We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and amazing food.”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #10 of 160 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With an amazing outdoor dining area with stunning views we are a contemporary & informal bistro style restaurant. Fully licensed to serve alcohol with meals with an excellent range of wines. Food cooked with passion, flair and imagination with plenty of options for vegetarians, vegans & those requiring gluten free options. From warm salads to juicy burgers, Malaysian curries to Mezze. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed September 8, 2021 via mobile

Service with a smile both times I have been here. The food is absolutely delicious and huge portions. The best fries I've had in a very long time too. The views from the garden area are beautiful and I will be recommending The Grove to all my family and friends. Thank you for the wonderful service and fantastic food.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 829melissak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely evening at The Grove with a friend. It was a lovely atmosphere sitting in the conservatory looking over the sea. Candles on the tables and fairy lights across the decking made it inviting and cosy. Our waiter and waitress were very attentive and the food was delicious. The waitress made a Pina Colada on request which went down a treat!! Thanks to The Grove!

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank LoveTravel736436
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2021 via mobile

Celebrated my wife’s 60th birthday at The Grove as a private party, staff very attentive and accommodating, food amazing, venue was great.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank olddulwichboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2021 via mobile

New owners = awful service

What a disappointment I have been coming here for years and years but now there are new owners I will never be returning. Service was appalling, slow can’t even begin to describe it. I had to ask on numerous occasions for a menu then to order and then to pay - no-one seemed to be in charge and no-one seemed to care. Food mediocre and a bit off putting when you see the chef that’s preparing the food. The only positive is the decking area and view.

Date of visit: August 2021
5  Thank lucyt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2021 via mobile

Were let down with another booking so walked in here on a Weds night. Wife had veggie Malaysian curry and I had Malaysian salmon and prawn curry. Both enjoyed it very much. Great flavours and salmon was beautifully cooked. Only slight gripe would be it only included two prawns but that’s a minor point as salmon was a whole fillet.

Terrace has been redone since last came which give lovely views over the estuary. Others had burgers etc which looked nice too. Will be returning.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank crash1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Grove also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.