We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$257
View deal
Hotels.com
US$257
View deal
Booking.com
US$302
US$231
View deal
SAVE US$71
Free cancellation until 21-04-21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$231
PricelineUS$257
travelup.comUS$302
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
189
162
85
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
189
162
85
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san lorenzo golf course golf trip lovely hotel refurbished room pinheiros altos bar staff classic room long weekend sun loungers quinta do lago tennis courts golfers sea courses dona golfing df
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 475 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2020

I would not recommend this hotel unfortunately the classic room is not 5 star, forget luxury and there is no attention to detail! or comfort in this substandard 5 star! These rooms have basic linen, The room is certainly not refurbished and unacceptable, the decor is dull and dark brown, the bed linen plain and you cannot shower as limescale blocks the shower and when you put the pressure up it flies around the bathroom ! God knows how I am going to wash my hair tomorrow as can’t shower without holding the shower hose! This is not 5 star! My husband has never refused to stay at a hotel in the 15 years we have been together but he is appalled at the room.
! I only checked in yesterday for my birthday weekend and desperately tried to change rooms with no avail, so sad as is this the first break since lockdown and we are only staying till Tuesday. Worked the whole way through and wide awake at 6am because the walls are so thin you can hear next door walk to the bathroom and. even hear them flush the toilet! The toilet light is so bright no dimmer, not great either as you are then left wide awake
It’s 6am so I will add pictures to this post when hubby wakes so you can see what I mean. I stay in a lot of hotels yearly and this is the worst 5 star room I have ever stayed in. I shall report back on the facilities of the hotel too and try and be as fair and balanced as I can be.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stay804948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amilcar Goncalves, Sales at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Malik,

We regret that your 1st night in a traditional room was not suited to your needs.
We assume that the remaining stay at our Premium Sea View is up to the expected standard.

Kind regards,

Mónica Vieira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2020

I would like to thank all of the team of Dona Filipa for an outstanding service provided during our stay in July 2020. Dona Filipa is an excellent place to stay with the family. Rooms are spacious and perfectly clean, swimming pool, kids club, a step away from the beach.
Me and my family had an enjoyable and a wonderful stay and we will try to come back next time.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amilcar Goncalves, Sales at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2020

Dear P9283HRmariac,

We thank you for the excellent review and acknowledging our family friendly facilities. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on many more occasions.

Kind regards,

Mónica Vieira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2020

Wonderful location just in front of the beautiful Vale do Lobo beach. Nice beach area private to hotel guests. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable, with nice 17th hole golf view. Very friendly staff always available. Delicious breakfast by the pool area. Very safe and clean. Came for the 2nd time and will definitly return. Thank you and congrats for a job very well done.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K9181TPmartas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amilcar Goncalves, Vendas at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2020

Dear K9181TPmartas,

Thank you for your heartwarming review and excellent feedback were you acknowledge our location, beach, rooms, view, breakfast, our Safety & Cleanliness and the efforts of our dedicated staff as the highlight of our hospitality.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of the team, we hope to welcome you back on many more occasions.

Kind regards,

Mónica Vieira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2020

Fantastic location , all very clean . Staff very pleasant but not completely on the ball.
Food at Kamal at lunchtime not brilliant ,go down the hill to Sandbanks or get a taxi to Izzy’s and walk back along the beach . Did not eat at the hotel in the evening. Great restaurants around within 10 minutes drive . The recommended taxi firm are extremely punctual , but so are Uber and they are half the price . Overall a great holiday .

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fergus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amilcar G, Guest Relations Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2020

Dear Fergus T,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your family celebration and reviewing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased you had a overall great holiday and will increase our efforts to enhance the menu.
It was our pleasure to serve you and we do hope your future family celebrations bring you back to Dona Filipa Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mónica Vieira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2020

Stayed in Dona Felipe March 2019 with another couple. We played golf on SAN
Lorenzo and pinerous altos
Hotel was very good , very clean and up and up market as always. Restaurant very good and breakfast worth every penny. Great choice and surroundings.
Looking forward to a return visit

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank James t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amilcar G, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Dear Mr. James T,

We thank you and your friends for staying with us and acknowledging our golf courses as our services and surroundings.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back on many more occasions.

Kind regards,

Mónica Vieira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews