We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”

The Ship Inn Itchenor
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Ship Inn is an attractive village pub situated 150 yards from the shores of Chichester Harbour, with its fine walks and harbour tours for visitors. As well as serving excellent food, The Ship Inn retains all the characteristics of a traditional English Inn, with a relaxing atmosphere. The Ship Inn provides excellent holiday accommodation in a peaceful rural location near West Wittering, close to Goodwood and Chichester.
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening for dinner, the food here is excellent, a real treat, try the smoked haddock risotto or a real pie. The atmosphere was lovely and the staff welcoming and helpful. Try it!

Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Dear Simon

Thank you so much for such a kind review! We really do appreciate such positive feedback. And we agree the risotto is really good!

Look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
The Ship Inn



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 356 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2018

- right on the Chichester inlet off the beaten track with some lovely walls around the area all leading to a beer at the end of it - lovely relaxed atmosphere in an ideal location

Thank peteysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Pete

Thank you for visiting us and for your kind review. We're glad you sampled our real ales and enjoyed the beautiful surrounding area!

Look forward to seeing you again hopefully!

Kind regards
The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

We have visited The Ship a number of times over the past couple of decades - and never been disappointed. Today - we popped in for Sunday lunch after a morning at the beach in West Wittering. Luckily - we booked a table on our way down - because it was very busy.
We found a space in the car-park - apparently also used by people visiting this very nice, picturesque and busy coastal village.
Entering the bar - we were welcomed and shown to our seats - our drinks being brought over by warm, pleasant and friendly staff. The menu had a wide choice - and I was torn between the Ploughmans, Salmon Salad and Fish Pie. The Ploughmans won and I was very please to see how well it was presented - different cheeses, pickles, salad, pork-pie and bread - far from the expected chunk of cheddar with a door-step of bread. It was delicious and so filing that I had no room for desert.
We will certainly visit the next time we go to West Wittering.
A VERY pleasant visit with excellent staff and quick service

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Chris

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our main aim as new owners is to provide good, fresh and locally sourced food in a friendly but efficient environment and I think, judging by your review, we managed to deliver on all of those!

We would love to welcome you back next time you are in the area.

Kind regards
The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018

An enjoyable meal in pleasant surroundings. All three of us chose the battered fish , chips and minted peas, with two of us following up with the apple and rhubarb crumple with custard. As good as mum used to make. The service was very efficient and all the staff friendly. One to visit again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear John

Thank you for your kind review. "As good as Mum used to make" is probably the highest accolade we could get for our crumble! Glad you enjoyed the fish and chips too!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

We have used this pub for over 30 years and it has changed hands and managers over this period of time. This year, at the start of the sailing season, we were more than disappointed to be told that no bar food could be served as the restaurant was fully booked! It has often been fully booked over the years but this is the first time that bar food was unavailable. The bar staff were offhand and disinterested. Very, very disappointing to say the least. Are you trying to be a restaurant rather than a pub?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peterdharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Peter

I'm sorry to hear that you had difficulty in ordering bar food on bank holiday Sunday. I'm not sure of the circumstances exactly except to say that we offer bar food in the pub and on the terrace whilst the restaurant side of the pub is reserved for our main menu and especially for our Sunday roast which is very popular.

Thank you for your feedback - we pride ourselves on being a friendly and efficient pub so feedback is alway good in order to maintain those standards.

Kind regards
The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn Itchenor also viewed

West Wittering, West Sussex
West Wittering, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
West Itchenor, Chichester
 

Been to The Ship Inn Itchenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing