We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris2511...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My family rented The Stables and The Barn at Tidmoor Cottages. The accommodation was very spacious, clean and impeccable, comfortable and extremely well-equipped. The owners, Alan and Sarah Townsend, were very friendly and helpful. A good location for exploring the Dorset coastline. Good pub within walking distance with excellent menu. We definitely hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable furniture, en suite facilities, well-equipped kitchens and gardens.
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintageVi...
Beds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for family of 4”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the gorgeous Tidmoor Barn. Perfect for me and my husband and our two girls (6 and 10). The barn has a ground floor twin room brilliant for the girls and spacious. There is a downstairs wet room/shower and a nice kitchen leadind into lounge. The lounge has comfy sofas and patio doors leading to nice private garden. Upstairs there is a double room with ensuite with corner bath. Opposite is a lovely upstairs lounge with juliette balcony looking out to the fleet - lovely place to sit and have tea!
Location wise it's great - you can hop on a bus to Weymouth with it's beach and great range of restaurants - we went to The Dining Room, The Stable and Dorset Burger Co all fab meals. We visited Lyme Regis and Studland Bay (our fave) and Lulworth Cove.
The sun shone and we ate A Lot of ice creams. Sarah is a perfect host and we felt so welcome. Would recommend to all our family and friends

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kids loved the huge shower/wet room. We liked the fact that it was spacious and very clean and comfortable.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like about Tidmoor
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Davo552
Leongatha, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looking for self catering accommodation in the Weymouth area then don't go anywhere but Tidmoor Barn”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Visiting from Australia, we stayed at Tidmoor Barn with my in-laws, who although not strictly disabled, in their late 80s, do have some mobility problems and cannot easily use stairs. The accommodation was wonderful for them, with everything they needed - bedroom, lounge, kitchen, dining and thoughtfully organised wet room - all on one level.

My wife and I were able to delight in the views from our upstairs lounge. Our bedroom was airy and spacious and the ensuite with large bath was an added bonus for us.

It was an ideal base from which to re-explore some of the places we knew as children - Swanage, Lulworth Cove, Portland, Abbotsbury and Weymouth itself. Although on a busy road, the barn is approached from a quiet lane, making it well positioned and secure within electronic gates. Traffic noise was not a problem.

Good value, varied eating places were close by and easily used by the less able bodied - Marquis of Grantby being particularly good value with a wide menu but other local pubs were welcoming with good value meals and varied menus.

Sarah and Alan have put a great deal of thought into the layout of the renovated barn and it proved extremely comfortable for all of us. They, with Alfie, made us very welcome without being intrusive. Summing up - we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Tidmoor Barn and would not look anywhere else in the area for accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, cleanliness, comfort
Liked least: Nothing that could be altered by owners - cold winds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Disabled facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Josiah67
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent spacious accommodation; very helpful engaging proprietor.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in the second( recently on stream) gated cottages. The presentation was exceptional. Spacious open plan kitchen,diner and lounge; en suite bedrooms one downstairs suitable for wheelchair. And an enclosed small private garden. The amenities were excellent. Parking was no problem shared the space with the family and the other cottage. Coastal walk a short distance from the cottages. Weymouth town centre and beach a few minutes drive along the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and hospitality and friendliness
Liked least: Lack of wi- fi/Internet on site
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout & accessibility of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing