We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Harbour view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour view
The cosy lounge area The Homely kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Harbour view
The cosy lounge area
The Homely kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The twin bedroom perfect for the kids
The family bathroom with plenty of space
The view from the window at Harbour View
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Craster, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful cottage by the sea. Lovely views, nice walks nearby and good food and drink in the village. Cottage was clean and in very good repair. The owners, Northumberland Cottages, were extremely helpful - even posted back to us some items we hadn't realised we'd left behind. Great week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Banging my head - ceilings are low!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the lovely Harbour View Cottage. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and exploring all that is on offer in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland in the future!

Kind regards,
Aimee
Cottages in Northumberland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMC64
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good base for visiting the area”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed as a family visiting Northumberland for a family wedding. Having found the cottage (which took a while as not clearly named) we found it spotlessly clean and well equipped. It has wonderful views and fantastic walks and places to eat on the doorstep. It was an ideal base for what we needed.
The weather was kind to us and the cottage was cosy and warm but the window in the main bedroom could not be opened as sign stated "please do not open this window as awaiting repair" Dated 30/3/2015 - ie 2 months before our arrival - this really made the room airless and too hot! The mattresses on all beds are the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on and I suggest that they could do with being replaced.
Despite the negatives we did have a lovely break but will try and find another property next time we visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: position and views
Liked least: mattresses and non opening window
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Harbour View”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this cottage and then read the reviews so we were a little concerned BUT the cottage could not have been better, it has a fully equipped kitchen incluiding washer/ dryer and dishwasher, its very dog friendly with the laminate flooring throughout, spotlessly clean, comfy, warm and brilliant location right on the harbour side.
Great place to relax and wonderful to wake up overlooking the sea.
We have a large 4x4 and parking was not a problem at all.
10 out of 10 for this cottage

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suziewong...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Functional to the point of being charmless.”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here at the beginning of March with our two little dogs. On arriving i was dismayed at with the 'dated' appearance of the place. No name visibile anywhere to allow you to locate the cottage, which ended up in a guessing game along the length of the cottages in the harbour. When we finally found the right cottage there was no key in the stated key lock, only to be told by the company on ringing them, that the key was to be found in a new key lock, which they failed to inform us of. Finally we managed to gain access to the place and having stayed in many cottages in Britain, i can honestly say that this has been the worst. Greeted by the cheap looking laminate flooring throughout the property, my heart sank. I understand that allowing dogs places limitations on the owner but this was poor show. The windows were also filthy, with cobwebs. I appreciate the difficulty in keeping them clean in a windy harbour, but clearly zero attempt had been made for guests. Ironic when the selling point is the view! The electrics were dodgy on the first day when the toaster blew all the lights then we had a power cut in the night and no kitchen appliances worked the next morning. However, when we reported this, the response from the caretaker was swift and without fault. The cottage is functional, clean and warm and may suit some, but if you are looking for a little bit of luxuary and romance, best to look elsewhere.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Harbour View Cottage in the popular little fishing village of Craster. Here at Cottages in Northumberland we work tirelessly to ensure all of our guests have maximum enjoyment from their holiday, it is such a pity that you did not think to call us during your stay as we pride ourselves on giving outstanding customer service. I can absolutely guarantee that the electrics in Harbour View Cottage meet the highest standards, as our electrician confirmed to you when he called and checked everything out and found no problems.
'Perfect' 'fab' 'excellent' 'delightful' - are just a few words used to describe the cottage by some of our previous guests.
Kind Regards,
Angela and the team at Cottages in Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueI8012E...
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Was perfect for what we wanted, a small, warm, pleasant cottage looking straight out to sea in Craster. The heating was great and waking up in the morning looking out at the sunrise over the sea was just brilliant. Walking straight out of the door to the harbour and along the footpath to Dunstanburgh was too! We had everything we needed except a tin opener that worked - so we have left a basic one for future guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of cottage
Liked least: Would have liked wi-fi to be included but wasn't a problem. BT open zone was accessible for £18 for 5 days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Harbour View Cottage in Craster. We are all so pleased you enjoyed your Holiday at this lovely cottage with amazing views. Cottages in Northumberland look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland in the future.
Kind regards,
Angela and the Team at cottages in Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with sea views”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Right on the edge of the harbour this little cottage has lovely sea views and good walking straight from the door North and South along the Northumberland Coastal Path. Craster is served by a good bus service so you can leave the car at the cottage. The car parking area at the back of the cottage is tight off you have anything bigger than a Focus or similar. The bedding is starting to look a little tired but everything else is fine. Compared to some cottages for rent in Craster this one is excellent value

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$537
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing