We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific Find!”
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Lodge
Living room
Living room with dining area
Kitchen with half door
Luxury wet room
View from bedroom
private garden
lodge from the drive
view from lodge
Fishing in the moat
Front door
View of moat
view from lodge kitchen door
view from kitchen window
Living room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
A few of the residents of Moat Farm. Thanks to Charles
Rush hour Fressingfield common
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Framlingham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NikkiJust...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Find!”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a short break at Cart Lodge Barn.
You will not be disappointed with this newish (2yrs old) accommodation - all the reviews say it all.
It met all our expectations and more. A member of our family has restricted mobility and found the layout of the barn just ideal. The good size wet room and bedroom, with the added luxury of under floor heating throughout.
It was spotlessly clean and comfortable.
It's a lovely place to get away from it all, yet still close reach by car to picturesque villages like Fressingfield for pubs & a well stocked shop.
The owners John & Lorna were very friendly & accommodating during the stay.
Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bytheseal...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

this is a perfect place to stay to explore the beautiful area - we found it very clean and comfortable & lovely & quiet to come back to! It is a good place to visit so many of the attractions & found it did not take long to get to the ones we wanted to visit - castles, beach resorts, viking settlements, villages etc. Good place to see birds & even a few hares in view!
We will come again & hope to see more next time! A good OS map is helpful which I used all the time as a lot of the roads are small but easy to get used to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & lovely spot to stay
Liked least: nothing to report
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manserfam...
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“So relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a wonderful place for a few nights away. I can only reiterate what previous reviewers have said . John and Lorna offer a warm welcome together with Lilly the dog and the property itself is beautifully presented and provides a very comfortable and peaceful place to stay. We were lucky enough to see sunsets,buzzards, hares and a Barn owl hunting over the field in front of the farmhouse.The quiet lanes and villages around Fressingfield offered the perfect surroundings for cycling and the coast is a relatively short journey by car.
thank you. John and Lorna, we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and comfort of property.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very peaceful ,with a feel of freedom.”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in this area a lot because I love to cycle on almost traffic free roads with lovely scenery.This is our first but not last stay at Moat Farm.
John and his wife gave us a friendly arrival ,and the cottage is warm,clean and has excellent views.
Diss is not far and my wife loves the swimming pool at Stradbrooke only a couple of miles away,there is also a good pub in Stradbrooke that serves good food.The Ivy House.
If walking is your thing,the cottage is surrounded by footpaths ,we also saw small deer running across the field from the lounge window.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
1 review
“Stunning Property”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What can you say that's not been said in the other reviews for Cart Lodge? Immaculately clean, stunning & peaceful surroundings and the perfect hosts in Lorna & John. This is our second visit already and we will be returning for more. If you like peace and quiet, but with a variety of different attractions within easy driving distance, then look no further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs M
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What can I say other than this property is splendid. It is immaculately clean and the host John was a wonderful chap. Really friendly and welcoming, there is not a chance I would even hesitate for a second in recommending this place. The area is lovely and quiet and we felt so at home, but what really made it was John. We will definitely return as we might be house hunting soon in that neck of the woods :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina M
Struan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Country get away from it all retreat”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A wonderful option to get away from it all. Great quality environment with underfloor heating keeping everything wonderfully cosy. A bit of a drive for coastal reports but that was all the better to appreciate the Suffolk scenery. Welcoming but unobtrusive hosts and plenty of nearby pubs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and underfloor heating
Liked least: Distance from coastal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing