooms but thankfully without a surfeit of overstuffed cushions! Bathrooms are splendid and modern though with a tendency to form over function. The bath is a bit of a clamber. Hooray for big fluffy towels!

Dinner was excellent and prices extremely reasonable (there's probably nothing in it between taking DBB and BB - and paying for dinner separately). The dining areas were buzzing despite it being midweek. We liked the atmosphere. There's a sense of space and you can hear yourselves speak! The only downside was being seated right by the kitchens. Apparently (they said) some diners like to watch the bustle beneath the strip lights! We asked to be moved and had a lovely view over the pretty terrace and the countryside. Much more relaxing! Dishes are based on good quality ingredients, unfussy and very well presented. Lots of great fish.

Breakfast was superb and clearly not a culinary afterthought. The choice was excellent and once again everything was beautifully presented. Interestingly although we were the only guests from the hotel at that time the place was far from empty with groups of what appeared to be 'ladies who breakfast'.

If the 'country house' hotel isn't your thing and you want something fresher and more informal then The Crown might just be the place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews