We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to eat like a king and enjoy the countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here for a weekend away, eating in the (very busy) restaurant on the Saturday night. Comfortable rooms, fantatstic and attentive service, wonderful food- no complaints at all! We'll stay again, definitely!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room, which was perfect. We also had one night Dinner thrown in too, along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Receiving comments like this means a great deal to the fantastic team I am privileged to work with at the Crown Stoke by Nayland. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

we stayed here for our 9th wedding anniversary, after hearing friends talk about this little boutique hotel.
we stayed in the exec suite (107) an absolute must, a beautiful room with all mod cons.
Fabulous white company towels, great robes, toiletries and an amazingly spick and span bathroom
Drapes and bedding beautiful, furniture great.
Mini bar and tea & coffee facilities in the room brilliant.
The dinner was amazing, a great menu for the food and a great wine menu too.
the staff were more than attentive, polite, professional and friendly.
the surrounding areas were lovely and quaint.

we definitely would recommend The Crown

Thank you for a lovely break :D xx

Room Tip: book room 107 the exec suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havepassportwilltvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Many thanks for your comments always gratefully received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A liitle gem in the countryside.
We stayed there for 2 nights this week in their best room (107) and enjoyed the personal touch from the staff.
The resturant food was was to die for and beautifully cooked - we complement the chef.
Overall a quality break in a quality place

Room Tip: our room and some other rooms have their own patios with a table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great "inn with rooms". The rooms are on a separate block so no noise from the pub/restaurant area. We stayed in room 108 which is one of the cheaper rooms (the disabled room) which was spacious and had a nice power and rain shower.

Service was excellent on check in and room service sandwiches was pretty moderately priced as are the mini bar items (not extortionate like some hotels).

The food at the restaurant was excellent with a great choice of fresh fish specials and the regular menu. The wine list was extensive and a good selection of ales and beers.

Altogether a great stay and we will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Many thanks for your comments - look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Richard Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Honestly, one of the best gastro pubs I've eaten in - just superb...

Accommodation is excellent; all new...

Owner couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.

I would HIGHLY recommend The Crown and look forward to visiting again sometime...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

And we look forward to welcoming you back as well - many thanks Richard Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Highly recommend having a meal at this fab place. The menu is limited at times if you have children, but for a romantic meal for two or with friends this is definitely worth a trip. The blackboard details a selection of seasonal specials, locally sourced, with things like beer battered haddock and chips, crabcakes or razor clams in hazelnut butter for the more adventurous. They do a mean steak but there are more seafood choices than anything else. The desserts are special if you like a treat. The bakewell tart looked and tasted amazing. Service was great, the facilities nice and clean, draught bitter selection pleased the guys. It has a lovely garden on a summers day and cosy log fires in the winter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lisacakesgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

It will soon be time for the log fire to be lit - many thanks for your lovely comments Richard Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Excellent, occassionally slow at the bar or restaurant. Hotel is exceptional. Relaxed atmosphere and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Apart from the occasional slow service at the bar because we do get very busy, I was delighted to learn at how impressed you were! Many thanks Richard Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
14.8 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
19.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.2 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
221 reviews
12.1 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,058 reviews
6.9 km away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Address: Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range: $178 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown, Stoke By Nayland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown, Stoke By Nayland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Stoke By Nayland Hotel Stoke By Nayland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing