We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Motel Marengo(Apollo Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Motel(Apollo Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastal Motel(Apollo Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
364
105
36
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
105
36
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzahorse ridingcamp kitchenrock climbinggreat ocean walkmini golfstation beachraw traveldeluxe cabinapollo baypowered sitetoilet blockamenities blocka great place to stayoutdoor cinemacamp groundsaturday night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I camped overnight at Bimbi Park and really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the closeness to nature, the beautiful surroundings and the friendly staff. We left behind our camera charger and battery and the staff were fantastic by mailing it to us promptly. We’re very appreciated and will certainly be back in the near future.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank laume2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankFotinas, Manager at Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Laume, Thankyou for leaving a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wish we’d read the bad reviews before coming because our experience was very similar.
We’d booked by phone all handled very well. However it all went downhill on arrival. Despite booking a site close to facilities we were put somewhere much further away despite saying we didn’t want that. We also wanted to go horse riding and/or climbing which are both heavily promoted on the website. When we enquired they were unapologetic and pretty unfriendly about the fact that horse riding wasn’t available (no explanation why) and that the rock climbing wasn’t available for days. Disappointing. We found out later that there was a large group that had booked it out. We hadn’t booked so fair enough for the climbing but the horse riding is supposed to be by appointment but they just said not available. Would’ve been good to know this in advance.
The sites are on sand and there is little grass as under gum trees so it’s very dusty. No guidance as to where to camp safely. The paperwork says not to camp under trees in case branches drop but very difficult/impossible to do so.
The kitchen was filthy and there were flies everywhere hovering trying to land on your cooking and food. The kitchen needs cleaning more often. There were a few fry pans but only one pot and apparently limited or no utensils. Luckily we’d brought our own. There was one kettle for the gas stove but it was caked with calcium inside. Just a bad impression with all the flies and mess. Everything was dirty and offputting. They provide fire pits (free) for your use so you can have a campfire. There are nice BBQs at the kitchen block but you need to pay extra for them $1 coin for not sure how long. Wish we’d had our own stove to cook with but then also question what we’re paying for to stay there. Given we also have to pay to shower.
The bathroom was modern and clean when we arrived which was great. However there were so many guests that by the evening and early next morning it was pretty feral as people make mess. You need to pay for showers which were hot and plentiful (big plus) but pay $1 per 3 minutes. They use a Bimbi coin which costs $1. We have no problem with limiting shower to conserve water but given we are all paying for a stay and the more people the higher the cost paid even for a tent site why don’t they at least include 1 bimbi coin per person when you pay for your site and then if you want longer showers you need to pay extra? Seems fairer.
Later in our stay we saw someone cleaning the kitchen and it was nice and clean afterwards but like the bathrooms the number of guests outstrips the cleaning schedule so they both become gross for quite a long time before they are cleaned again. They just need to clean them more often given the number of people (paying guests!) staying. And given the size of the site perhaps another amenities (bathroom) block is needed.
It seems like if limited guests this place would be ok but now they have so many people coming including big groups that they don’t care about keeping it clean and they can charge and keep charging for basics like BBQs and showers and people have to pay it.
There are basic National Park campgrounds in the area which I wish we’d stayed at instead. It would’ve been much quieter especially if you take your own cooking facilities and are happy with basic long drop toilets.
However to be fair these can charge a similar amount per night to Bimbi although it is a flat rate per site up to 6 people. And at Bimbi you do get flushing toilets, access to a (dirty) kitchen and the option of a decent proper shower if you pay extra.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankFotinas, Manager at Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rani,
We are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. When you were here, there were three school camps at the same time and we struggled to get everything done. If you were unhappy with the site, you should have come to reception and we could have given you a site closer to the toilets. Once again sorry we didn’t meet your expectations, running a caravan park in the middle of a national park is chalenging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked a Camping Pod for two nights and description said that it like a tent and it was, but like an extremely dirty tent. Everything was terribly dusty except the mattress. Window was covered in dust and same was under the mattress. But the worst thing was that the ants were falling from the ceiling onto the bed. So after the night I was covered in ants and bitten on my arm. Most of the ants were dead but it is still not nice to be covered in them (look at the pictures!). When we first entered the camping pod I thought that maybe someone left something sweet but it happened every night.
Also under the doors there is a big gap so the spiders and insects can enter the camping pod witohut the problem.
So if you were thinkinh about the camping pod - don't take it! Your tent will be cleaner and safer. After four days I still have allergic reaction for dust from that place..

Facilities were also quite dirty. Ladies bathroom wasn't so bad but gentleman bathroom was stinky and not cleaned. In the kitchen there were a lot of leftovers and no one cleaned the rubbish bin so it was impossible to eat without the flies on your food. No one cleaned the tables and the floor or didn't do it often enough. Also a lot of german backapackers in the place, noisy and lousy.

Overall it is cheap but not worth it.

We saw a koala just in front of our pod which was very nice, but it was the only one we saw on that camping.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomatoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankFotinas, Manager at Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tomatoss,
We are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. I'll have a look at the pod you are talking about. At this time of year, we do get ants come inside with the rain, we do spray for them but they are hard to control. With the bins in the kitchen, there are 20 rubbish bins outside but guests still just pile the rubbish on the bins inside, but good point thankyou, I am going to take the bins out of the kitchen to stop this from happening again. We have had bad weather here which makes everything a lot harder to keep clean. When you were here, there were three school camps at the same time and we struggled to get everything done. Once again sorry we didn’t meet your expectations, running a caravan park in the middle of a national park is challenging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

I rented a bunk room with 4 friends. Just one night, but we would bave liked to stay longer! Super clean and modern facilities, friendly staff (execpt one person at reception who was a bit dry, but nothing's perfect). Gorgeous little camp kitchen with a lovely little lounge and covered terrasse. Beautiful location and nice, friendly atmosphere. In the evening we cooked some burgers on the barbie, chatted with some other campers, a group were singing around a guitar. I would reccommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankFotinas, Manager at Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Emma, Thank you for leaving a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we love it here too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I booked a reservation over the phone for one night and since we were coming in after office hours we were told a map would be left with our details at reception. When we arrived there was two other reservations waiting in the after hours box for other guests but not ours. There is no cell reception in this park so we wandered around in the dark looking for an open spot to set up camp. In the morning we went to the office as soon as they opened to gather some park info and inform them that we were not left anything. There was an older woman and man at the front desk and they were insanely rude. I said good morning with a smile and only received an annoyed look from the woman. We explained how we weren't left a map and asked if she could please give us a little info on the best places to see koalas. She snapped back as if I just accosted her saying "so you didn't pay?! YOU NEED TO PAY NOW" taken aback i calmly explained we did pay over the phone and had an email confirmation if she'd like to see it, we just weren't left a map.To this she just rolled her eyes. When i inquired about the koalas and good hiking trails again she looked more annoyed than ever and condescending speaking to me as if i were an idiot responded "if you want to see koalas just look up. They're everywhere" My friend and I were completely shocked at her insanely abrasive tone and behavior. We left and would never stay here again. Terrible terrible customer service and we did not see any Koalas within the camp. They also put big sheets of plastic around the bottoms of all of the trees to prevent the Koalas from climbing them and eating them so I don't know how they can advertise as a camp to sleep under koalas. We didn't stay in the cabins but they looked incredibly dumpy so we were relieved we had our own tent. We did see 3 Koalas in the state park but nowhere near awful Bimbi Park.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kaimadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankFotinas, Manager at Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kaimadden,
We are sorry that our staff member was rude, this is not acceptable. We have had a word with her and on this particular morning a lot had gone wrong, this is no excuse but some people deal with stress differently. Sorry we didn't leave a map out for you, there is a C.B. Radio next to the key box which we man 24 hours a day, if you had of called it we could have helped you. It is a shame you didn’t see Koalas at Bimbipark as there are 12 (3 with babies) here at the moment. The bands around the trees are there to restrict the number of koalas, they don’t stop them totally. We need to protect the trees as Koalas have killed 60% of the coastal Manna Gums in Cape Otway. Once again sorry we didn’t meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews