We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thornleigh

Thornleigh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thornleigh
Tide is out Kippford village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Thornleigh
Tide is out
Kippford village
Beach 100 yards away
Another view from balcony
View from balcony
Conservatory
Sitting room 2
Sitting room 1
Sitting room 1
Twin bedroom
landing
bathroom
bedroom 3
Master bedroom
Breakfast room
Ensuite bathroom
landing
bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lindyloo9...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Escape”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our family consists of 5 adults.We stayed for two nights.Although the property is dated this didn't bother us we had the use of everything we needed. Enjoyed a visit into Dalbeattie we had a meal in Luigi's resteraunt and to Caerlaverock Castle. Spent the evening listening to music and playing board games and of course waking up to the beautiful views. Planning to go back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loads of space very tranquil and peaceful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and very interesting house with lots of Arts and Craftrs detail”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Kippford is a wonderful place to stay,with an ever changing estuary.There are lovely walks and lots of wildlife to enjoy such as Red Squirrels.
This house has a fascinating Arts and Crafts interior and lots of space.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TriciaOak...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“30th Birthday celebrations”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful location right by the sea. the house is charmingly old fashioned with wonderful period furniture. a lovely welcome pack to help us settle in. Fabulously dog friendly garden.
the house was clean and had everything we needed. Cant wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming house, wonderful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very bad”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Arrived after a 5 hour journey to find none of the beds had been made. Beds lumpy with springs gone and noisy. Cooker filthy, glass door black with grease. Pan still had spaghetti in.
Living room chairs uncomfortable, one collapsed.
Electrical extensions had multiple 3 way connectors, bedside light had exposed wires. Light bulbs blown in kitchen and cloakroom.
No smoke alarms no appliances PAT tested. Chimney blocked with grass.
This house is unsafe.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin E
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I have stayed in kippford for 30 year 3to4 times a year it's a beautiful place to stay and is very relaxing. There is loads to do round a bout. And a beautiful wall from kippford to rock cliff.
There are to pub that do good food. And the see is right out side your house.so you can just sit there and see the boats go past its brilliant. And the house I stayed in was very big.and nice in side.i would recommend this to anyone who is going there.and I will be back later in the year. Thank for a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick B
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting , fantastic area, fantastic value”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having read the few reviews available and seen the photo's of Thornleigh I expected a somewhat retro 70's weekend. There were 6 lads 30-45 yrs in our group so this probably brought back some child memories for some. Yes the house interior could do with modernising and spruced up on the outside but this in no way detracts from a house that has everything you need for an enjoyable stay , is clean and tidy ,and most importantly for me offers unbelievable value for money.
We stayed as a biking trip to Dalbeattie Kirroughtree and AE, each day returning for a quick change and 5 minute walk to the Anchor pub. We waited next to no time for tables and the food was brilliant. Recommendations from our group- beef nacho's. Sharing combo. Tower of onion rings. Balmoral chicken. I cannot recommend a stay at this venue if you are with kids or as a biking group. Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being away from my kids, biking with friends in this brilliant part of Scotland!!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel B
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a two night break at Thornleigh and will certainly be back. We know this area very well and usually stay in a local hotel but from now on will choose this lovely house. It is so comfortable and spacious and has a very welcome warmth for such a large property. We had sunshine but also snow during our stay and were very thankful for the cosiness of the house.
The Arts and Crafts furnishings are in keeping with the property and added interest to our stay. A 'Welcome Pack' was a most unexpected bonus. The location is perfect, stunning views and peaceful. There's lots to explore nearby- forestts, sandy beaches, wildlife. The Clonyard Hotel is very welcoming to non residents and The Anchor Hotel has a lovely spot in the village. The food is good but unfortunately the service is often exceptionally slow. Be sure to walk the road to the village and see the quirky driftwood sculptures erected by a local resident. Magical!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The original decor; the space;the beautiful location.
Liked least: The cooker does need a deep clean.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing