We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cabin with beautiful views”
other travellers have booked this property
A 'Little House on the Prairie' style lodge with a covered porch & sea views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A 'Little House on the Prairie' style lodge with a covered porch & sea views
The wood burning stove is the focal point for the cosy lounge with English leather sofa The complementary wood, kindling, and firelighters will get you started with the wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
A 'Little House on the Prairie' style lodge with a covered porch & sea views
The wood burning stove is the focal point for the cosy lounge with English leather sofa
The complementary wood, kindling, and firelighters will get you started with the wood burning stove
Cosy checks and calico florals complement the cedar walls
The double room has a metal bedstead, french doors to the covered balcony and sea views
... all you need! A perfect romantic getaway.
Antique pine linen press, willow baskets and laura Ashley checks complete the country style double
Homestead style: the twin room has vintage design bedding and snuggly quilts
Dogs are welcome - they love the beach, forest and hill walks the area has to offer
The view SouthEast down the estuary and out to sea from the balcony
Relax on the spacious deck
Kippford is set in a National Scenic Area. This is the view from screel
The lodge is a just 4 minute ride from Dalbeattie Forest 7Stanes mountain bike trail
The view from the deck out to the Solway yacht Club moorings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KeithIren...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy cabin with beautiful views”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent a week here and had a lovely relaxing time. There is everything provided to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The cabin is a little gem and the log burner makes it so cosy on a cold night. Lots of walks nearby and Kippford village, which is so pretty, is a short walk away. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review, it is much appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, we think the lodge is pretty special so it's always nice to hear that our guests do also. The walks around here are so varied, with coastal, beach, forest and hill walks on the doorstep. It sounds like you made the most of your stay. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill B
Oldham Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing in a lovely setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We usually stay in a local B & B but it was full but staying here was not disappointing. It was warm, cosy and so quiet. The style of accommodation suited the scenery perfectly and although there were a couple of other cabins around they blended in well giving the impression that we were alone. The surrounding area provides superb walking and we had a few days where did not use the car. Local pubs provide nice refreshment and Dalbeattie has everything you need for preparing breakfasts. The balcony was a great spot for watching the wide variety of birds and off course the red squirrel performing great antics to reach the nuts we had put out. With glass of wine in hand again the balcony was the perfect spot to admire the scenery and the estuary in the evening. We hope to return to this great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Great that the red squirrels put in an appearance. They are very fond of sunflower seeds. The last guests saw three and are convinced they prefer a particular radio station as they always turned up on the feeders when it was on! We look forward to making you feel welcome again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Long weekend break for me and my wife. Nice setting and decor inside was just to our taste. Quaint and cottage type. Log stove was amazing. Every conceivable item you would want had been left and thought of. Nice view as well towards the estuary. Excellent stay, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the lodge. It is much appreciated.
We are really glad you liked the lodge and enjoyed your stay. Although compact and humble we feel that is part of it's charm and try to furnish it in a comfy, complementary style. It's really rewarding that our guests like it too. Although we have a whole Visitors Book full of complementary reviews in the lodge this is a fabulous review to have as out first on TripAdvisor.
Thank you, and I hope we can welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing