We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
113
38
16
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
38
16
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water bungalow other guests per day fish dive master the resort manager stay nights explore the island meals were served buffet style mainland china dive centre between dives sister resort diving resort boat captain marine life keen diver
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 181 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed 5 nights / 4 days at this resort and could not be happier! After visiting throughout Sabah, this was the nicest and most comfortable setup with the cool ocean breezes and gorgeous vistas. Our family of 4 had Bungalows 213 and 212 which had A/C, adequate bathroom setup, comfortable beds, and a large outdoor covered deck and day bed, table and chairs, and 2 chaise lounges all enjoying the view of clear blue water dotted with starfish. The restaurant served a variety of tasty food, including sashimi some nights and a self-serve cappuccino maker. We had the use of basic bikes to explore the island and could enjoy the sister facilities, including a pool, just a 5 mins bike ride away. We took advantage of their included 3 dives daily and scored a second day at Sipadan. The staff were extremely gracious and attentive. I was worried about loud Asian families but did not experience them at the resort as I had elsewhere in Sabah. We strongly recommend this resort!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SPReed94960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

We travelled the first time to Malaysia for diving and we have followed recommendations from other divers. They all recommended Sipadan as the greatest dive spot in Malaysia.
And they were right! Amazing underwater world with thousands of various fishes and corals!
The accommodation Mabul Water Bungalow is a great place to combine with diving. The Water Bungalows are already a little bit older but well maintained. Daily changes of dishes and meals. Unbelievable friendly and helpful staff! A beautiful place to stay and relax after diving.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wanderhoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

It was all amazing... till one night i was waked up by a roach walking on my shoulder in my bed. (First picture).

Me and my wife couldn't sleep no more for all the night.

In the morning i call the cleaning staff and look what was under the bed. Dirty, filthy, CONDOM SACHET OF OTHER PERSONS SEX ACTIONS...
No cleaned up for weeks.. (second picture).

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank Iciopidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMARTDIVERS, Manager at Mabul Water Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

Dear Mr. Forti,

Thank you for your review.

We have conducted a thorough investigation and it appears that the clump of dirt found under the bed is false claim. As we pride in our resort cleanliness and maintaining its standard, we disagree with your claims. We do not believe that someone with the right mind would do it, and we have not encountered such incidence before.

To answer some points you have raised:-
1. Our housekeeping cleans all rooms, including public areas regularly. Keeping the areas clean tidy and pleasant.
2. We also conduct regular fogging, to keep the insects at bay.

However, rest assured that we are looking into each point you highlighted to enhance the areas of concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We stayed in bungalow 211, which was outward facing with partial island and ocean view. We highly recommend 211 or 213 for privacy and if you can afford it, the Bougain Villa Bungalow which is in between 211 and 213, and is a lot more luxurious.
We stayed 7 nights with 1 guaranteed Sipadan permit. Mr Ben (resort manager) was nice enough to help us get 2 more Sipadan permits, so my husband and I got to dive Sipadan 3 times! It was amazing and amongst some of the best diving we have ever done. Huge schools of jacks, barracudas, bumphead parrotfish, plus reef sharks, lots of turtles and a frogfish! Locally to Mabul and Kapalai the diving had some interesting features, but paled in comparison to Sipadan.
Staff were lovely and Malik (the bartender) made a good pina colada. Food was great, with lots of seafood. BBQ nights (twice a week) were fabulous, especially the lamb.
Love the water bungalows, would stay again, make sure you pay extra and stay on the water-side of the resort, not the land bungalows!

Room Tip: Bungalow 211, 213 or Bougain Villa for pricacy
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

This is my second diving trip at Sipadan . Mabul water Bungalows makes my trip more wonderful. Even June is not d best time for diving. Water not so clear. But still worth to go. Lovely room on water. Spectacular view every moments. Nice staffs. I'm sure will be back again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TiffanyF1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews