We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
104
97
41
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
97
41
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conmorning cruisegreen housepygmy elephantsthe riverroom was basic but cleantour packagejungle walktea and coffeeother guestsbaby orangutangreat experienceincluded in the packagericetaking picturesdouble rooms arenight boat
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 263 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Greenview is a small hotel complex at the river, surrounded by trees and offering different packages including rivertours and accommodation with food. In my opinion the 3D2N package is best and a fair deal: 4 river tours (4pm, 7.30pm, 6am, 4pm), two jungle walks (morning and evening; you get rainboots from them), drinking water, meals and transfer from and to sandakan/sepilok area (in March 2018 that cost 499RM pP in simple double room per person, you pay more as a single traveller and less for children; newer rooms in the "Green house" are a bit more expensive). Shorter trips, it would feel very rushed for us but might work for you (mind: from sepilok area it takes ca. 2h by car, sometimes a bit bumpy). River tours: quite nice and relaxing and you are bound to see a few animals, mostly monkeys and birds unless its heavily raining; perhaps also a crocodile if you are lucky (not to worry, they dont get close) but of course sometimes you see more and sometimes less: we were pleasantly surprised by the night cruise. Meals: breakfast is always fried egg and fried noodles, dinner is buffet-style (when we were there: 1 meat meal, 1 veggie meal, 2 vegetable sides/salat, plain rice, fruit for desert); for lunch you get a plate with fixed meal (not just fried rice or noodles, yayy!). So you cant order a la carte but they take your dietary requirements into account if you let them know. We felt the food was tasty and fresh: good- very good and we never felt sick unlike in other places. Room: cabins are clean and basic but have all that you need: working air-cons, fan (a bit noisy), mosquito netted windows, towels, soap, somewhat comfy mattress, bed sheets and blanket (which could have done with a duvet cover but ok), a basic shelf and table, ensuite wc & shower - if you have a lot of luggage do take one of the newer rooms. Overall a nice trip! Good to know: internet is so bad it is non-existent, bring sunblocker, mosquito repellent, rain-poncho; there is no TV (maybe in the newer rooms?), no shop (perhaps if you walk for a bit?), no ATM, so bring cash -additional costs are only softdrinks, ice cream, laundry or extra cruises- but you will not have time for more cruises unless you extend the stay- if you like nature, and watching animals, relaxed river tours then you may want to consider; they have an armchair area above the restaurant and armchairs in the restaurant that oversee the river, really nice to relax but not much else to do there apart from river cruises, not even a non-guided jungle walk (I advise not to do the _extra_ elephant tour- in about 25% of the tours you dont get to see them according to staff and if you dont you feel that you wasted a lot of money and time). Staff is polite and speaks decent English. If you dont get a reply through email, try whatsapp.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage go for the rooms in the "Green House" (but also the simpler cabins are painted green).
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marianne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGVBB, Guest Relations Manager at Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Hi Marianne D,

Thank you for sharing this experience and glad you had a fair deal with our 3d2n package. Your recommendations will surely help other travelers who are planning to come to Kinabatangan River.

We were happy to have you with us and we hope to see you again someday.

Wishing you all the best.

Regards,
Emelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

This was a wonderful 3 days,fantastic water safaris with Uncle Stephen, who had all the time in the world show us all the wonderful animals. The staff were so friendly and helpful.I had an infected toe, and Sue gave up her time of to come with me to the clinic, which was beyond the call of duty.The food was so good with lots of choice at every meal. We had a lovely bedroom, with lots of room and a balcony over looking the tropical forest.Would go back any time!!

Room Tip: try and get a villa, quiter and more space.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed with Sukau Greenview on a 3D/2N tour package. Our collection from Sepilok was prompt and comfortable and we had a lovely greeting when we arrived with clear instructions and timings for our programme over the following days. All of this was on a board in reception should we forget.
We stayed in the Green House, the newer rooms, and it was a great. Clean, good air con and lots of space. The shower was cold, but we didn't mind!
The river cruises were great, guides were excellent and helped us see lots of wildlife. Our jungle walk was good too.
The food was fine, not that imaginative and no choice offered. We understood that before going but saw that it wouldn't be hard to offer fruit for breakfast too. Just don't go expecting a banquet! Tea and coffee were available all day, as well as drinking water.
The suggestion about binoculars from another reviewer is a good one, it would add a lot to the package. I also would say that it's not 3 full days at all - we arrived at 3pm on the first day and left at 8.30am on the third. Again, just be aware what you're booking!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SarahA2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGVBB, Public Relations Manager at Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Hi Sarah,

Thank you for staying with us. We do appreciate your suggestions and we will consider adding something to our menu.

Thank you as well for reminding others to check on their booked tours, this would also help us for smooth arrangement of the activities.

We wish you all the best and we'll be here in case you would like to visit the Kinabatangan River again.

Regards,
Emelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

We opted for the 2D1N tour which included transfer to and from Sandakan, 3 river cruises, bed, breakfast and dinner. It’s a well run tour company and the staff were very pleasant. We were very lucky to spot so many wild orangutans on our afternoon cruise. The night cruise and early morning cruise were slightly less impressive in terms of wildlife but still enjoyable. We saw hornbills, eagles, owls, snakes, pigs and lizards. But you might be lucky and spot a croc!
A tip would be to definitely bring binoculars - it will make spotting the wildlife much easier. It’s a pity the company don’t provide them as they are kind of essential if you want to see things in detail. We just had to borrow from the guide. Overall, we had a really nice experience!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGVBB, Guest Relations Manager at Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Hi Emma,

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your river cruises. Thank you also for your suggestion that we should have binoculars ready. We will discuss this with the management and hope it will be available soon.

We hope you will enjoy the rest of your journey and it was a pleasure having you with us.

Regards,
Emelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

I got the 2d1n package and the experience was a blast:

Being low season the occupation was low so we were 3 people only for the 3 cruises and we were lucky with the weather.
The guides really love what they do, know the area and their secrets and are amazing spotters. They won't rush you and will patiently wait until you're done taking a picture or hoping the Orangutan moves so you can really see it.

I could take awesome pictures of Orangutans, Proboscis monkeys, macacs, crocodiles, hornbills, herons, kingfishers, owls and even Pygmy elephants.

I slept in the dorm. Nice, well kept and fair for the price.
The blankets could have been a little cleaner. The air con was not working but, honestly, I didn't ask and it was me alone in a huge 12 beds dorm, so to me it made sense to have it off.

If something they could improve the food a little. That would be a plus, but it's not the main thing.

Overall I am very happy with my choice, not overpriced, professional and friendly. I totally recommend them and I will go back with them without a doubt

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KshamaYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGVBB, Guest Relations Manager at Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Hi KshamaYoga,

Thank you for this review and recommendations. We are happy to hear that you saw a lot of wildlife during your cruises. Our guides are more than happier for you.

Sorry about the aircon in the dorm. If you came to the reception area, we should have been able to help you. We have also reminded our housekeepers to keep an eye on the cleanliness of each room. Our cook has been informed as well, we will try improve our services the best we could.

We wish you all the best and it will be a pleasure to have you back here at the Sukau Greenview, anytime soon.

Best Regards,
Emelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews