We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
391
121
44
25
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
121
44
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwell stocked mini barsteakhaddockan extensive wine listunderfloor heatingby the glassfresh milkwalk in showerfirst classbooked a tableexcellent foodcooked to perfectiongreat mealtwo coursesconstable countrypoached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 586 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I have nothing but good things to say about our two days at The Crown. The hotel was brilliant with everything we needed for a comfy stay. From the outset the staff were welcoming and helpful and this continued throughout. Our meals were excellent both nights and the atmosphere was relaxing and laid back. Breakfasts were wonderful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiffordB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

How lovely to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed here on a sunday night DBB rate which was a really good price. A very good receptionist who made us feel welcome. Superior room which was tasteful had great furnishings and all the techno gadgets plus a beautiful modern bathroom. Room overlooked fields and you could open doors and sit outside. A very good dinner for the price with a great choice of menu - good portions. Wine priced from reasonable to very dear. Breakfasts huge and freshly cooked and varied. Pancakes, fruit, fresh pastries and of course full english. Woman next door played music a bit loud so the hotel might want to look at further sound proofing as there is always someone who has forgotten they are other guests in a hotel!! Will be back

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMSunderland, Owner at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Many thanks for your feedback and glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Naturally I was concerned to hear about the noise element but having done my research and of no consolation to you we had other issues with this couple. On the sound proofing front there is not a lot else we can or could have done as all the walls have actually been sound proofed more than they should have been before breaking fire regulations, and we have never had an issue since being open which probably highlights how loud they must have been playing their music! Hopefully next time you come and stay you will experience the normal rather than abnormal. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Another fantastic overnight stay at The Crown. As it was my birthday I was treated to the Executive room number 107, a huge room with a super king size bed, love seat, and patio doors leading out to uninterrupted views over the rolling Suffolk countryside, unfortunately the rain prevented us from taking advantage of the chairs on the small patio outside our room. Bathroom was one of the largest I've seen, walk in shower, plus separate bath with pull out shower. Facilities are excellent and the mini bar is at bar prices rather than the inflated prices that hotels generally charge! We had booked for dinner, I recommend that you book, even on a Tuesday night it was quite busy. Food is excellent, my tomato salad had 5 different coloured tomatoes! Comprehensive wine list, plus there is a wine shop where you can buy wine, within the restaurant. I would consider it value for money, Starters around the £5-£7, with most mains around the £15 mark. Lots of fish specials too. Breakfast is wonderful, one of the best I've had. Staff are very pleasant and polite and not at all intrusive. I would highly recommend and there is an excellent deal at the moment where you can have dinner, bed & breakfast for £130 on a sunday night. Hands down the best place in the area and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flightybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We loved this hotel which has recently been added on to the pub. Both are attractively furnished in a contemporary style with a pretty heated garden/terrace area outside. The welcome was warm and friendly and room stylish and comfortable. Fresh milk offered for our room which is always appreciated. The breakfasts were probably the best we have enjoyed and we have enjoyed quite a few! Very generous, appealing choice and well cooked. We had an excellent dinner on both nights in the restaurant which we thought good value. It was very busy in the evening and service could be a little slow at times as it is obviously extremely popular. Would definately go again and would not hesitate to recommend as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2010

For starters the restaurant. Staff are welcoming, professional and in abundance.The atmosphereis very relaxing. A mix of people, some with families some not. The design inside is so well thought out the noise is managed carefully. Their are intimate areas and larger areas for groups. The food was gorgeous, the wine selection amazing and the plates were hot! The hotel, which is quietly tucked away is luxurious. It's like staying in a 5* hotel in London but with the advantage of location and peace. Staff, like the restaurant are very friendly. A must if you you want a special break or a meal with friends. The whole design and ambiance have clearly been well thought out. Whoever owns this is sitting on a gold mine. I don't normally write on these sites but felt I had to in view of our experience. Wow!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews