We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maple Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Reesor Ranch
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Reesor Ranch was everything we hoped it would be: real ranch, real ranch people. We loved the history, horses, and hospitality. Great cookhouse food with a generous measure of cowboy poetry to boot. Scott and Theresa couldn't have made us more welcome. We're looking forward to doing it all over again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank funnygoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Very kind words! Thank you for the stellar review! We really enjoyed hosting you as well. If we ever get back out to the west coast, we will definitely make a point to visit you!
Theresa and Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Historic Reesor Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

My partner Jason and I went here for a much needed get away. The staff was amazing, they made us feel like family. Sitting around visiting, listening to Scott resite poems from his childhood. The food and wine was amazing. The trail ride was great our guide was fun and easy going, encouraging when I got nervous. We stayed at the bed and breakfast it was so peaceful and quiet. So much history everywhere you look. I loved not having tv and Internet, no cell service was awesome, just being able to relax was really what we needed, I have to say going home was hard after such a wonderful weekend. I can't wait To go back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandadombowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Hi Amanda and Jason, thanks for your kind words! We really appreciate them and we hope to see you again some day!
Theresa and Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

As soon as we pulled up to the Ranch our cowboy experience began - the buildings were rustic/western and very well maintained. Scott and Nicole led our family of 11 (ages 8 - 65) through the scenic Cypress Hills. They did a very good job pairing horses with the age/experience of the rider. Our group ranged in horse experience from seasoned riders to beginners. We got to know our horses as we brushed and saddled them - a real treat for the kids. Then it was off on the trail. We really enjoyed the freedom that Nicole gave us to go off the trail if we felt comfortable. The two hour experience includes the time to learn how to brush and saddle your horse so it cuts into the time you actually get to ride. With our large group it took a bit more time to brush and saddle so more time riding would have been nice. Overall we highly recommend Reesor Ranch as a great way to spend time with your family.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank 163cassandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Manager at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for your great review! We all enjoyed meeting your family on the ride. You didn't mention how cool it was that day, but you were all troopers to go out anyway and enjoy the Hills on horseback! Next time you come we should be able to get everyone saddled up and out on the Ride quicker to enjoy more time in the saddle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Our family just spent five magical days camping at Reesor Ranch. The entire experience was nothing short of outstanding! The hosts, Theresa and Scott, are warm and welcoming, and made space for us on the fly, even though the entire place was booked. We rode every day through the amazing Cypress Hills. The ranch and horses are mostly geared at people with no previous riding experience, but we were given the opportunity for a couple of private rides as we are experienced riders. Our wrangler Nicole made all rides a special experience, choosing new paths for every ride. The pricing is more than fair for what you get, so if you can, go! You'll have a great time!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thank you for your kind words Michael, Lynn and Anika! We really enjoyed visiting with you! Theresa and Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Our Family came just before Canada Day and had a wonderful time. My son is in a wheelchair and Scott and the crew were awesome working with us to make it memorable and accessible for us. Would recommend it to anyone and everyone. Also try the spring water it's out of this world.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Csurf113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that your experience with your son on horseback was memorable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

I would stay here again.
The landscape is beautiful, rugged, and elevated. It's a nice change to the miles of flat prairie plains that I am accustomed to.
The couple was polite and looked western like.
I would recommend that you bring your own food. I will never pay 22$ again for a cheap pre made grocery store burger.
When they offered a burger or steak I thought at least theses would be some wonderful homemade ranch burgers, but no. The steaks looked small and not so worth the very high price. This is a minor issue and there is a solution as I have fore mentioned.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ironhorse32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you'd stay here again. Expectations are not always met when one is looking for a certain experience and we're sorry that you did not enjoy your burger. We serve only high quality 6 oz 100% Canadian beef burgers and our steak is 6 - 8 oz AAA Ribeye and Striploin.
A buffet meal goes with the burger and steak which includes garlic toast, baked potato, brown beans, sour cream, bacon bits, shredded cheese, salad with fresh vege toppings and then there's an ice cream sundae bar to top it all off.
There are numerous gourmet restaurants in the Cypress Hills Destination Area that we would recommend - www.visitcypresshills.ca
We thank you again for your review and hope to see you again!
We will continue to work hard in improving and making our meals enjoyable for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This is a wonderful alternative to a hotel, your own little cabin in the hills! Different cabins to choose from or options for groups to stay as well. We have so much fun exploring in the hills with the dogs following along! Lovely ranch, lovely hosts, can't say enough good about the ranch! Such a cozy stay!

Room Tip: Loved the cowboy cabin!
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AngLanePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Wonderful that you enjoyed yourselves so much! We were pleased to host families like yourselves involved with the Alberta Winter Games in February.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maple Creek
45.2 km away
Cobble Creek Lodge Inc
Cobble Creek Lodge Inc
#1 of 1 in Maple Creek
47 reviews
20.6 km away
Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
45.1 km away
No photo provided
Maple Creek Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Maple Creek
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 km away
The Resort at Cypress Hills
The Resort at Cypress Hills
#1 of 3 in Maple Creek
107 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Historic Reesor Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Reesor Ranch

Address: Box 1001, Maple Creek, Saskatchewan S0N 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Maple Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Maple Creek
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Cowboy Comfort" with atmosphere and western hospitality! Imagine pioneers coming west to start a new and better life for themselves and their families. This historic cattle ranch provides a living testament to the resourcefulness and tenacity of the early prairie settlers. We share a story that is integral to Saskatchewan and Western Canada's history. We offer Cabin rentals, Old Log Barn group facility, B&B, horseback riding excursions/experiences and Cypress Hills Adventure packages.What's in store for you?.....Wide open ranges....Incredible fresh air...Big, blue living skies...Room to breathe! Crackling, evening campfires with family, old friends, memories and laughter...... Days filled with ranch life adventures....Hiking through quiet and majestic forests of pine and spruce....Unique alpine flowers, endless bird species..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Reesor Ranch Maple Creek, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing