We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food and service ”

The Manor House of Whittington
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Kinver
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed! Poor food awful service, had to send our Sunday roasts back as where served cold, hard ball of stuffing, meager slice of meat, i had to use knife to saw through cauliflower cheese! We had to use the menu to stop the un wiped table from rocking! Regret paying the inflated price for awful food. Complained to manager who said he would e mail me but never did! They just don’t care! Avoid this place save your money!

5  Thank shelly622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhittington, Manager at The Manor House of Whittington, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Shelly

I am sorry that you didn't get the email, I can assure you the email was sent. If you can contact me to rectify this for you i would be most grateful.

Regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 801 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful old venue steeped in history and charm! It is the old Whittington and I have so many memories of this place over the years! The fire is warm and welcoming and the staff kept it well stoked! Anna really stood out for us as she seemed to be running around doing everything and nothing was too much trouble! I was delighted to also see a familiar face a lovey chap called Chris, who used to work at the Littleton! What a great guy he is and I am super confident he will do some great things there. Thanks also for the great service Robin.The 2 for 1 pizzas were fine. The food really wasn’t super impressive but it was fine.
Highly recommend and we will be back!

Thank Sunita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhittington, General Manager at The Manor House of Whittington, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

We are thrilled to hear you had a great experience, Thank you for your review we really appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The manor house is a great venue for a nice evening. There was a great buzz to the atmosphere and the restaurant was full. We had booked in advance and were seated early as our table was ready but there were some people having to wait who hadn't booked.

The service was fantastic from the staff although they were a little slow to take our order once we had been given the menus. The cocktails served were brilliant and if you're driving the "No So Cosmo" is a great non-alcoholic cocktail.

The menu is quite varied but does lack choice for vegetarians dishes and the main menu doesn't show which dishes are gluten-free. My wife was limited for choice as she only had a few options being a gluten-free vegetarian.

The quality of the food was brilliant. The marinated duck starter was delicious and the hummus nibble was one of the best we'd ever had. The main of Char-grilled aubergine was nice although the couscous was very spicy which wasn't shown on the menu, and somewhat detracted from the meal as a whole. Despite this the quality of the food was brilliant.

Overall, a great place for either a group to enjoy together with a great atmosphere or cosy for a romantic evening as a couple.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhittington, Manager at The Manor House of Whittington, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hello Adzleach,

Thank you very much for spending the time to leave us this great review - we really appreciate you letting us know your thoughts.

I am glad you enjoyed our mocktails the 'Not so Cosmo' is a good one! There is also the 'Apple Mint' which is like a Mojito without the rum, so you'll have to come back to give that one a try!

We always have an allergens list available for your guests, so on your next visit please do not hesitate to ask for this. Hopefully, it shall help your wife decipher through the menu to see which dishes are suitable for her dietary requirements. All the members of our team have a lot of knowledge about the fresh meals we serve daily, so please do not hesitate to ask your server about the dishes or if any changes can be made to make them gluten-free.

I appreciate what you are saying about the lack of gluten-free veggie dishes available on the menu, this is something we can look at improving in the future and I shall definetly pass your comments on.

I am really glad you enjoyed your meals, I apologise that the heat of the spices in the aubergine dish caught you off-guard.

We shall look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon,
Kindest regards,
Lauren
Booking & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Called in for a spot of lunch.
Yes, is a bit expensive but I had a very nice pizza and the coffee was also very good.
Good service and ended up having more than one cup of coffee.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank worcesterwoman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhittington, Manager at The Manor House of Whittington, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hello Worcesterwoman22,

Thank you for spending the time to leave us this fabulous review.

Excluding half term holidays, we do run a 2 for 1 pizza offer during the week - meaning you can enjoy two of our delicious pizzas for the price of one!

Thank you for your kind words about the service you received here at the Manor, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Lauren
Booking & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Our family group visited on Saturday evening, so it was very busy. Taken promptly to our table where Charlotte, our waitress for the evening, introduced herself. Drinks order taken, and we were pleased to be offered a jug of water without having to ask. The buffalo mozzarella starter and the duck starter were pronounced excellent by those who ordered. Mains of steak, chicken and pizza went down very well. Good sized portions all well cooked. Only two of our party had pudding which they enjoyed. Charlotte was delightful and is an asset to the business. Will definitely return when in the area.

1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWhittington, Manager at The Manor House of Whittington, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hi Alison B,

Thank you for spending the time to leave us this great review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us on Saturday evening!

Please remember that all day every Tuesday select steaks from our menu are served at half price! And during the week between 12 and 7 pm our pizzas are 2 for 1, so if you enjoyed these dishes please come and make the most of these fabulous offers whilst you can!

Thank you for your kind words about our team, the lovely Charlotte in particular, I shall be sure to pass on your superb comments both to her and the General Manager.

I do hope we shall see you again soon,
Best wishes,
Lauren
Booking & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manor House of Whittington also viewed

 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to The Manor House of Whittington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing