We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
131
56
4
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
56
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom beach house large spa poolside villa heated pool hot spa lock up garage direct access to the pool sunshine coast top deck smaller pool electric bbq three levels an easy drive short walk lovely accommodation untouched beach quiet family
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 198 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

We loved our 5 night stay at Sand Dunes Resort mainly because the kids were so happy to be in the huge pool all day and making friends with other families. The pool temperature was beautiful, the spa was fantastic and the pool and BBQ area was very well maintained and clean.

Beach access was great, just a 1-200m walk down the beach to the flagged area.

The apartment was sufficient, had most of what we needed but would suggest some extra plates and cutlery to be able to take down to the poolside BBQ. Plus non-breakables for the children would be good.

The location was great but we did need to drive to restaurants as would’ve been a dark walk along the esplanade with the kids.

The only negative thing I would say was unfortunately that the bed was so uncomfortable. We felt every spring, I woke up with pins and needles being a side sleeper and most nights felt very uncomfortable. This would be the only factor going against a return as a holiday should be restful but I found I was tired out from bad sleeps.

Service was great all round though.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bpstar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sand_Dunes_Resort, Manager at Sand Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Sand Dunes. It is wonderful to hear you
enjoyed your stay with us and your comments.
We have taken on board your comments about the bed and would like to investigate
this further, if you could advise us which room you were in. Thk u

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with our 2 children over the Xmas holidays for a week. The apartments were a good size and was lovely and clean. The kitchen was very well equipped with utensils so made cooking easy. The decor was getting a bit tired but overall was very comfortable.

The location is great, short walk to the beach and a skate park across the road. Lots of great bike tracks for the family to go cycling. The pool was beautiful and just the right temperature.

Overall a really great place to say. The only thing that would have made it better would be if the management were a little more engaging with their clientele.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Echoalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2017

We stayed in the 4 bedroom beach house (number 1) and it was excellent! The rooms were great - the main bedroom was huge and the others all a good size. The air-conditioning was easy to control and it didn't get too cold. Having our own pool was probably the best part as we had young children in the family. There was a nice size garden for the kids to play in and a nice covered outdoor area with a large table and chairs. The afternoon sea breezes and shade over that area meant that we spent most afternoons outside. The kitchen was a little bit small for an apartment that size but the huge fridge was plenty to cater for us and it had all the kitchen and dining things you'd need (platters, baking trays, plastic plates and cups etc etc). The roof top spa was good but it would've been good to have a bit more shade up there... we used it mostly after 5pm. The resort is in a great location - 5min drive from supermarket, bottle shop, chemist and more. Our unit was on the road so at times the traffic was a little noisy but the convenience of being so close to the beach out weighed the noise by far. The apartment was well maintained and very comfortable - a huge TV in the lounge with netflix on it! Tip for anyone staying more than 3 nights - take extra garbage bags, dish cloths, dishwashing liquid and dishwasher detergent. Loved our stay - this is our 3rd time at Sand Dunes and we'll be back.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krcBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017

My wife and I stayed here to attend a wedding in early November and were really unimpressed with how dirty the apartment was. For almost $300 a night we expected it to be clean with decent facilities, but the apartment was run down and the bathrooms very dirty (see pictures of both bathrooms). It was the only place with rooms available within an hour radius, which should have told me something.

The facilities were fine, although the entire complex was a bit bland.

A few positive things, good location and the staff seemed friendly.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank machaltcrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sand_Dunes_Resort, General Manager at Sand Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Sand Dunes Resort. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You mentioned you stayed with us early November, but have only just posted your review 6 weeks later and did not make mention while with us of your comments. It is difficult for us to fix any issues given the time frame or discuss with you any feedback.
The photo's you show of the bathroom windows, does show corrosion on the winders, due to the environment by the beach, this is not dirt and cannot be cleaned off. The cleanliness of our resort is very important to us and we have had an independent rating by Australian Star ratings recently on this and have rated highly plus have just received a 2017 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay at Sand Dunes. We stayed for 7 nights in a poolside villa. We love staying here with our 3 kids as they can swim while we relax on the balcony. The villa is clean and comfortable with plenty of room. We visited the beach daily as it’s only a short walk from the complex. The beach was patrolled and there weren’t many people.

Such a great place to relax without the kids getting bored. We will be back

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews