We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money , but full of drunks.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandarcy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed for one night whilst visiting family in Swansea . The room rate was ridiculously low , so we weren't expecting much. The room was big, airy and clean. The breakfast was also very good . But we were woken early in the morning by drunks slamming doors on the other side of the corridor . Shouting every swear word under the sun and starting fights with other guests. We found it quite entertaining, imagine a Jeremy Kyle live show. But if you had kids it would be awful. The young man was fantastic in reception who refunded us one of the room rates , but we never asked him too. Fabulous hotel , but be wary of what other guests might be like given the cheap deals !

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahUK21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisagrainger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for advising us of your experience at the hotel.

We are disappointed to hear that due to disturbances from other guests your stay was not as relaxing as it should of been.

We can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence at the hotel however, we give our utmost attention to any disturbances that may occur during any stay.

We have rigorous floor checks maintaining security and minimising the risk of any incidents at the hotel.

We hope this does not deter you from staying with us again in the future and we would look forward to welcoming you back should you wish to return.

Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us

Kind regards,

Lisa Grainger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

Regulary stay here when visiting Swansea. 10 minutes out of Swansea but quiet and comfortable. Staff always friendly and helpful and never had anything bad to report.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisagrainger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for kind words in relation to the hotel staff and service that you received whilst staying at our hotel.

We welcome all guest comments and strive to be the best in everything we do at the Holiday Inn Express, Swansea. It is wonderful to hear that we achieved this on your stays with us and will continue in the future to do so also.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Swansea.

Kind regards,

Lisa Grainger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Me and my husband stayed on Saturday 14th for one night. The room was spotless.
Bathroom we could not fault if we tried. . On arriving I found the young receptionist exceptionally helpful and advised us of where to go for the night. We had a brilliant night I hasten to add, We ate in the Harvester next door and meal was lovely with all you can eat salad bar. Again , customer service was very good. Would recommend.
I would definitely stay here again. Thanks very much

Jan

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan5334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisagrainger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for kind words in relation to the hotel cleanliness, staff and service that you received whilst staying at our hotel in January.

We appreciate all guest comments as we truly strive to be the best in everything we do at the Holiday Inn Express, Swansea. It is wonderful to hear that we achieved this in your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and I will pass your comments on to the neighbouring restaurant.

Kind regards,

Lisa Grainger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed in as a family and left happy. Friendly reception staff and they suggested a few areas to visit as we mentioned it was our first Welsh visit. Boys loved the stay and we managed to book into the restaurant next door for evening meals.

Shower rooms could do with a bleach though as ours showed mouldy marks on the edges, sort of puts you off. Pillows were too hard or too flat so I didn't like them. Would have loved a wider choice of cooked breakfast though as my son pointed out, otherwise breakfast was worth it.

Otherwise would revisit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisagrainger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in December 2011.
We are to please to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that our location suited your family needs.
We pride ourselves in our high standard of cleanliness and service and were surprised to read that our shower indicated otherwise. We have however, looked into this and have advised housekeeping of your comments to ensure this does not happen again.
We offer a firm and soft pillows in each bedroom to ensure a comfortable night’s sleep but unfortunately on this occasion we did meet your requirements. Please be advised we can provide feather pillows should this be preferred on your next visit.
With regards to our breakfast we believe we offer a wide range of options which would suit most guests which also is free of charge. Our cold offerings are 6 different cereals, fresh fruit along with segmented fruit, cheese, croissants, muffins and yogurt with the added hot items of toast, scrambled egg, baked beans sausages and hot beverage.
We thank you once again and look forward welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards,

Lisa Grainger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The hotel is sited on one of 5 motorway junctions leading into Swansea so is not far from whatever turn off one needs. It has a large sports and leisure facility next door where a nominal entry fee will get you in. Also there is a Harvester restaurant. But your not far from Swansea, Neath or Skewen for restaurants and bars.
The hotel is a typical travellers type but very clean and the staff are very helpful and courteous. The beds as ever in Holiday Inns are excellent. A lift is available for the other two floors. Parking is available but is often fully taken up at meal times, when people are in Harvester. The hotel staff allow and even assist in arranging takeaway delivery meals and providing cutlery, even though there is a reasonable good menu choice available in the hotel. Theres at least 2 restaurants about 2 miles away in Skewen which are fantastic, try the Zafran (although no takeaway delivery available).

Room Tip: Ground Floor front rooms may be a lit with bright light from cars entering/leaving car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiefRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisagrainger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding the easy of our location for Swansea Business, neighbouring towns, restaurants and bars.

With many local businesses and attractions with-in a short distance we can offer recommendations and direction for both business and family guests to where they wish to travel to during their stay.

As you have indicated we offer evening meals at the hotel between 6pm – 10pm and have recently introduced a lunch time and late night Pizza menu at the hotel also.

I have advised the staff on your comments regarding their helpfulness and courtesy during your stay and we are pleased to advise this is a service we are happy to deliver to all our guests during each and every stay.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Lisa Grainger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and didn't know what to expect but I had a really enjoyable stay.

The receptionists were warm and welcoming and made pleasant conversation with you, nothing was too much trouble for them. They had already met our request for a room at the end of the corridor and away from the lift which was efficient. Although the rooms needed re-vamping, they were spotless, comfortable, well equipped with a large TV and soundproof as I couldn't hear any noises from the corridor or next room. The breakfasts were adequate with cooked and continental breakfasts and a spacious/comfortable dining area.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely book there when I am next in Wales.

Keep up the good work everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentFlyerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaPitman, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Many thanks for your kind words, we are extremely pleased that you where impressed by the level of service you received. We consistently aim to improve everything on offer to our guests, we aim to ensure that all our guests feel welcomed into our hotel and all requests where possible are met, so it was lovely to read that we met your expectations and more, from the bedroom to breakfast and the staff service on offer. Don’t forget on your next visit to make the most of the free WiFi network available to you down in our great room.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Booked this as a 2 nights for 1 promotion making it cheaper than the Travelodge and Premier Inn in Swansea City centre; we felt this was a good choice. The rooms were large, TV good, clean, tea and coffee facilities, complimentary Wifi and papers, and, although we weren't expecting it, a complimentary breakfast buffet. Although the place wasn't palatial we had no complaints - we didn't eat or drink in the hotel restaurant/bar - the nearby Harvester is a little cheaper. The breakfast buffet wasn't super but nonetheless OK - the sausages were fine, and you can't really go wrong with toast or cereal! The croissants weren't all that good. Service was friendly and helpful - our only minor complaint was the fire alarm going off at about 730 on the Sunday morning; although I suppose this will happen every once in a while - and there was a note of apology displayed when we got down to breakfast. Overall very happy to return again. It's only a 10-15 minute drive to Swansea town centre so isn't a bad location either.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaPitman, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on our hotel. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our rooms met your expectations, we are proud of what we offer to our guests. Breakfast is complimentary to all our guests, and we consistently aim to improve the standards on offer and have shared back your feedback regarding our croissants. On your next stay be sure to check out our bar where you can purchase our special offers of the day.

Once again thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandarcy
4.4 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
753 reviews
7.5 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
3.5 km away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
6.5 km away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
7.1 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swansea East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swansea East

Address: Neath Rd, Llandarcy SA10 6GZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Llandarcy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandarcy
Price Range: $67 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swansea East 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the easy-access Holiday Inn Express Swansea - East, close to city centre offices and beach escapes. Our friendly staff will greet you as you arrive in the bright Lobby at the Holiday Inn Express Swansea-East. Our quiet hotel, with its leafy garden and large car park, is just 1 minute from the London-bound M4 motorway and 41 miles from Cardiff International Airport. It's just a 10-minute drive from the Holiday Inn Express Swansea West to the DVLA and Swansea Council's city centre offices. Invite delegates to our 3 bright meeting rooms, and access free WiFi. Stay in touch with free WiFI in your comfy guest room or simply relax and watch your favourite shows on the 32-inch flat screen TVs. Your tour of the Gower Peninsula's dramatic coastline starts at the Victorian seaside town of Mumbles, 13 miles away. The Brecon Beacons National Park, with its waterfalls and valleys, is 30 minutes by car. Wake up daily to our inclusive Express Start buffet breakfast with selected hot items served in the comfort of the Great Room lounge daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swansea East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swansea West m4, Jct 43 Hotel Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Express Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Swansea
Llandarcy Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Llandarcy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing