We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mabul Water Bungalows
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Mabul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I have visited Mabul water bungalows many times over the years and I was not disappointed this year! I had a wonderful diving holiday in such a beautiful location with great staff.

Diving - great. Dive masters were knowledgeable and very friendly. We were able to dive twice at Sipadan, even when the weather was very bad. The crew were very experienced and looked after the divers exceptionally well. The boat captain was tremendous, navigating very rough waters.

Accommodation - wonderful, with good internet connection, air conditioning, clean and the extended balcony was a favourite place to chill after a busy diving day. Good to see after the years that the company is looking to enhance the bungalows with the new extensions.

Food - As a delicate eater, I was not left hungry! Choices were limited on certain days but I could always find something to eat. The BBQ was divine (Wednesdays and Saturdays). Breakfast could be improved (ants in the butter) and more choice/higher quality for all meals was the only negative I can give this place. Food options had a Chinese influence, I suppose to reflect the majority of the clientele.

Staff - wonderful, friendly, transfers ran very smoothly.

Spa - OK. Staff had changed since my last visit and the head, shoulder, neck massage was really just a back massage.

Other guests - yes, there were noisy guests mainly at dinner times but also early in the morning as they wandered around taking photos - even coming to the door of my bungalow to pose at 7am!

Thank you, Mabul, this is one of the few places in the world where I feel happiest - this holiday did not disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z0e123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Perfect place in a perfect location. Hotel is totally awesome, staff is so nice, the place is extraordinary... Dives are breathtaking, diving masters are so kind, the food is really good...just Heaven on Earth....
Just a small negative point but the hotel can't change anything: the massive rude and impolite Chinese tourists... They can disturb the quietness of the place...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bibine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed 5 nights / 4 days at this resort and could not be happier! After visiting throughout Sabah, this was the nicest and most comfortable setup with the cool ocean breezes and gorgeous vistas. Our family of 4 had Bungalows 213 and 212 which had A/C, adequate bathroom setup, comfortable beds, and a large outdoor covered deck and day bed, table and chairs, and 2 chaise lounges all enjoying the view of clear blue water dotted with starfish. The restaurant served a variety of tasty food, including sashimi some nights and a self-serve cappuccino maker. We had the use of basic bikes to explore the island and could enjoy the sister facilities, including a pool, just a 5 mins bike ride away. We took advantage of their included 3 dives daily and scored a second day at Sipadan. The staff were extremely gracious and attentive. I was worried about loud Asian families but did not experience them at the resort as I had elsewhere in Sabah. We strongly recommend this resort!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SPReed94960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We travelled the first time to Malaysia for diving and we have followed recommendations from other divers. They all recommended Sipadan as the greatest dive spot in Malaysia.
And they were right! Amazing underwater world with thousands of various fishes and corals!
The accommodation Mabul Water Bungalow is a great place to combine with diving. The Water Bungalows are already a little bit older but well maintained. Daily changes of dishes and meals. Unbelievable friendly and helpful staff! A beautiful place to stay and relax after diving.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wanderhoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

It was all amazing... till one night i was waked up by a roach walking on my shoulder in my bed. (First picture).

Me and my wife couldn't sleep no more for all the night.

In the morning i call the cleaning staff and look what was under the bed. Dirty, filthy, CONDOM SACHET OF OTHER PERSONS SEX ACTIONS...
No cleaned up for weeks.. (second picture).

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Iciopidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMARTDIVERS, Manager at Mabul Water Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Mr. Forti,

Thank you for your review.

We have conducted a thorough investigation and it appears that the clump of dirt found under the bed is false claim. As we pride in our resort cleanliness and maintaining its standard, we disagree with your claims. We do not believe that someone with the right mind would do it, and we have not encountered such incidence before.

To answer some points you have raised:-
1. Our housekeeping cleans all rooms, including public areas regularly. Keeping the areas clean tidy and pleasant.
2. We also conduct regular fogging, to keep the insects at bay.

However, rest assured that we are looking into each point you highlighted to enhance the areas of concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed in bungalow 211, which was outward facing with partial island and ocean view. We highly recommend 211 or 213 for privacy and if you can afford it, the Bougain Villa Bungalow which is in between 211 and 213, and is a lot more luxurious.
We stayed 7 nights with 1 guaranteed Sipadan permit. Mr Ben (resort manager) was nice enough to help us get 2 more Sipadan permits, so my husband and I got to dive Sipadan 3 times! It was amazing and amongst some of the best diving we have ever done. Huge schools of jacks, barracudas, bumphead parrotfish, plus reef sharks, lots of turtles and a frogfish! Locally to Mabul and Kapalai the diving had some interesting features, but paled in comparison to Sipadan.
Staff were lovely and Malik (the bartender) made a good pina colada. Food was great, with lots of seafood. BBQ nights (twice a week) were fabulous, especially the lamb.
Love the water bungalows, would stay again, make sure you pay extra and stay on the water-side of the resort, not the land bungalows!

Room Tip: Bungalow 211, 213 or Bougain Villa for pricacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

This is my second diving trip at Sipadan . Mabul water Bungalows makes my trip more wonderful. Even June is not d best time for diving. Water not so clear. But still worth to go. Lovely room on water. Spectacular view every moments. Nice staffs. I'm sure will be back again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
25.9 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
26 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
26.1 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26 km away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
0.8 km away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
77 reviews
0 km away
The Reef Dive Resort
The Reef Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Mataking
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabul Water Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabul Water Bungalows

Address: Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Mabul
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mabul Water Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MABUL WATER BUNGALOW completed in 2005, is a new floating dive resort wholly owned by Sipadan-Mabul Resort (Sabah) Sdn. Bhd. (SMART). It's situated at Mabul Island overlooking the world-known Sipadan Island which is 15-minutes away by speedboat. These wooden-type bungalows are made up of 16 units and 5 exclusive units of suite type villas, entirely built over water with stilts offering sheer comfort, which can accommodate up to 42 guests at any one time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mabul Water Bungalows Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Mabul Water Hotel
Mabul Water Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing