We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, secluded, "turn back the pages of time" log cabin in the hills - Perfection!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maple Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Reesor Ranch
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Three generations of my family stayed in the little cabin on the hill. The cabin is charmingly rustic and set up on a hill with beautiful scenery. Visitors included deer, birds, gophers and the odd hiker or participants of the trail rides. The stars are spectacular. Scott and Theresa Ressor and their staff are friendly and hospitable. If you need anything they are quick to oblige. Safety is a priority for the various ranching activities. The little log cabin in the hills is perfect for a small family or is romantic for two. There are 4 beds in the loft and a futon on the main floor. There is AC upstairs if it is hot out. The girls tented and we brought our Boler just in case. The scenery is amazing and the technology-free area is just what people need to unplug and get away from it all. It is an amazing place for families to get together and reconnect and talk while hiking or just staring off into the hills. It is a peaceful getaway for anyone interested. We will be back again for sure! It is available year round.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabin on the hill but there are B&B rooms, a log cabin for two and a bunk house...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words and 5/5 dots! We look forward to your coming again! Theresa and Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Historic Reesor Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Very nice and friendly people, very good food (dinner and breakfast) and interesting activities. We stayed just for one night. Got a room in the main house. It's a share-bathroom, share-shower, but that is the style. And the house if full of style. The family memorabilia as well as a well-documented family history were among the highlights for me. Dinner in the barn was a high quality stake and a large buffett including baked potatoes, beans, even ice-cream. Breakfast was sumptuous, too.
We took the time to walk around, which is a must. We also took the time to take a ride. Also highly enjoyable. The only negative Impression we had was: the horses were well-fed and all, but their hoofs seemed not ok,also, some seemed injured - yes it does not diminish the experience but still: one dot is for the horse.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your generous review. We appreciate your kind words. It is always our hope that good memories are made for guests who visit the ranch. City and urban living can put us out of touch of the beauty of country living and it's always refreshing to get away for a timeout from busy lifestyles.
Concerning our horses, some of them have lived to 30 years with very little foot trimming and we always trim hooves on horses that need it. We do not put horseshoes on our horses because of the fire hazard they create. The metal shoe hitting stones can spark and start a fire in dry conditions. Many of our trail horses are older because they are gentler and quieter for the general public who come to ride. They might not all be pretty, but they are well trained, well fed and cared for to give our guests a memorable ride. We have one horse, Ruby, who is recovering from a bad wire cut. She is thinner, but she is slowly and surely recovering with all of the care that we give her.
Thanks again and we hope to see you return to the Cypress Hills!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

From the moment we arrived,Scott and Theresa made us feel as welcome as any traveler could ever hope. The historic Bunkhouse we stayed in was cozy, comfortable and quiet; a great spot to read a good book and get good night's sleep. At night "Justice", one of the friendly ranch dogs, provided 'security' on our front porch. Dinner and breakfast were delicious accompanied by Scott's stories and Cowboy Poetry. The self catering kitchenette in the Bunkhouse was well equipped. We spent 3 peaceful nights at the ranch and hope to return one day soon to take in some riding and to continue exploring the Cypress Hills.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowbound_art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

A very welcome review! Thank you so much! Hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

we stay at the ranch for two nights. when we came the first day to the ranch and meet scott and theresa, we feel like very welcomed. both of them are so friendly and also their wranglers! our cabine called "the cowboys cabin" is very lovely and we liked it so much.. also the food tasted good and scott told us after meal about his family history. it was so interessting... after our last supper at the ranch, we made a 2 hours horseback ride. nicole and her friend came with us and make sure that we enjoy our trip. we are so thankful for all of them and maybe we come back sometimes.. that will be great! :)

D&S

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your encouraging review of your stay at the ranch! Yes, someday we hope to see you again. It is a long way from Switzerland to Canada and we are happy to hear that you have made some wonderful memories here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Reesor Ranch was everything we hoped it would be: real ranch, real ranch people. We loved the history, horses, and hospitality. Great cookhouse food with a generous measure of cowboy poetry to boot. Scott and Theresa couldn't have made us more welcome. We're looking forward to doing it all over again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank funnygoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Very kind words! Thank you for the stellar review! We really enjoyed hosting you as well. If we ever get back out to the west coast, we will definitely make a point to visit you!
Theresa and Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My partner Jason and I went here for a much needed get away. The staff was amazing, they made us feel like family. Sitting around visiting, listening to Scott resite poems from his childhood. The food and wine was amazing. The trail ride was great our guide was fun and easy going, encouraging when I got nervous. We stayed at the bed and breakfast it was so peaceful and quiet. So much history everywhere you look. I loved not having tv and Internet, no cell service was awesome, just being able to relax was really what we needed, I have to say going home was hard after such a wonderful weekend. I can't wait To go back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandadombowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Owner at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Hi Amanda and Jason, thanks for your kind words! We really appreciate them and we hope to see you again some day!
Theresa and Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

As soon as we pulled up to the Ranch our cowboy experience began - the buildings were rustic/western and very well maintained. Scott and Nicole led our family of 11 (ages 8 - 65) through the scenic Cypress Hills. They did a very good job pairing horses with the age/experience of the rider. Our group ranged in horse experience from seasoned riders to beginners. We got to know our horses as we brushed and saddled them - a real treat for the kids. Then it was off on the trail. We really enjoyed the freedom that Nicole gave us to go off the trail if we felt comfortable. The two hour experience includes the time to learn how to brush and saddle your horse so it cuts into the time you actually get to ride. With our large group it took a bit more time to brush and saddle so more time riding would have been nice. Overall we highly recommend Reesor Ranch as a great way to spend time with your family.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank 163cassandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reesorranch, Manager at Historic Reesor Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for your great review! We all enjoyed meeting your family on the ride. You didn't mention how cool it was that day, but you were all troopers to go out anyway and enjoy the Hills on horseback! Next time you come we should be able to get everyone saddled up and out on the Ride quicker to enjoy more time in the saddle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maple Creek
45.2 km away
Cobble Creek Lodge Inc
Cobble Creek Lodge Inc
#1 of 1 in Maple Creek
47 reviews
20.6 km away
Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
45.1 km away
No photo provided
Maple Creek Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Maple Creek
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 km away
The Resort at Cypress Hills
The Resort at Cypress Hills
#1 of 3 in Maple Creek
107 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Historic Reesor Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Reesor Ranch

Address: Box 1001, Maple Creek, Saskatchewan S0N 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Maple Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Maple Creek
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Cowboy Comfort" with atmosphere and western hospitality! Imagine pioneers coming west to start a new and better life for themselves and their families. This historic cattle ranch provides a living testament to the resourcefulness and tenacity of the early prairie settlers. We share a story that is integral to Saskatchewan and Western Canada's history. We offer Cabin rentals, Old Log Barn group facility, B&B, horseback riding excursions/experiences and Cypress Hills Adventure packages.What's in store for you?.....Wide open ranges....Incredible fresh air...Big, blue living skies...Room to breathe! Crackling, evening campfires with family, old friends, memories and laughter...... Days filled with ranch life adventures....Hiking through quiet and majestic forests of pine and spruce....Unique alpine flowers, endless bird species..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Reesor Ranch Maple Creek, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing