We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had an enjoyable trip !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Resort at Cypress Hills
Ranked #1 of 3 Maple Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Had an enjoyable trip !”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We first came to this resort in Cypress Hills during the July long weekend but they were booked full. We ended up staying in Med Hat for our hotel sleep and driving 1.5 hours back to Cypress to enjoy a full day at the park.
Next time we booked ahead and only got the hotel room in the main hotel resort and not a condo style one. We booked the hotel for 3 nights during the Sept labor day weekend, and it was quite nice. Only thing was we wish we could have had a small fridge for our room so we could at least keep a few things cold. But we did bring our own cooler so that was ok.
The dining room was very nice, a bit on the pricey side, but the food was good and the servers we had were so nice and friendly. They always came by and chatted with us and made sure we always got water on the spot or anything we wanted. Great waitresses working there. Very friendly and hard workers !
We had a great time at the park and enjoyed the facilities. Also the little ice cream shop made great shakes and ice creams and always had a line up for their goodies.
The lake was nice and you could walk all around it , use the kayaks, paddle boats and the small beach there. They had volleyball nets and a couple of barbeque stands with picnic tables close to the lake. Probably could use a few more since I think I only saw 2 there and one of them had the bottom rusted through. There was a big outdoor pool and kids could swim outdoors every day when its hot out and an indoor hot tub too.
They had the zip lines going but we were not into that so passed on that option.
We enjoyed the walks, the relaxation of the lake and there was a mini golf park with a great little hamburger stand next to it. They even have large teepees that I think you can also rent to camp in during the summer.
My brother ended up taking his family and kids there too for a couple days and they enjoyed it as well. I will come back for sure since its only 4.5 hours from Calgary and I will have to make sure to get the condo apartments to rent since you can then bring your own food and cook while on holidays. It gets expensive eating there if you have a big family.
Great resort and nice hotel - we will come back again since its only a short drive from Calgary !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
29
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My wife and I went to the Cypress Hill resort over the August long weekend. When we arrived we were surprised at how run down the place was. The decor in the lobby looked like they hadn't been updated since the 80s. The hotel room we stayed at was sub par too. The lino floor in the bathroom was cracked and clearly showed that the toilet had been leaking for some time. The AC unit looked to be from the 70s and was super loud. The "wi fi" they claimed to have was useless.. you might get a connection for two minutes if you were lucky. This place is totally over-priced for what you get. In addition, the restaurant's food is very basic and the service is slow. Not recommended.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ-Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Cypress Hills, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
I would like to thank the customer for taking the time to give us this very valuable feedback. The Guest Services Manager and I both review all comments made by all of our clients as It is our goal to respond positively to any and all comments and feedback.
My apologizes for your disappointing experience. I am confident that your next visit to us will be much more to your satisfaction.
Renovations to the Hotel began in March of 2011. Unfortunately we were not able to complete all of the upgrades before the Summer season. We were however able to replace all beds, bedding, heating/cooling units and furniture in all hotel rooms by June 2011. The rest of the rooms will be completed by November of 2011.
Overall improvements and resort additions include the new fitness center and on site beauty salon business. We have also spent the last year recruiting and securing professional staff and continue to do so for all departments including the restaurant.
The front lobby area is slated for redevelopment this coming Oct 2011.
As for the internet, we are at the mercy of the provincial government and the communication infrastructure. Satellite is the only connection in this area at this time. 4G is to become available this Sept 2011 which will be a relief for all of us!
Again, thank you for the comments and the feedback. All comments from our clients are taken seriously and are always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Resort at Cypress Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Cypress Hills

Property: The Resort at Cypress Hills
Address: #5 Pine Avenue | Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park, Maple Creek, Saskatchewan S0N 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Maple Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maple Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Cypress Hills provides a choice of accommodation at extremely reasonable prices. Dining room and lounge are all here at the Resort along with on-site wood barbecues and picnic facilities. Handicap units are available. Explore the delights of Cypress Hills and surrounding areas, local activities are as varied as a world class vineyard and winery, to excellent cross country skiing, hiking, and canoeing, the Historic Fort Walsh located in the West Block, the T-Rex Centre located in the historic town of East end, and the most amazing star filled night sky you will ever experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Resort at Cypress Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Cypress Hills Maple Creek, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing