We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely country pub that has excellent accommodation in a seperate new building. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed, offering all you need from super powerful showers to tea making facilities and well stocked mini bar. The staff are all polite and very helpful with nothing too much trouble. The restaurant is relaxed and informal serving great food and there is an extensive patio area for warmer days and evenings. Our room was on the ground floor with lovely views, so we were able to take advantage of the warm evenings to sit out and enjoy the peace and quiet. We have left feeling relaxed and refreshed and looking forward to a return visit in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Not busy on a sunny evening though car park almost full!

Had good choice of table. Staff friendly but shaky serving skills and product knowledge could be better.

Food good but not brilliant. Presentation ok. Just a bit too expensive for what they deliver.

It tries to be very good but misses the mark.

That said it is pleasant enough. However so is the competition who offer better value.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Downsouth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

After hearing good things my wife and two young daughters visited here for Sunday Roast.

Fortunately we asked on the phone about high chairs - they don't have any. We had to bring our own. Not a good start on the family friendly front.

Service was ok. We were served drinks near the bar while we were waiting for our table to become available as we were early. We were not offered menus to look at - I had to ask - and I had to go and find somebody when our reservation time came around to get seated.

My vegetarian wife was disappointed to find out there were no veggie roast options. There were a few veggie options on the menu - they sounded pleasant enough but they all contained cheese which means hard luck if you don't like cheese, like my wife, or are vegan. But it was a Sunday and we'd come out for a roast dinner. Is it really too much to ask for restaurants to have a veggie roast option? Most manage. Keep some nut roast on standby or something or use your imagination and offer a meat alternative.

I had the warm artichoke salad to start which was accompanied by a very nice crispy poached egg and pesto but completely let down by the star of the show - the artichoke was either poorly prepared or poorly cooked (the former I suspect) and much of it was inedible. My wife had the spicy hummus which she says was nice.

For mains, I had the roast beef and my wife had the same with the beef and gravy removed with extra veg and roast potatoes. No gravy for her as they only had beef gravy. The roast was mostly very good - the beef was excellent. My only complaint was the strange horseradish cream which I kid you not, appeared to be squirty dessert cream with horseradish stirred through it. It promptly melted into a puddle on my plate.

My daughter's sausage and mash tasted nice but for £7.50, a dollop of mash potato and a single sausage with a small serving of gravy and no vegetables at all was stingy in the extreme.

Dessert was nice. My wife enjoyed her chocolate ganache. My "pavlova" was also nice but there was hardly enough cream for it to be considered pavlova. It was a large baked meringue with fruit and a tiny dollop of cream on top.

The final sting in the tail was finding the restaurant had charged us the full price for my wife's not roast beef dinner - that's £18.95 for a Yorkshire pudding, three roast potatoes and vegetables with no gravy - AND charged us another £3 for the extra potatoes and veg. I had them remove this from the bill but to be honest I still felt cheated. They could have brought the beef out on my plate if they were going to charge full price.

All in all, the meal was ok, but ultimately overpriced and disappointing. We will not be returning - there are plenty of pubs around here that do much better roasts for much cheaper prices that cater better for families and vegetarians. Avoid this one.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Imagine a small village 50 years ago but with modern amenities an idyllic location, quiet, and beautiful.
The Crown has it all, beautiful rooms, a nice restaurant and good beer and wines.
Staff were very accommodating and were there for your every need.
A walk round this village ancient village and exploring the church was lovely.

Room Tip: ask for a description of the various rooms on offer.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Smashy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely evening here with friends tonight. Been here many times and never had a bad meal. The scenery is beautiful, staff friendly and efficient; food delicious.
I started with the chicken and veg broth which was served with soft, fresh bread and followed it with the chicken and frites. I was unable to manage a dessert but this restaurant does the option of a small sweet choice with a hot drink, to end your meal. Brilliant to have the option of a small sweet taster without needing to order a full dessert

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindaadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Went to a Golden Wedding lunch in the restaurant at the hotel.

The table was unfortunately next to the room used by patrons with dogs and during our meal the dogs started barking so my Brother in Law made comments to the staff but nothing was done other than closing the door to the room.

After the meal myself & my wife booked into the hotel for bed & breakfast.

The room was on the ground floor number 103 which was very comfortably but I felt that it could possibly not be secure as there is a window which can be assessed easily from outside.

Other than this the room was very good & well equiped even with an iron & ironing board.

Breakfast in the restaurant in the morning was good but the fried eggs were overdone with 'frilly edges'.

I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pegleg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Really good place. We had a wedding locally so stayed at The Crown. Really excellent and good sized rooms. Fantastic food and make sure you book the restaurant as it does get busy.It's a lovely village and a good base to tour Suffolk

Room Tip: good location to tour Suffolk. Also a charming place Stoke by Nayland
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
2.2 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.8 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
19.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
13.0 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,150 reviews
13.5 km away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Address: Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range: $198 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown, Stoke By Nayland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown, Stoke By Nayland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Stoke By Nayland Hotel Stoke By Nayland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing